We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, best location in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, best location in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel many times for work, along with many other hotels around the area. The Stanley was by far the best one. Pool and gym are good. Restaurants are all decent, except for the Thai restaurant, that one is great - definitely worth eating at. Of course everything at this hotel is expensive, but if you don't feel like getting out and walking around, which you probably shouldn't do alone, at night, it's worth it. Many things to walk to around the hotel, restaurants, shopping, travel agents, taxis, etc... The staff at the Stanley is also great, they are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very large, outdated, but clean. There is some noise at night from the nightclub across the street, so maybe try and get a room on the other side of the hotel, and get a higher room.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the nightclub in front of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    273
    64
    16
    13
See reviews for
77
200
76
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I give it four stars, and really don't have any complaints worth noting. But - there's always a but - for me, it just didn't feel very accessible. I can see the appeal of its old-school charm, which it has in spades, but perhaps because I am here on business, it lacked certain elements which I look for on work trips. That said, I think it is a fantastic locale for tourists and for business travelers who want to be in the CBD. I didn't, but everything else was booked. If you haven't experienced Nairobi traffic, you don't want to be downtown unless it serves a purpose.

All that said, my room (on the sixth floor, facing the street) was capacious, well appointed, and quite comfortable, if a bit noisy. The bed was divine, but I am biased towards firm mattresses. The level of service was exceptional, and the breakfast quite good.

It is a bit close quarters in this hotel, but that is part of its charm.

I just spent four nights there, and have moved to the Sankara in Westlands for the sake of convenience, although, not to slight the Stanley, it suits my particular needs much better.

All around great hotel, but be mindful of your requirements before booking anything in this town.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room, preferably on one of the upper floors for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had visited all other Sarova hotels and lodges during our safari in 2011, so we were very curious about the Stanley in Nairobi. We spent 5 nights in Stanley and were not disappointed. The hotel "breathes history". A fantastic spatious clubroom, a spectacular pool on the 5th floor between the taller business buildings, an excellent breakfast restaurant (Torn Tree). For dinner we recommend the pool restaurant, which offers more romance. Safety first in this hotel with guards on every floor, but it makes you feel safe. The Exchange Bar is perfect for a last drink to wrap up your day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will certainly return when in Nairobi. Special thanks to Mr. Ben Katungi for making our stay unforgettable and making us feel "karibu tena" in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

stayed at this hotel because our first choice for work meetings was completely booked out. hotel is in a good location for a walk about town. room was okay though air con did nothing except blow a little cool air to the window, which was tucked into a corner away from anything else in the room. cleaning was bizarre- no system for checking and managing rooms, so how many towels, face washer or toiletries (if any) depends on the random mood of the person on the day. sadly, also ''lost'' things during my stay which could not be explained and when reported to management.. it was a case of fur coat, no knickers. So dont get complacent or you will have to learn the hard way. Keep you wits about you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Your feedback is very valuable to us.

We have taken note of the fact that you acknowledged the convenience of the hotels location for a walk about town and that our rooms were okay.

In reference to your remarks on our air conditioning, we apologise for falling short of your expectation. Following your experience, we charged the hotel engineer with the task of reaffirming that all systems are working properly.

We regret that our cleaning procedures were not up to standard, this is not a regular occurrence and we are addressing the gap. The cleaning standards and procedures have been revised to ensure guest comfort and consistency as per accepted international standards. We have impelemented a checklist to ensure all the amenities are available and in correct quantities.

I am very concerned on the fact that you lost some items during your stay. Please contact me directly on thesatanly@sarovahotels.com and give further details on the incidence. I would like to have an opportunity to personally follow up on the same.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to host you again, as the first choice of hotel in Nairobi.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My stay at Sarova was by far the best stay I've had in any hotel in the world. The staff are great, the service is wonderful and it was just a pleasure staying there!I hope to come back to Sarova again. The last time I was in Sarova Stanley was four and a half years ago and not only has the service not gone down it has increased. It truly deserves its five stars.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Arrived here in the early morning from the airport. The security outside the hotel felt a bit unnerving at first, but was reassuring. We were greeted with warm towels, fresh juice and very helpful staff. Despite it being early, our rooms were ready - spacious rooms with nice bathrooms.
The security continued inside the hotel, with guards on each floor.
We ate in the Thai restaurant in the hotel, which was a bit pricey, but was different to the food we had during the rest of the stay.
The hotel pool was superb , ended up spending hours in it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We didn't actually stay at this hotel, but thought we'd go to the bar for cocktails on our last night in Nairobi. Given the status of the hotel, we assumed that we would get good cocktails here. It seemed promising, pleasant surroundings with an extensive list of popular cocktails, so we placed our order and waited. And waited. And waited. Eventually two of the four arrived. The Cosmopolitan was not as expected - it seemed more orangey than would be expected of something containing cranberry juice, but it tasted OK - not like a Cosmoplolitan but quite tasty. The Mojito looked the part, and seemed fine, if a little strong tasting. After another wait, the waiter appeared and explained that they were waiting for bananas for the Banana Daiquiri, but he produced the 'Mojito' whilst whisking the first Mojito away from the table and placing it in front of the person who'd ordered a MInt Julep. Upon tasting it, it was indeed a Mint Julep (i.e. not a Mojito) The second 'Mojito' was the strangest looking Mojito ever - in a tall glass and bright yellow. This we returned, to a pzzled looking waiter, and, after another lengthy wait, we finally received a reasonable Mojito and the Banana Daiquiri. When we had almost finished the drinks we were given a bowl of nuts! In all, this was a most bizarre experience, as we hadn't ordered out-of-the-ordinary cocktails, and so couldn't understand why it had been so difficult to get a decent drink, especially as the hotel caters for international travellers not just a local clientele.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.