We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #7 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sarova Stanley for one night at the end of our Heritage Flying Safari and before travelling onto Mauritius.

This is a fantastic hotel. It is steeped in history and exudes class and character. All the staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival and throughout our short stay. Our room was clean, spacious and had its own safe. There was WiFI throughout the hotel too.

We arrived at midday and popped to the nearby Masai Market in the afternoon. It was only a five minute walk from the hotel and was a fantastic experience. We bought two wooden Masai warriors and a painting. Make sure you haggle with the sellers. They wanted us to pay 40,000 Kenyan Shillings for the items we selected...we walked away paying 7,000. Unfortunately, as a tourist you stand out from the crowd. Just make sure you lave all your valuables in the hotel safe.

We ate in the hotel's Thai Restaurant in the evening. If you like Thai, then you will love this place. We thought it was one of the best Thai meals we have ever had. Great selection of food, lovely atmosphere and brilliant service.

Breakfast at the hotel was delicious with plenty of choice and variety. We used the gym and went spinning in the studio whilst we were there too. The facilities were very good. The pool looked nice too.

Nairobi isn't really a place you would visit in its own right, but if you are staying there, then this is the hotel to go for. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Mr Karim,

Greetings from Nairobi!

It was a pleasure hosting you and your wife at the end of your Heritage Safari. We hope you had an equally pleasant experience in Mauritius.

We thank you for taking note of the hotels history and appreciate your heartfelt sentiments on our services and facilities; notably our Thai restaurant, the hotels breakfast, our clean and spacious rooms and the friendly helpful staff.

We hope you are enjoying your artifacts from Maasai Market and look forward to your visit with us again in future.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    199
    53
    15
    13
See reviews for
62
149
53
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Needing a hotel for a night either side of my trip through Kenya and Tanzania I chose the Stanley the strength of the reviews at had from Tripadvisor, and it's value against more expensive hotels such as the Intercontinental and Hilton (both of which had poorer reviews). It was also an ideal option because if it's central location, and not knowing Nairobi at all I figured that central was best.

The location of this hotel is very central in Nairobi, and makes for slow going in the traffic and some street noise at night, but nothing major. The first thing that struck me I noticed was the level of security they employ, both in checking vehicles at the entrance and for guests entering the lobby, making the hotel feel very safe in the middle of what to me was an unknown city.

The service at reception, although not particularly efficient is very friendly and welcoming, and I was explained everything in detail and shown directly to my room by a bellhop. The rooms were huge and well provisioned with all the mod cons, even if the decor was a little dated. After 7 days camping in the Serengeti the fresh clean sheets and towels we very welcome indeed.

As with the hotel itself, the service in the Thorn Tree Cafe was well above standard, and the food, though expensive for Nairobi was about right for a hotel restaurant and was excellent.

All in all, I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a high level of accommodation is Nairobi, though would myself perhaps look for at their sister hotel (the Panafric) next time given it's quieter location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Jambo! from Nairobi,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to read previous feedback on out page and giving us your own.

We thank you for acknowledging the hotel’s central location, the level of security in the hotel, the friendly and welcoming service at the reception and Thorn Tree restaurant, and also take note of the fact that you rated the food above standard.

We regret the street noise at night. The hotels management is embarking on a project that will help reduce the noise level . It was also noted that the reception service was not particularly efficient. This is not our standard and we have taken up necessary steps to address this gap.

You are welcome to sample our sister hotel Sarova Panafric however we do hope that you stay with us again.

Warm Regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was my first time visiting kenya and what a way to start after our transfer from the airport which was more of a white knuckle ride!!
Once we had got through the metal detectors and searches I was amazed at the hotel the service was one of the best I've sampled a traditional british empire feel throughout the hotel even though it was only an overnight stay before our 7day safari.
The food well that outstanding as was the customer service although for what it was I believe to be a bit expensive for some people but I'd recomend it just to sample how the other half live!!

Room Tip: Have a torch handy as we had to power cuts whilst we stayed overnight!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It was our pleasure to host you in your first visit to Kenya.

We are glad you arrived safely despite your “white knuckle ride” from the airport. Please confirm as to whether this was a transfer offered by our hotel, so as to address the issue.

Your positive response towards our Victorian theme is highly appreciated. We are pleased that you rated our customer service as outstanding.

Referencing your room tip; we regret the power cuts during your stay. The hotel is however equipped with a generator which comes on 10 seconds after power interruptions.

We thank you again for your review and do hope to host you again future.


Warm Regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, b.c.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was built in 1902 and had been kept up to date. This hotel is so quaint, it breathes history and feels like you have stepped back in time. The hotel accommodations were excellent. The staff bent over backwards to help you and make everything easy. The pool was good. The food was done to perfection. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel many times for work, along with many other hotels around the area. The Stanley was by far the best one. Pool and gym are good. Restaurants are all decent, except for the Thai restaurant, that one is great - definitely worth eating at. Of course everything at this hotel is expensive, but if you don't feel like getting out and walking around, which you probably shouldn't do alone, at night, it's worth it. Many things to walk to around the hotel, restaurants, shopping, travel agents, taxis, etc... The staff at the Stanley is also great, they are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very large, outdated, but clean. There is some noise at night from the nightclub across the street, so maybe try and get a room on the other side of the hotel, and get a higher room.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the nightclub in front of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I give it four stars, and really don't have any complaints worth noting. But - there's always a but - for me, it just didn't feel very accessible. I can see the appeal of its old-school charm, which it has in spades, but perhaps because I am here on business, it lacked certain elements which I look for on work trips. That said, I think it is a fantastic locale for tourists and for business travelers who want to be in the CBD. I didn't, but everything else was booked. If you haven't experienced Nairobi traffic, you don't want to be downtown unless it serves a purpose.

All that said, my room (on the sixth floor, facing the street) was capacious, well appointed, and quite comfortable, if a bit noisy. The bed was divine, but I am biased towards firm mattresses. The level of service was exceptional, and the breakfast quite good.

It is a bit close quarters in this hotel, but that is part of its charm.

I just spent four nights there, and have moved to the Sankara in Westlands for the sake of convenience, although, not to slight the Stanley, it suits my particular needs much better.

All around great hotel, but be mindful of your requirements before booking anything in this town.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room, preferably on one of the upper floors for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had visited all other Sarova hotels and lodges during our safari in 2011, so we were very curious about the Stanley in Nairobi. We spent 5 nights in Stanley and were not disappointed. The hotel "breathes history". A fantastic spatious clubroom, a spectacular pool on the 5th floor between the taller business buildings, an excellent breakfast restaurant (Torn Tree). For dinner we recommend the pool restaurant, which offers more romance. Safety first in this hotel with guards on every floor, but it makes you feel safe. The Exchange Bar is perfect for a last drink to wrap up your day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will certainly return when in Nairobi. Special thanks to Mr. Ben Katungi for making our stay unforgettable and making us feel "karibu tena" in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel, HostelWorld, Preferred Hotels, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.