We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing start to the bucket list holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Save
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Amazing start to the bucket list holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

After landing from a 22 hour flight from Australia, this was a simply STUNNING place to arrive to for a bit of a rest before commencing our safari. Its around a 45-60 min drive through the smog and amazingly busy traffic to the Manor but believe me it is worth it (even if you are jetlagged). On arrival you see these beautiful timber gates with a massive giraffe on the gate and your heart is pumping. You've arrived at one of the most beautiful places in the world, you've seen it on the TV etc and finally know that you're there to share in its magic. Bring it on! Gates open, drive down the driveway and you see the georgous manor house. It took our breath away.

We were met by 2 porter staff and Michael (Manager). We were shown around the outside of the house and through into the lounge area, dining area etc before being taken up to our suite, having been told that we were in Betty's room (which made my blood tingle as I knew it was the best room). Michael showed us around the room explaining everything as we went along and left us to settle in and freshen up. Michael informed us that the giraffes come up about 6pm for a feed and we were welcome outside for a sundowner or G&T. The suite itself is divine to say the least and the history of the place is amazing. You feel like you've gone back in time with all the modern amenities. We instantly felt extremely at home and very welcome. ALL the staff were extremely polite and bent over backwards for you and wanted to have a good laugh with you and chat without being intrusive. The staff made the visit extra special for us. Couldn't fault them at all. We were extremely teary leaving the place and felt that we had made life long friends.

Meal time was always fun with a beautiful menu with plenty of options and the quality of food was superb and extremely fresh and mouth watering. After your evening meal staff always asked what time you would like a wake up call for your adventures ahead the next day and if you would like tea/coffee sent up. Bed was turned down in the evenings while you were at dinner with a beautiful poem or some facts written down for you to ponder before hitting the pillow.

It truly is an amazing experience feeding these beautiful giraffes, such elegant and graceful animals, but they can be a bit bossy at times so watch out. As long as you keep feeding them they are fine and will dazzle you.

Giraffe Manor is very central to Kazuri Bead Factory, Daphne Sheldrick Orphanage, National Park, souvenir shops, Karen Blixen Museum and gardens for lunch. All these places are very worthwhile going to visit, but I must admit we found the Karen Blixen museum slightly boring. But that's only our opinion.

Our last night at the manor the staff all prepared the private dining room for all the guests to eat together which was fabulous (by the way, you are welcome to eat anywhere in the Manor, just let the staff know and they will be more than happy to accommodate you in any way). Its a great way to meet all the other guests and chat about your safaris etc. We had a fabulous evening and met some fellow Australians whom we have become very close friends with since.

We had 2 nights at Giraffe Manor but could have easily stayed longer. This place sucks you in and you don't want to leave. Experience it just once in your life, but you will want to return, trust me. It gets in your heart!!!

Room Tip: The newer house has a massive room called Blixen room, so if you have large family or big group you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKez, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review!! We would love for you to come back and stay with us again... you could add us to your "second" bucket list holiday :) :)

The Safari Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    24
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
148
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having previously stayed at the Giraffe house several years ago, I was unsure if it would again meet my high expectations. Believe me it did. This time, I stayed with my daughter for (unfortunately) only one night on my way to a safari camp. The accommodation has been increased by the building of another similar house, but this has only added to the attractiveness of the property. We saw and fed the giraffes and warthogs, with the giraffes putting their heads through the breakfast room windows to be fed. My daughter was able to "kiss" a giraffe by putting food in her lips and the giraffe gently picking it out with her tongue. The evening meal was of high quality and the company with other guests most memorable. This is a place that is a must if you wish to stay over night in or near Nairobi.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here with our 3 kids (16, 14 and 11) after 4 nights in safari, and were warmly greeted by Giles who showed us to our 2 incredible rooms. The manor is simply stunning and beautifully furnished. We were in the new building which is very sympathetic to the original manor, the rooms were huge and we were offered a complimentary laundry service which was gratefully received. Gin and tonic on the front lawn, sun setting and giraffes walking about was the perfect wind down. Dinner was in the courtyard with braziers by each table followed by drinks in the drawing room by the fire which is a great opportunity to meet the other guests.

Breakfast is an experience we will never forget with the giraffes poking their heads through the windows and eating the pellets which are provided in the bedrooms and also the breakfast room.

Can't recommend this place enough, it is a must! We all loved it and wish we had booked 2 nights instead of one. We will next time.....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKez, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Giraffe Manor, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Bouchfred,

Thank you for your wonderful review and feedback, and to recommending us to the Trip Advisor community.

Glad too that you had such an incredible experience at Giraffe manor - Garden Manor, and look forward to your return visit.

With very best wishes,

The Safari Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Giraffe Manor is truly one in a million. We stayed two nights and was a perfect place to stay and to visit some of the shops in not far from there. Giraffe Manor provided us with a driver. Some of the places we went included the Utamaduni Craft Shopping Venue -- a good place to purchase local crafts. Mat Bronze is an exceptional gift and gallery where you can purchase leather belts and bronze buckles and other bronze items. They also have a small snack bar if you get hungry. Kazuri Beads Factory has a good tour to show how the beads are made -- there is a shop where you can purchase some of their items. Beads made there are shipped all over the world. Although interesting we really didn't like the Flip Flop shop -- although making gift items from flip flops is a good craft and way to recycle.

Room Tip: The Finch Hatton room is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Doesn't get better than this in Nairobi! The service, the food, the experience, the atmosphere...hands down the best experience you'll have while you're visiting Nairobi. It can be a bit pricey, but it's worth it. Just keep in mind, the Giraffe Manor is not your typical hotel (no pool, bar, no fitness center etc), more of an all inclusive B&B. It's also located in Karen which is a plus if you're visiting, as its relatively close to all of the major attractions (Elephant Orphanage, Karen Blixen Museum, National Park). Can't say enough about the service! Extremely helpful and attentive staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

What an amazing place! We felt like we had to pinch ourselves constantly, couldn't believe what we were seeing. Wonderful being able to interact with the giraffes so closely in such a magnificent setting. The staff were fabulous, so professional but so friendly. The food was outstanding and the service was first class. We have all vowed to come back as soon as we have that lotto win!!!
Thank you for this experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I arrived early in the morning and visited the elephant sanctuary in the morning before my wife and children joined me arriving on a later flight. Giles was extremely accommodating and helpful both with my early morning arrival, last minute plans to see the elephants, arranging a late family lunch and every other aspect of our short stay. The food, service, setting and rooms are all extremely high quality. It was really magical for all of us to see the giraffes up close. Kids and the kid in all of us will enjoy this in a way that none of the online pictures however cool can capture. You simply have to experience it for yourself. There is simply no better first night to a Kenyan or Tanzanian safari.

Room Tip: The Blixen family suite is spacious two-story room perfect for a family of four. The only downside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.