We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pickup service from the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #7 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pickup service from the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is good and i usually stay here during my visits home. For the first time i ried using the pick up service from the airport but it wasnt worth the money i paid for. On arrival the driver gave me a very cold reception and after getting my luggage i just realised that he had packed in a dark alley near a dustbin or gabbage place with very little lighting. On the other hand he squeezed my luggages in the car booth hence breaking some thhings in my box. I already received an apology email from the manager but that bad feeling is still in me.Imagine after flying for more than 9 hours and expecting a good and soft landing at the airport only to receive an awkward reception.I love the hotel and the service is good.That was my first time that iused the pick up service and contemplating over ever using it again

Room Tip: Just ask for a good one and they will surely go out of their way to get you what you want .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your continued visits while in Nairobi. Your comments on the hotel, its location, the quality of sleep and our service are highly appreciated.

We sincerely apologize on the airport pick-up experience you had. We assure you that it is not the norm for the team to inconvenience guests in this manner. We have taken necessary steps to correct this gap

Once again thank you and we look forward to hosting you again on your return visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    199
    53
    15
    13
See reviews for
62
149
53
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Stanley is in a good central location close to most amenities. The hotel is well kept and reminds of a bygone era. Our room was large, it had a great view and the air conditioning worked well. The staff were friendly and courteous, the restaurants were good, the bars were great as was room service. The gym is well equipped and the swimming pool fine. Our stay was thoroughly enjoyable and we would not hesitate to return. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We asked to have a view of the city and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For all those who wants to be in the middle of the city and yet want to enjoy the classic flavor of colonial era should definitely stay in Sarova stanley. Great service, Excellent rooms and Good Food. Recommended for Business travelers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your recent stay at the hotel. It is highly appreciated and will be shared to all.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stavanger
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very well appointed hotel middle of town lots going on outside. Got a big room and no complaints. Rack rate was 400USD not sure what we paid as we paid for a 1 week trip all included, but Kenya is a place where using local knowledge seams to be an advantage in getting better rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate guest feedback and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel at the start and end of our safari.
First stay was excellent with a lovely room.
However, when we stayed at the end of our safari it wasn't as good. The room we were allocated was above a generator and the window wouldn't close. A quick trip down to reception and an alternative room was arranged. The problem was sorted out but the original room should never have been allocated to us.
The hotel was a well know meeting place for the colonials in the days of the British Empire and there are many things there that still invoke memories of this period.
The hotel has some nice restaurants and bars and we ate at these as there is not a lot of other options around the hotel.
Staff were very helpful and the hotel was very clean. We would certainly recommend a stay there.
Nairobi itself has nothing much to offer. The area around the hotel is okay but walking around was a bit intimidating as you got hassled quite a bit. As most people are just passing through on their way to or from a safari the hotel offers a nice refuge to relax in rather than explore from.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We boast in being the keepers of Kenya's history. We have also noted the areas of concern that you have raised and we have taken them as action points to improvement.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
Sarova Stanley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Old colonial hotel, some renovations but dark and not friendly. On return from safari, we need a place to stay and checked in to this hotel at downtown area. The rates were high 270USD as usual to Nairobi, but overall does not deserve this rates.

On check-out, they give you a yellow slip to show concierce to get your laguages; they make sure you don't escape without payment (althought they get your credit card authorization at check-in time)!!!

For the smokers; at downtown area smoking is prohibited even on the streets. So be careful, you might be arrested right on the street by police!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have noted your concerns during your stay with us. The hotel’s official check-out time is 10.00 am, however, for late departure, we charge a minimal fee of 75% of your daily room rate till 6.00pm. On the status of our pest control system, the hotel is investigating this unusual occurrence. We would have wished that the issues were addressed in person while you were at the hotel nonetheless, we would like to get in touch with you so as to address them further.

Thank you again for your comments and the opportunity for improvement. We hope to host you again.

Your Sincerely,
David Gachuru,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is a really quirky mix of old colonial charm, blended with some modernisation. This works in some areas; for instance the public areas where the heavy wood colours, and colonial fans / decor create a pleasant ambience. Where it doesn't work is in the rather small rooms, where the dark wood and poor room lighting create a rather oppresive feel.
On the plus side, the internet connectivity is great, the a/c works well, and the room is reasonably appointed. Continuing with the positives; the staff are great, and very courteous, there is a really excellent Thai restaurant, and the main pub area is very relaxing.
The biggest downside is the actual location, as the traffic in the city centre makes it very difficult to negotiate between meetings, and we spent an unnecesary two hours in traffic returning in the evening, which could have been avoided by staying outside the city centre. Not the hotels fault, but a significant issue for arranging multiple meetings in a short space of time. None of our intended hotel meetings took place due to the reluctance of business people to venture into the city centre!
Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel, Preferred Hotels, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.