We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giraffes up close and personal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list
Giraffe Manor
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SG
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Giraffes up close and personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is simply an extremely endearing and enchanting experience. In the evening you get to feed the giraffes outside the main door area. Staff guide you and are usually very keen to ensure you get nice pictures and experiences down to how to get a pic of the giraffe "kissing" you as you hold a food pellet in your mouth and they lick it off you! (ok the saliva is sticky but it goes away quite quickly).We got to meet the giraffe our room was named after too.

Food is really good, so dinner with other guests in the manor is like a hotel version of bush TV. We had really wonderful conversations with other travelers.

In the morning is the highlight, breakfast with the giraffes sticking their heads in! I always wondered why they won't eat the food off our plates they can certainly reach it. But they don't...

The staff are very helpful and engaging but not intrusive. You could have dinner in your room if you choose and let them know but seriously... chatting with other travelers is such a wonderful thing!

And they made us sandwiches when we arrived because we'd not had lunch (it was already 3.30 pm) because of the transit we had. Everything is included so we weren't charged extra for that. And laundry is included here too.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the main house (there is an annex added later which looks and feels the same). B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    24
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
78
169
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I watched a TV programme in black & white when I was little and there was a British family having breakfast with giraffes. Finally I found this place and planned the trip to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Everything was perfect at the Manor, the giraffes, the warthogs, the staff, the rooms, the food, the wine and the warm and friendly atmosphere! We went on to visit the other properties of the same company (The Safari Collection): Sasaab at Samburu, Solio Lodge at Solio and Sala's at Masai Mara and they were all great, each special and unique in its own way!

Room Tip: We had Kelly's Room, spacious with a fireplace on the upper floor of the New Wing with giraffes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The place is beautiful, the food excellent, the staff lovely and accommodating, and with all of that it could be an ordinary excellent boutique hotel, but the star attraction is the giraffes with the wart hogs playing a supporting role. We were here as a family of ten with five children who were totally captivated, as were we adults. My highest recommendation for travelers of all ages.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here with my mum in the new wing. Both our rooms were beautiful - I loved my big bath tub, fireplace and huge bed. Mum's room was a totally different design but equally sweet. Perfect! The main hotel is wonderful - we enjoyed a leisurely afternoon tea and then went to David Sheldrick's to put the ellies to sleep. Make sure you use the private and free transport - it is included but I noticed that they don't shout this from the roof tops. The staff are all helpful and kind. Supper is eaten as a group which I enjoyed but you can eat separately should you wish. The food was excellent and in a different league to the usual slop served in Kenyan hotels. You are given a menu and all drinks are included. Breakfast with the giraffes is special and memorable. This is a super hotel for a special treat and it's extremely enjoyable. Try and arrive as early as you can to get the most out of it. The staff will do anything to assist, e.g I had a pot of hot chocolate and some carrot cake sent to my room at midnight. Wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The manor itself is beautiful the decorating is superb kind of old world but extremely comfortable. Upon arrival we were greeted by the manager Tony who is very passionate about the place. The staff are incredibly friendly. (Thanks George). George took us shopping and to the bank as well as several great sights around the suburb of Karen. He was a wealth of knowledge & his quiet calm manner was very reassuring. Although it was hard to single one person out, they were all too kind & ready to assist with anything. We stayed in the Karen Blixen Suite which was beautiful. & spacious. The food was not my highlight as I prefer slightly plainer meals (there were lots of sauces etc). However if you aren't fond of something the kitchen are insanely quick at whipping up something more to your liking. Of course the reason your here is to meet the fabulous giraffes. We had so much fun at breakfast feeding them, afternoon tea time they would be around for a kiss & at various times of the day they may just pop their heads in your room for a snack. Too cute. Fell in love.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My family and I just returned from a 2 week safari with Specialised Safaris and began our trip with a first night stay at Giraffe Manor !!
We were welcomed our first night by several Giraffe residents and warthogs upon our arrival !! What a spectacular way to begin our adventure !
After a delicious dinner of pot pie (with a pastry Giraffe on top !!) we slept very comfortably and woke to Giraffes joining us for breakfast at our table !!
We felt very safe and comfortable there !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a place! We were warmly welcomed by the manager, who gave us a tour of the Manor, and a history of the place and it's people as we walked around. We were given Marlon as our room, which was lovely. A bit later, however, we were moved to the Karen Blixen Suite, as there were not many guests, and they thought we would appreciate the extra space and luxury (we certainly did!). The food was first class, and dinner in the wonderful old dining room with the other guests was wonderful. The service and staff were excellent.
All that said, I would have slept in a tin hut and dined on bread and water to enjoy the interaction that we had with the giraffes. The chance to get so close to these wonderful, gentle and beautiful creatures is what this is all about- the rest is just icing on the cake.
It's not cheap, but worth every penny- we will be going back for more than one night next time.
Thanks to everyone there for treating us with such courtesy and friendliness.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Giraffe Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.