We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

A beautiful colonial style hotel located in the heart of downtown Nairobi. Spacious clean rooms with friendly staff. Good food in the restaurant by the pool however the service was a bit slow but the friendly staff made up for the wait.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

Your kind comments on our heritage hotel, its location and warmth of our staff, are highly appreciated.

Please accept our sincere apologies with regard to the standard of service by the pool. The matter is being addressed with so that corrective standards and procedures are followed to prevent a similar occurrence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    280
    69
    17
    14
See reviews for
81
203
76
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I booked an exceutive room ,hassle free online and requested a table at their Thai Resturant based on a review I had read. the rception staff were quick ,helpful and polite whilst my wife and I checked in for an overnight stay to fly back to London from a long stay in Malindi. The room was larrge well equiped with all we could require and more!! The Thai resturant was a delight and the service and food quality excellent and equalled or even excelled famous Bankok resturants,no mean feat! well done and thank you for a delightful evening and breakfast !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write your feedback.

We are extremely pleased that you had a great experience at our hotel. Thank you for rating us five star. You rated our rooms, in-room amenities, the gym and our friendly staff very highly. Your review has been shared with the whole team, especially, at the reception and at Thai Chi Restaurant as a motivator to keep up the great work.

Looking forward to hosting you again and you can reach me on my email david.gachuru@sarovahotels.com


David Gachuru,
General Manager,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

My favorite stay at Nairobi. From the airport pickup/transfer, to the checkin, rooms, restaurants and facilities. Its always a pleasure staying at the Stanley. Its best asset however, is the wonderfull and cheerfull staff, at all levels. Try the best Thai in Afrika, at their Chai Chi restaurant (first floor); also the curries they serve at the Pool Deck restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on your last stay at the hotel.

We appreciate your feedback, which will help us to further improve on the product and services that we offer. We are delighted to have met your expectation from your arrival, hotel stay, our staff and the food in Thai Chi and Pool Deck restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and you can reach me on my email david.gachuru@sarovahotels.com

With Kind regards,

David Gachuru,
General Manager,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Sarova Stanley was the last stop on a safari, so it was only lunch and a day room. But totally adequate and quite lovely. There were quite a lot of us, big group, and I don't recall any glitches. Service was helpful and friendly, always with a genuine smile. The lunch was superb. But the best part was the shower after all the bumps and dust of traveling from the Masai Mara. The shower was magnificent!!! The entire bathroom was terrific, actually; fully stocked with amenities and lovely fluffy towels. I would love to stay there for more than a day on my next trip to Nairobi ... whenever that might be.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Ms. Constance L.,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. Your kind comments about our hotel facilities and services; staff friendliness, organizational ability to handle groups, food and our bathroom amenities, are highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Hotel rooms looks nice with bigger space.

Charming staff in all departments. No disappointments since the check in and check out.Easy access to city centre.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

Second two-week stay. Rooms are impeccably clean -- decor is a bit dated -- but the amenities and very comfortable beds make up for that. Love the responsive service. Everyone is so friendly. Best gym I have used. Ever. Excellent value.

Stayed November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write your feedback.

We are extremely pleased that you had a great experience at our hotel, both times. You rated our rooms, in-room amenities, the gym and our friendly staff very highly. Your review has been shared with the whole team as a motivator to keep up the great job in the future too.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

David Gachuru,
General Manager,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Mary's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I landed early morning at Nairobi and was transferred to the Stanley for an over night stay before starting a safari. Once you get over the rediculous Nairobi traffic, on arrival at the hotel it is quite apparent from first glance that you are in a hotel of quality. I must say that I didn't leave the hotel as I unfortunately was traveling at a time where security in Nairobi was heightened. However, a day lounging by the roof pool and having a massage in the health facilities after a long flight was quite acceptable. I had room service for my meals and found the quality of the food to be fantastic. The air-conditioning in the room was definately necessary.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

At Sarova Stanley, we strive to meet and exceed customer expectation. Thank you very much for the compliments on our warmth, the room and the meal at Thorn Tree. It was our pleasure to host you.

In case of further inquiry do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future for a longer stay.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#18 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.