We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fantastic !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Save
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Fantastic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at Giraffe Manor mid February. We were transferred to the hotel and greeted with a warm welcome by the staff. We were shown to our room, the Karen Blixen Suite which was stunning, it is in the courtyard at the back of the main house. We had homemade lemonade on the front lawn and a lovely lunch and they catered for our fussy taste without question. We then went to the Giraffe centre and had a walking tour with Evan our fantastic guide. We came back for the early evening visit by the giraffes and naughty warthogs and this was complimented by a Gin and tonic. My son is 10 and the staff encouraged him to feed the Giraffes and he became chief warthog chaser to keep them off the lawn! Dinner was a fantastic meal out in the courtyard, again with changes to accommodate our fussy tastes without hesitation! After dinner we gathered with the other lovely guests in the lounge for tea and liquors which was the perfect end to a wonderful day. The Next morning we were woken with hot chocolate delivered to the room early so we could go and greet the giraffes for breakfast and have many more wonderful photo opportunities. The hotel, I agree is not cheap, but I think is worth every penny. Not just the Giraffes and beautiful surroundings but the friendly and professional staff that made our stay a once in a lifetime experience. Thank you to all at Giraffe Manor!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    24
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
171
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Typing a long detailed email would only prevent you by booking faster. Simply said, this is one of the most unique and amazing experiences I have had. It is expensive, but worth every penny. Accommodation is beautiful, the experience is very unique and memorable, the food is perfect, the staff are top notch.

Just book and show up. Stop researching other options. There aren't other options as unique as this in Nairobi.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a sentimental journey for me, since I visited the Giraffe Manor on my very first safari, met owners Jock & Betty Leslie-Melville, even the original giraffe known as Daisy. I thought it might be hard to see the changes, but everything was delightful, bright, colorful, with giraffes still center stage, as Betty would have liked. The rooms are spacious, tea cakes delectable, but what you will take home is the kind and helpful encouragement of sweet staff to help you with your photo op with these beautiful creatures.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to book a room in the new buildings; giraffe come there, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned to Kenya to celebrate my 60th birthday and we could not have chosen a better place than Giraffe Manor. Although we arrived late in the evening a hot meal was waiting for us. All the staff were very welcoming. The rooms and bed were very comfortable and the food was delicious - they even made me a birthday cake! In the morning it was such a privilege to spend time feeding the giraffes and watching the warthogs. Lunch was served out on the courtyard and the evening meal in the dining room with the other guests. We also went to the Elephant Orphanage which is close by and that is also worth a visit. It was certainly a birthday to remember in a beautiful place. Jennie & Kevin

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family of 6 took 3 rooms that we had reserved months in advance... the Jock, Betty and Daisy.

I want to explain what this hotel/hunting lodge really is; It a charming big house, a little shabby, as if you were staying with family friends for the weekend, no keys for the bedroom doors, though locks on the inside. There is no staff hanging around trying to serve you, they are busy sorting out lunch/breakfast dinner or getting guests to their rooms. They have a lovely gift shop as well.

The hotel is 20 meters to the giraffe conservation zoo, its really attached to the hotel and hotel guests are entitled to go into for free, just walk across the front garden. (If you cannot afford this hotel, I recommend this giraffe area for a few hours with their giraffes, turtle pen, warthogs and great gift shop, and you should be happy with this experience.)

There is no front desk or TV's in the room, no telephones, they do have internet, so after its dark there is nothing to do but, have a drink, read, speak with other guests or... go to your room. There is no bar with a bartender, its a serve yourself affaire and everything (liquors) are in a cabinet which they show you as you check in and you are welcome to partake of. After dinner they did have a man making tea and someone scurried to put some music on and peanuts out.

Dinner and lunch were served out on the garden between the 2 houses under the trees, it was lovely. The food and the service was ok, nothing special. The breakfast was better, as you have to leave by 10am and there are giraffes in the dining area the service seems better.

Look at it as an amazing transit hotel, with giraffes and warthogs, best for winding down off a safari or preparing to go to one, as its close to Wilson Airstrip. They kindly provide airport transfers and a visit to the elephant sanctuary or nearby Maasai gift shops and malls free of charge.

Because it is a small boutique hotel with no TV, away from the city and other distractions, you get the chance to get close to a small number of other guests staying there from around the world.

Since this is an old manor house from the 1930's that includes a library as well, the furniture is left over from that period with some tatty ill matched additions, it could use a good make over with an interior designer, but then it may lose its homey feeling.

The Betty is a master suite with a king sized bed and is at the front of the house with a side balcony and front windows and side windows on the 2nd floor, one of the 1st stops for the giraffes. It is over the breakfast room. Its bathroom is dated from the 1930's but very charming even though it is not remodeled and has period fixtures. There is also a fireplace in the room as well and could be very romantic in the evening.

The Jock is also a master suite in the front of the old manor on the opposite side of the Betty, it has twin beds, no balcony, a fireplace, but a lovely remodeled bathroom, double sinks, shower and bath. The giraffes go there 1st as well since it is on the 2nd floor of the old house facing the gardens in the front.

The Daisy is a smaller room, it has 2 twin beds and a balcony, directly behind and next to the Betty. Its balcony is over the breakfast room as well, so the giraffes are there all the time. It has a remodeled bath that is slightly dated.

This is not a bad review, just a surprised one, as I thought the hotel would be to a higher standard for the cost of the rooms. But in the end the giraffes did not disappoint.

Room Tip: The Jock & the Betty and the Daisy are in the front and side of the original house and are reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Giraffe Manor for just one night which was a real shame I wish we had more time there. We were welcomed and shown around by very helpful and friendly staff. The accommodation is beautiful and food was fantastic.
We had to leave at 5 am but that was no trouble for the staff they laid out a beautiful breakfast for us and waved us on our way, such a lovely touch.
The giraffe really do come up to you so you can hand feed them there is even food in your room as they come up to your window.
We were given a personal tour of the Giraffe centre which is attached to the
Manor which again was very informative. I would highly recommend their hotel and want to go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Giraffe Manor for the first time last year and had the most wonderful time.The Manor is beautiful and the staff are typically Kenyan,warm,welcoming, and give impeccable service. Although we have been coming to Kenya for the past 15 years this was our first trip to Giraffe Manor, however we loved it so much we are going back on the 14th March this year with family,i want them to have the same experience we had last year, and I doubt it will be the last time we stay here. I would recommend anyone visiting Kenya to make this "a must do" at some point on their trip.We are so looking forward to going back and having the same magical trip as last time.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.