We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Save Saved
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Brilliance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A wonderful experience the place, people, and animals were fantastic
It was a magnificent setting and gardens and so relaxing and lots of fun
Would go,again tomorrow

The staff knew so much about the giraffes and were able to,share this with us
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    22
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
136
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was concerned by the name and description that this would be a touristy, "staged" place to stay on our way to the Mara but followed an excellent travel planner's advice. I am so glad we did! Giraffe Manor is a "manor" in all sense of the word. The history is interesting as well. Resident Rothschild giraffe are rare in the wild but are bred here for future release as populations increase. Feeding the giraffes is not the only highlight. The rooms are lovely. Dining al fresco with fire heaters and attentive wait staff followed by after dinner drinks with fellow guests was fun! Great for couples and families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is by far my favourite place to stay in Nairobi. While the Norfolk is certainly a nice colonial place in the centre of Nairobi, this manor gives you the unique opportunity to witness giraffes up-close. I know this sounds very tacky, but it is actually an amazing experience which will touch your soul! Just try it out - it will affect you in a very beautiful way!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a great start to a 2 week safari. Feeding giraffes by hand ( and mouth) in absolutely stunning surroundings. I've wanted to visit here ever since I was a kid and boy did i feel like a kid in a sweet shop when i was there. The manor itself is beautiful, the rooms, stunning. The staff, service and food were exemplary, but nothing can compare to the giraffes and warthogs. Spending a sunset drinking wine and feeding the animals is an experience you'll never forget.
Wait until you get "kissed" by a giraffe and then you'll know what i mean!

Room Tip: If you can book "Betty", you have a private veranda and your very own personal experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

What can I say, what a fantastic hotel and unbelievable to experience giraffes coming right up to your bedroom window to be fed.Lovely grounds and the setting is inceredible, on a clear day you can see all the way to Kilamanjaro.The staff are very attentive and we enjoyed hearing all about the history of the manor and especially talking with Cosmo who is the giraffes best pal!
The only blemish I could see is that the rooms might need just a little upgrading( but not much and not enough for me not to revisit).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

An incredible experience. Lynn is the star of the show! But, right behind her are the other characters that make up this magical accommodation. The main house and 2 other houses have unique and select rooms that will be forever in my memory of travel. Just as you might have read Lynn and her friends will pop their heads into your room or join you for breakfast, dinner or lunch. The service is commendable, the dinners elegantly served and delicious. Four of us traveled together and were fortunate to have the rooms in the main manor called Betty and Jock. You might think this stay to be expensive but, we chose to look at our price per night as a donation to care for the almost extinct Rothschild Giraffe. Accommodation of this standard and donation to the cause in my opinion is a reasonable price. Our experience was in low season of safari travel. This travel period will give you the best time to enjoy Lynn and her friends. Take a moment away from everything and enjoy the beauty of the gentle giants. You too will have an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: Betty and Jock's rooms are the most famous and offer the very best of Lynn and her friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

What an amazing experience!!! We arrived early, and we were happily welcomed. Thank you Giles and your wonderful team!

We had booked a room for three people, however upon arrival we were all given our own rooms as they had them free. Each of the rooms were in the new building and they were all just so beautiful!

We were served a beautiful morning tea on the front lawn and it was just so amazing to be sitting there, looking out over the gardens and the giraffes and the warthogs. I really felt so happy to be there!

We were taken to the market that we had wanted to visit. Then in the afternoon we went to the education centre. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT. Really interesting. Loved the walk around the park.

The food was just amazing!!! it was really lovely to sit around the dining table with other guests, such a lovely warm, friendly, homely feeling.

Waking up early was just like a child at Christmas! Looking out of your window and seeing these gracious, magnificent giraffes wandering up to your window. You must experience this!!!

Breakfast was just so amazing, beautiful food too! but to share it with such wonderful company.

It was lovely staying in April, apparently the "off" season, but it wouldn't have mattered at all. Rain, hail or shine, it was wonderful!

I loved every second of my time at Giraffe Manor!!!

It is expensive but really it is worth ever cent!!! Please experience this brilliant place!!!!

Room Tip: no need they are all beautiful!!! We stayed in the new building and all the rooms were just beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.