We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarova Stanley in Nairobi and Others in Kenya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #8 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sarova Stanley in Nairobi and Others in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

In April my wife and I traveled to Kenya. Our first nights stay was in Nairobi at the Stanley Hotel; excellent service in an old world hotel in the Downtown district. Now let me inform those who might never have been to Nairobi, its different to say the least and I would not feel confortable just walking about, but if you're going to stay there, the Stanley is the place. This was one of several Sarova properties we visited, they included the Sarova Shaba Game Lodge in central Kenya, the Saroval Lion Hill Game Lodge, the Sarova Mara Game Camp. All of these properties were clean, modern, the food was excellent and the staff very helpful, while not being the very top end, I would say very near the top. We had an excellent time, game was everywhere and we have the pictures to prove it. I believe in expectations driving the bus, if your expectations are the highest then anything less is not acceptable, my expectations are about mid range and what I received was above that, therefore my expectations were met and exceded.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on your trip to Kenya.

Nairobi has transformed from a former railway post with tin buildings to a metropolitan city, which is also a major business hub for both East Africa and Africa at large. Sarova Stanley proudly stands in the heart of this city as a custodian of this history and heritage. Thank you for recognizing the fact that we are old world hotel in the Downtown district offering excellent service

We are happy you chose to visit several Sarova properties located in various scenic locations of Kenya, indulged in African hospitality while enjoying the game drives. Thank you for your kind rating of these properties as clean, modern, with excellent food and friendly staff.

We aspire to reach the very top of your expectation. We look forward to hosting you again.

David Gachuru,
General Manager,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    221
    54
    15
    13
See reviews for
68
157
60
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on two separate occasions. The staff especially in the restaurants are super nice and friendly, however, the meals are very overpriced. The rooms, most of which have been renovated, a very nice but because the Stanley is resting on its laurels the rates are very high. We had an outside room overlooking the main street and the noise the some of the bars and clubs was so loud that we couldn't get to sleep until 4am!
I strongly suggest that you request an inside room. Also using their internet service was super expensive, considering that it only costs about $1.00 per hour across the street.
The food is excellent and the breakfasts are amazing and included in the room cost.
In general the service is first class and what you would expect for that kind of money.
Unfortunately, there is virtually nothing left of the original Stanley hotel that was constructed by the colonists over 100 years ago.

Room Tip: Always ask for an inside room that overlooks the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in both occasions and taking the time to write your feedback.

First, we are very encouraged by your great experience on quality of our restaurant staff, that you qualified super nice and friendly. We are also very happy that you rated the service in general as first class and what one would expect for the kind of money one paid. Even happier, we noted that you rated our food and breakfast as excellent.

You will agree with us that achievement of this kind of standard and sustainance of the same is as a result of concerted effort and investment in skilled people. It is with this point, that we would like to qualify our prices as competitive but not expensive. You will also agree with us that sustainance of value comes with a price.

Secondly, we have noted the issue of the internet service and have put measures to improve. We have invested in higher bandwidth and other installations to further improve the signals.

Finally, Sarova Stanley is over one hundred and ten years old. The structural changes made to the building are to keep on reinforcing and improving safety, comfort and keep up with the times. The rich, ancient and visible wooden structures are still in place and so are our restaurants. The original spaces and rooms are still intact. We would like to request that we give you a tour of the property in your next visit.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again. You can reach me on my email david.gachuru@sarovahotels.com


David Gachuru,
General Manager,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have stayed at the Hotel Stanley on numerous occasions over the last few years. The staff are always extremely welcoming and courteous and you are always made to feel important to them.

The rooms are excellent, Always clean and well maintained and very comfortable. All rooms have flat screen TV's and internet access is always good and free.

The Thorn Tree Cafe offers a very good buffet breakfast and again the service is wonderful. The variety and quality of food at other times is adequate but not great. The Exchange Bar is very relaxing and comfortable.

The pool, spa and fitness centre are superb. I usually have a massage and the facilities are first class. I did have a minor problem on the last occasion - but this was a simple misunderstanding and the manager dealt with it in a professional and courteous manner.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms at the front of the building can be noisy due to a night club across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night in September 2011 on route to safari. We were greeted by friendly staff from the moment we walked into the reception. We were given complementary fruit juice, which was very welcome after a long journey.
Somehow all the staff seemed to know it was our honeymoon and were full of congratulations. This itself was a nice touch, however when we were shown to our room there were rose petals on the bed, and free wine and fruit in the room. About five minutes later there was a knock on the door and a huge bouquet of fresh red roses arrived, another honeymoon gift!!!
The room was very large and absolutely spotless with all the facilities that you would expect. We ate in the hotels Thai restaurant, which was just amazing and reasonably priced. The restaurant obviously has a good reputation as the Thai airways crew were eating there.

We didn’t venture out of the hotel as it was just a short stopover but it appeared to be in a busy area with plenty of choice of bars, shops and restaurants. There was little need to venture out as the hotel was clean, airy, great decor and offered everything we needed. The pool area was also next to an outdoor bar and was a great suntrap. After a great night’s sleep in the big comfortable bed, it was an early start for breakfast, which was a self service buffet. The buffet wasn’t fantastic nor did it have much variety although it was more than adequate.

Overall we had a thoroughly enjoyable short stay at the Sarova Stanley and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi, KE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We live in Nairobi and decided to spend our anniversary at the Stanley. It was wonderful.

The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was extremely courteous, the food was excellent, the pool is great. It was a great experience. We will be back!

Room Tip: The higher the room (5th or 6th floor) the quieter and better view of the city. The pool, patio rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had our holidays in Kenya for Safari in the Masai Mara.
We arrived at the Sarova for 1 night before the safari and 1 night just after.
We are very satisfied with our stay at the Sarova:
- nice room
- very good service
- great bar at the first floor, the second night, there was a mini concert of a jazz group.
- We had a dinner at the Indian restaurant--> a must!
- there is a pool and a fitness center
- breakfast is excellent, with a lot of choice and home-made products
-safe, there is a ranger at each floor

Small areas of improvements:
- price of the beverages at the bar
- air conditioning in our room made a lot of noise and was not efficient

During the safari, they kept our luggages for 2 days without any problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while on holiday and taking the time to write your feedback.

We are extremely pleased that you had a great experience at our hotel. Thank you for rating us five star. You rated our guestrooms and service as good, Exchange Bar as great, fitness centre and heated swimming pool, breakfast menu variety as excellent and guest security very highly. Your review has been shared with the whole team as a motivator to keep up the great work. Kindly note the Indian Restaurant that you have mentioned is Thai Chi. Thai Chi is a fine dining restaurant that serves authentic Thai cuisine. The restaurant has won many accolades and recently recognized as a Thai Select restaurant.

History comes to life at the Exchange Bar, once the site of Nairobi's first Stock Exchange. The bar offers top end drinks whose cost is high, therefore the competitive price. The hotel has also invested in its ambiance and people skills. You will agree with me that the sustainance of this value comes with a price.

We regret the in-room air conditioning system did not meet your expectation. The management of the hotel is working on the stand-alone systems and function processes for maximum efficiency and guest satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again and you can reach me on my email david.gachuru@sarovahotels.com


David Gachuru,
General Manager,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

If there ever was a hotel with a history completely entwined with the history of its city, the Stanley in Nairobi would be it. The hotel is over 110 years old, and like a Hindu God, has been reincarnated in several avatars. It has been burnt down, bulldozed, and rebuilt each time, emerging with something better, something new each time - but in the true essence of incarnation, the soul is always the same. The hotel has played host to legends like Hemingway, Clark Gable, Ava Gardner, Grace Kelly, Gregory Peck, Isabella Rossellini, Michael Caine, Sidney Poitier, Barbra Streisand, Sean Connery, Frank Sinatra and even the Queen of England.

It houses the legendary Thorn Tree Cafe, where over a 100 years ago, weary travelers left messages pinned to the Thorn Tree for those who were following in their wake. Today you can just like Hemingway did, have a drink, and watch the sea of humanity roll past in its waves. The hotel has a unique old world charm that is very hard to replicate.

ON the downside though, all that nourishes this hotel, also hampers it. The entrance is tight, the service is not that great, and some of the modern amenities are missing or not up to scratch. Security,which is something of an issue in Nairobi, is very good here, and this works again as a huge positive.

All in all, if you are going to Nairobi - do stay in the Stanley at least once.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;