We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trust” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Backwell
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“trust”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Itvis not the hotel I am complaining about but the management.
We had booked our room several months in advance,and had arranged transportation from the airport to the hotel.on arrival at the airport we were told that the hotel was "FULL"and we were to be taken to a sister hotel This is 9.00 at night and we are due to be picked up at 9.00 am in the morning to go to our next destination.
We said no take us to our hotel
My wife and I are by this time very annoyed and for the next hour had to argue wit reception,then the assistant manager and then the manager.Then suddenly reception found a room.
We paid a fortune for 8 hours in the room Not only did this spoil the start of our holiday we did not even get a n apology from the manahement even though we registered a complaint
The breakfast was superb but we would avoid the Sarova group in our future trips

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is constructive criticism like yours that will help us exceed guest expectation.

We would like to apologize for the unusual overbooking situation that led to your unsatisfactory experience. The points you have raised in your review have been made into actions plans to ensure such situations are handled to guest satisfaction. We assure you that we are addressing our shortcomings with all the relevant departments.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you once more. Kindly contact me directly the next time you plan to come to Nairobi on: thestanley@sarovahotels.com


Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    242
    59
    16
    13
See reviews for
72
171
68
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, RI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations. I was hesitant to stay overnight in Nairobi, but I felt so safe. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were extremely welcoming! The restaurant was great, and offered a big selection. It was a perfect place to stay while being in between safaris. It gave us a relaxing night to shower and refresh ourselves!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sarova Stanley and we assure you of refreshing African hospitality in all your future stays.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel furniture is super and it brings out a warm and welcoming feel.The best thing about the hotel is its location, especially for business or transit tourists visiting Nairobi or on stop over to any of the national parks from Nairobi.
The rooms are well done.
Historical attraction of the Hotel is the 'Thorn Tree" where the Thorn Tree Restaurant currently is.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your continued support and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is good and i usually stay here during my visits home. For the first time i ried using the pick up service from the airport but it wasnt worth the money i paid for. On arrival the driver gave me a very cold reception and after getting my luggage i just realised that he had packed in a dark alley near a dustbin or gabbage place with very little lighting. On the other hand he squeezed my luggages in the car booth hence breaking some thhings in my box. I already received an apology email from the manager but that bad feeling is still in me.Imagine after flying for more than 9 hours and expecting a good and soft landing at the airport only to receive an awkward reception.I love the hotel and the service is good.That was my first time that iused the pick up service and contemplating over ever using it again

Room Tip: Just ask for a good one and they will surely go out of their way to get you what you want .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your continued visits while in Nairobi. Your comments on the hotel, its location, the quality of sleep and our service are highly appreciated.

We sincerely apologize on the airport pick-up experience you had. We assure you that it is not the norm for the team to inconvenience guests in this manner. We have taken necessary steps to correct this gap

Once again thank you and we look forward to hosting you again on your return visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Stanley is in a good central location close to most amenities. The hotel is well kept and reminds of a bygone era. Our room was large, it had a great view and the air conditioning worked well. The staff were friendly and courteous, the restaurants were good, the bars were great as was room service. The gym is well equipped and the swimming pool fine. Our stay was thoroughly enjoyable and we would not hesitate to return. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We asked to have a view of the city and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For all those who wants to be in the middle of the city and yet want to enjoy the classic flavor of colonial era should definitely stay in Sarova stanley. Great service, Excellent rooms and Good Food. Recommended for Business travelers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your recent stay at the hotel. It is highly appreciated and will be shared to all.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stavanger
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very well appointed hotel middle of town lots going on outside. Got a big room and no complaints. Rack rate was 400USD not sure what we paid as we paid for a 1 week trip all included, but Kenya is a place where using local knowledge seams to be an advantage in getting better rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate guest feedback and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.