We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Save
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Old Hickory
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very special place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We just spent two nights at the manor and had the time of our lives! We are a family of four with two grown children ages 20 and 16. We have travelled the world but Giraffe Marnor is one of the best things that we've ever done! The friendly staff and good food (there are 3 vegetarians) were top notch. The giraffe's and even the wart hogs are a blast! We will be back. If you decide to go, book early.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    26
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
95
186
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A wonderful experience the place, people, and animals were fantastic
It was a magnificent setting and gardens and so relaxing and lots of fun
Would go,again tomorrow

The staff knew so much about the giraffes and were able to,share this with us
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was concerned by the name and description that this would be a touristy, "staged" place to stay on our way to the Mara but followed an excellent travel planner's advice. I am so glad we did! Giraffe Manor is a "manor" in all sense of the word. The history is interesting as well. Resident Rothschild giraffe are rare in the wild but are bred here for future release as populations increase. Feeding the giraffes is not the only highlight. The rooms are lovely. Dining al fresco with fire heaters and attentive wait staff followed by after dinner drinks with fellow guests was fun! Great for couples and families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is by far my favourite place to stay in Nairobi. While the Norfolk is certainly a nice colonial place in the centre of Nairobi, this manor gives you the unique opportunity to witness giraffes up-close. I know this sounds very tacky, but it is actually an amazing experience which will touch your soul! Just try it out - it will affect you in a very beautiful way!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a great start to a 2 week safari. Feeding giraffes by hand ( and mouth) in absolutely stunning surroundings. I've wanted to visit here ever since I was a kid and boy did i feel like a kid in a sweet shop when i was there. The manor itself is beautiful, the rooms, stunning. The staff, service and food were exemplary, but nothing can compare to the giraffes and warthogs. Spending a sunset drinking wine and feeding the animals is an experience you'll never forget.
Wait until you get "kissed" by a giraffe and then you'll know what i mean!

Room Tip: If you can book "Betty", you have a private veranda and your very own personal experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

What can I say, what a fantastic hotel and unbelievable to experience giraffes coming right up to your bedroom window to be fed.Lovely grounds and the setting is inceredible, on a clear day you can see all the way to Kilamanjaro.The staff are very attentive and we enjoyed hearing all about the history of the manor and especially talking with Cosmo who is the giraffes best pal!
The only blemish I could see is that the rooms might need just a little upgrading( but not much and not enough for me not to revisit).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

An incredible experience. Lynn is the star of the show! But, right behind her are the other characters that make up this magical accommodation. The main house and 2 other houses have unique and select rooms that will be forever in my memory of travel. Just as you might have read Lynn and her friends will pop their heads into your room or join you for breakfast, dinner or lunch. The service is commendable, the dinners elegantly served and delicious. Four of us traveled together and were fortunate to have the rooms in the main manor called Betty and Jock. You might think this stay to be expensive but, we chose to look at our price per night as a donation to care for the almost extinct Rothschild Giraffe. Accommodation of this standard and donation to the cause in my opinion is a reasonable price. Our experience was in low season of safari travel. This travel period will give you the best time to enjoy Lynn and her friends. Take a moment away from everything and enjoy the beauty of the gentle giants. You too will have an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: Betty and Jock's rooms are the most famous and offer the very best of Lynn and her friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
2.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
7.8 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
105.4 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
8.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#5 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.