We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giraffe manor, near Karen, Nairobi, Kenya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list
Giraffe Manor
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Dorset, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Giraffe manor, near Karen, Nairobi, Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is one of the most unusual hotels/restaurants in the World! It is situated in a lovely suburb of Nairobi called "Karen" (where, incidentally, Karen Blixen who wrote 'Out of Africa" lived.) The service is white glove and the food sumptuous. The bedrooms on the second story will attract giraffe, Rothschild Giraffe, that is, who live on the grounds. They come up to the windows, stick their heads within, and ask for food! Really! After the arduous multi - hour trip getting to Nairobi from the Eastern United States this is a superb place to calm down and become acclimatized to the lovely Nairobi climate. Be sure to book far in advance because they don't very many accommodations and the place is very popular, especially with European visitors.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    24
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
76
159
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have been to Giraffe Manor three times, and I do agree it is a very magical place!!! Where else can you share your breakfast with giraffes???
Only thing I would like to say is that since Giles and Jessica are running the place it is now more about being a boutique hotel then hotel you share with giraffes - the previous managers did know all about the history of the place and could tell you the most wonderful stories it was more like a family affair incl the giraffes and not like a hotel where they are lucky enough to have giraffes visiting for breakfast and for a limited time in the afternoon.
Also for the price they charge I would accept more flexibility !!! Most flights from the UK don't get it till late at night and they want you to leave your room by noon not much time to enjoy your stay unless you stay two nights, if you want to come at the end of your holiday you also faced with a dilemma as the flights back are not till night time and again you have to check out by noon - what to do for the rest of your day?! You can't stay in the hotel grounds unless you pay another 50% room rate???
But the food the place,staff and of course the giraffes make this still a very special place. We will never return till they have appointed new managers who understand client bla bla !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKez, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi Jessy1202

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Giraffe Manor back in March.

The history of the house is extremely important to us and I am so sorry that you didn’t get that sense on your recent visit. It is a fine balancing act between maintaining the charm of this old family home and delivering a professional experience, because ultimately we are a hotel. To be honest your comments are bitter sweet, I have certainly never been criticized for running the Manor like a boutique property. Many of our guests appreciate that we try so hard to convey a professional level of service in such a unique, often challenging, environment and overall I am very proud of the experience we deliver and the brilliant team that help do this. Although there is always room for improvement and we continue to keep working on that.

Regarding your comment on the check out time – this is one of those big ‘challenges’ for us. For the benefit of those reading TripAdvisor our check in time is from 1100 and check out is by 1000 (not noon), we are always very upfront about this when anyone books with us. I would love nothing more than to be more flexible than we are, but this would result in double the number of guests being at the Manor each day. The house simply cannot logistically cope with that. Our only solution would be to become even more of a hotel and build restaurants, bars, official check in desks etc… then I fear that you would be even more disappointed with your experience here as the intimacy and exclusivity would be completely lost.

But having said the above, we did actually try and demonstrate flexibility during your stay with us by offering you a discounted day room rate. We usually do not offer any day room rates at all. But as it was a quiet time of year and last minute, we were more than happy to give 50% off the overnight rate. In the absence of any sort of bar or restaurant and the fully inclusive nature of the property, this is really the only way that we can work this. And it did seem a fair price for you to enjoy another full day of our services including lunch, afternoon tea, dinner, all drinks (including alcohol), transportation around the Karen and Langata area, entry into the AFEW Giraffe Centre, WiFi etc and airport transfers later that night.

Finally my wife Jessica Pattison no longer runs Giraffe Manor with me - she left the management team over 2 years ago and I manage the hotel with 3 excellent Front of House Managers.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further queries at all.

Kind regards,

Giles Pattison, General Manager, Giraffe Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our family stayed one night at the Giraffe Manor to start our safari in Kenya. It was magic! Our flight came in late and the entire property was silent when we arrived but the kitchen had stayed open and made us some wonderful comfort food -- pot pies -- to eat by candlelight before we turned in. We stayed in the Finch Hatton family room -- one floor with a beautiful netted large bed for me and my husband and a delightful loft with two twin beds for my kids. Bathroom was spacious with an enormous shower. We woke early to have a lengthy breakfast with the giraffes and warthogs. We fed each of them and took lots of pictures while having our breakfast. Everyone who worked at Giraffe Manor appeared to take such genuine delight in showing us the giraffes, how to feed them and how to get the best pictures. We also spent about an hour chatting with the manager (Giles, I think???). It was so great to talk with someone about what it was really like to live in Nairobi and raise a family there as well as the history of Giraffe Manor. We built the start of our trip around when we were able to secure our reservations at Giraffe Manor and I am so glad we did. It was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place is unbelievable. 15 minutes after we arrived, we are feeding a giraffe from our bedroom window. Just incredible.
We were with a group of 5 couples, and on our first night, a private room was set up for us for dinner, which was magnificently presented, with a beatific table setting, great food & wine, and superlative service.
The staff here are just wonderful. Very friendly, very efficient, nothing too hard.
The rooms are something to experience. This is an old manor house, so rooms are spacious, but old worldly. Beautiful.
This is a stay I will remember forever. A must for anyone contemplating and planning a safari trip to Africa, as part of the journey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I am tremendously impressed with the accommodation, facility, high level of service and exceptional staff at Giraffe Manor. Your every detail will be attended to during your stay, whether it be a hotel transfer, dietary restriction, excursion or even laundry. Everything is included with the cost of your stay. Having travelled extensively, this is by far the BEST place I have ever stayed. The staff are kind, friendly, highly-service oriented, polite and professional. Oh, I almost forgot to mention that you can feed, pet, kiss and have breakfast with the giraffes! To all of the staff (and giraffes) at Giraffe Manor - Thank you - You are absolutely amazing.

Room Tip: I'm certain that every room is absolutely perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This place is pure joy. The giraffes are wonderful and it is soooo great to be so close to them. The staff is the best - great personalities, friendly, funny, and inviting. The food is just Ok, but that is not what visitors go for -- it's the giraffes that are the main event. It is a fantastic and magical place to stay.

Room Tip: ask to stay in a room that the giraffes visit in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakton virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

After reading the reviews, my adjectives will be the same: gorgeous, fabulous staff, wonderful rooms and a chance to start our Kenyan adventure at the top. The food and service during our entire stay was hands on but not intrusive. Loved meeting all the interesting folks who were staying there, from all over the world. Seeing the giraffes up close and personal was great. and even the warthogs didn't frighten me too much!! It's a great way to start the animal adventures for someone who was definitely afraid of all large animals. My grandchildren, 8 and 12, kissed the giraffes and loved every minute. It's the best part of visiting Nairobi, believe me. Congrats to Giles and his excellent staff.
Ann and family Washington D.C.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKez, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review Ann! Will definitely pass it on to Giles and the Giraffe Manor Team.

The Safari Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Giraffe Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.