We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant! Amazing! Breath taking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant! Amazing! Breath taking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

What an amazing experience!!! We arrived early, and we were happily welcomed. Thank you Giles and your wonderful team!

We had booked a room for three people, however upon arrival we were all given our own rooms as they had them free. Each of the rooms were in the new building and they were all just so beautiful!

We were served a beautiful morning tea on the front lawn and it was just so amazing to be sitting there, looking out over the gardens and the giraffes and the warthogs. I really felt so happy to be there!

We were taken to the market that we had wanted to visit. Then in the afternoon we went to the education centre. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT. Really interesting. Loved the walk around the park.

The food was just amazing!!! it was really lovely to sit around the dining table with other guests, such a lovely warm, friendly, homely feeling.

Waking up early was just like a child at Christmas! Looking out of your window and seeing these gracious, magnificent giraffes wandering up to your window. You must experience this!!!

Breakfast was just so amazing, beautiful food too! but to share it with such wonderful company.

It was lovely staying in April, apparently the "off" season, but it wouldn't have mattered at all. Rain, hail or shine, it was wonderful!

I loved every second of my time at Giraffe Manor!!!

It is expensive but really it is worth ever cent!!! Please experience this brilliant place!!!!

Room Tip: no need they are all beautiful!!! We stayed in the new building and all the rooms were just beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    20
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
131
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I have just come home from a 7 week holiday where we visited many countries in south east Africa. Have to say our 2 nights at Giraffe Manor was the highlight of the whole trip.

How magical it was to be able to interact with the giraffes. It was almost sureal eating breakfast while you had a giraffe peering over your shoulder waiting to be feed. These animals are so special and to be able to feed, kiss and cuddle them is such a wonderful experience

The Manor itself is beautiful. We stayed in Kellys room which is situated in the newer building which is located behind the main lodge. The room was lovely and we were able to feed the giraffes in the morning from our bedroom window.

The staff were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble and they catered for our every need. The food was great, we particularly enjoyed the candle light dinners which were served in the formal dining room with all guests sitting around the dinner table together.

This place was worth every cent and I would say to anyone travelling to Africa if they have the chance to get to Giraffe Manor just do as you will have an experience you will never forget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

How fun was this! While you can get a touch of visiting these creatures at the sanctuary next door, this gives you a once in a lifetime experience of getting to know the animals better and their different personalities.

The hotel itself was lovely. It was the first hotel I have ever stayed at where no 'key' is given. It is a small, exclusive space, so I can't imagine security being a problem. The hot water bottles in the bed are lovely, and somehow I didn't tire of 'everything giraffe' when it comes to decor.

The service was very attentive. I was amazed at how many photos they took of us with our camera over the 'breakfast'.... I must have had close to 50!

My advice - book in advance - of our whole trip in Kenya / Rwanda this was difficult to book as it is under demand.

Room Tip: Main manor faces the main area of giraffes.... if you want a massage, book in advance.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the Giraffe Manor! I stayed one night in February as a single before meeting up on Safari the next day with family in the Masai Mara. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant or service friendly. This is true customer service!

From the momement I arrived there was a driver waiting at the airport, he was very pleasant and we discussed much about East Africa. When I arrived I was greated with a cool towel which was nice as it was warm that afternoon and a refreshment while they showed me the grounds. The Staff were always asking if there is anything I wanted, if I needed help getting anywhere. They gave me a private guided nature walk in the property across from the Giraffe Sancturay.

Giraffes are my favorite animal and when I knew I was moving to East Africa and heard about this place I knew I had to visit. The other people during my stay were fantastic, they welcomed me into their conversations discussing Africa, their trips, where they are from etc.

The food is amazing! Some of the best meals I have had in my 2 years in East Africa.

The only improvement I could see is the room, Jock, I stayed in had a very springy bed. I slept fine but it was not the most comfortable. However, the room was very beautiful, as was the bathroom. I didn't expect such a large room.

I can't wait to come back in May with my husband for 4 days, 3 nights to share the experience with him!

Room Tip: Jock was a fantastic room, very spacious, two full size beds. There is a fire place in the room as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived at the house around 10pm, but the staff all greeted us at the door, made us cocktails, and even served us a meal since we'd just finished an 8 hour flight. My brother and I stayed in the Jock room and it was hands down the greatest place I have ever laid my head. I had a wake up call (coffee room service) before sunrise and I went downstairs to wait for the giraffes to come up to the house and to catch sunrise. Eddie (one of the staff, also the name of a younger giraffe) stood outside with me and told me so much about the property and the animals (giraffes, warthogs and Luca the dog). Lynn was the first giraffe to come out of the bush and she went straight to our bedroom window and nudged/licked it until my brother heard and brought food pellets over to feed her. She moved down to Betty's room (our parents stayed there) and as the other giraffes made their way to the house we feed them from the balcony for 40 minutes. The next morning we had an early flight, but before the sun was even up Lynn was at our window to say goodbye (and get a lot of food).
I read so many of these reviews before our trip and somehow Giraffe Manor still managed to exceed my expectations. The house staff were all so much fun to get to know and helped immensely with learning how to interact with the giraffes (though I did still manage to make Kelly upset enough to head butt me and almost knock me over). The human food was VERY good, the giraffe food was pretty dry (I tried one piece).
Even if you just go for the day I think it is a MUST DO in Nairobi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I came here for lunch - once in a blue moon they allow non-guests to come for lunch or dinner. We have been trying to squirrel a table here since before we moved to Nairobi late last year. It finally came through - hurray! and was such an amazing experience.

The house is simply stunning. It's an old manor house from the colonial era that is covered with ivy and just gorgeously appointed and incredibly well tended to. Our lunch was simply divine, the food was excellent and service wonderful. What made it so spectacular however, was the lovely staff and the very friendly giraffes. One of the giraffes came up to us after lunch to say hi. I never thought in my life I would be so close to one of these majestic creatures. What a magical, divine place! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the manor for 2 nights in Feb 2013. This was the second time (2010 first trip) and we wanted to return with friends before safari. You want to have at least a full day there just to soak up the charm and elegance of the manor. Staff and management are fully engaged.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#13 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#9 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
5-star, Romanti...
Show More
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#12 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 91 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list