We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique breakfast experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list
Giraffe Manor
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Unique breakfast experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I doubt if you can share your breakfast with a giraffe anywhere else and this is really worth doing, at least once. The old house oozes character and the staff are friendly and courteous. There is a large garden that is great for chilling. If you are travelling into Nairobi town centre allow plenty of time because of the horrendous traffic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    25
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
83
173
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brewer, Maine
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is an amazing once in a lifetime experience that made memories for us that will last forever. We were picked up at the airport on schedule and arrangements were quickly made to get us to the elephant orphanage for the late morning feeding. We returned to a wonderful lunch on the patio with giraffes and warthogs nearby for our enjoyment. Dinner was very good and the time by the fire with cocktails and snacks also was great. Our room was huge and we had many a giraffe visit us for "kibble" at night and in the morning. How can you neat a giraffe poking its head into the breakfast room taking a look around? If I was made of money, I would love to stay again for a week!

I did not rate it as excellent for a few reasons. At US$1,000 a day, I have very high expectations. The booking process was a challenge. Wiring the funds to prepay for the experience was a challenge. In my email communications, the Manor kept up the pressure that if I didn't get the funds to them ASAP, they would be forced to release my room and I may miss out on the opportunity. As this was a special surprise for my partner, I didn't want that to happen. What we found when we got there was that of the entire property, only 3 rooms were rented--there was PLENTY of space, so the high pressure and fear creation was all hype. Also, our flight left late the next day. I had hoped for a "day rate" so we could just sit on the patio and read and relax. That was not an option. We were offered a car and a driver for US$500 for the day, which seemed quite steep to me. My other disappointment was in service. I found my way to the kitchen twice during our day there to find someone to get a soda. We have stayed at safari camps where there was always someone around so if I got up they checked to see if I needed something. That level of attention was missing during our stay.

Would these negatives deter me from staying again? Of course not--the experience is truly stupendous being so near the animals and the setting is lovely. But, the upfront pressure, the lack of exceptional service, and the challenge with our late flight were disappointing.

If you need to fill some time, there are a number of tour operators that will pick you up at the manor. Nairobi Excursions will give you a car and driver for US$100 a day. What we ended up doing through Nairobi Excursions was the Kiambethu Tea Farm tour and spent the day there, then we were brought back to town for shopping at the market, then out to dinner and then to the airport--all of that for about 40% of the price of a Giraffe Manor car and driver for the day. There are wonderful options!

Enjoy your trip and enjoy the Giraffe Manor!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Where does one even start when writing a review of the Giraffe Manor.

You arrive. And OF COURSE, you are picked up wherever you might be and brought to the gated Manor grounds. The gates open, the shuttle parks, and OF COURSE the manager comes to your vehicle to greet you and introduce you to the Manor.

The introduction consists of an escorted journey through the terrace, into the original Manor House, onto the courtyard and into the newer Manor House. Through this all, it is hard not to feel as if in a dream.

Tour complete, you are invited to enjoy your stay. With manager departed, you are alone except for the Manor Houses. Wait. Not quite alone. What's that just beyond the terrace? OH WOW! Giraffes! Not one. Not two. Not even three. There are MANY giraffes lying about in the tall grass watching you as you discover them. And then ... warthogs and Luka, the Manor hound. And then suddenly at your elbow, Safari is asking if there is any way in which he can serve you in this moment.

This is how you arrive.

And every moment for the rest of your stay is similarly full of wonder, awe, comfort, service, nature and all things Manor.

Should you wish a snack, or a refreshment, or a chair, or a book, or a game, or a drive somewhere, or something for your room, or laundry done, or peace and quiet, or a fire in the fireplace...it takes less than a minute to organize.

5 stars is not enough to qualify what it feels like to be the Lord of the Manor, if even for a moment. Arrive early. Leave late. Stay awake until the wee hours and absorb every possible second that you can. And then, come back.

Room Tip: I really don't think that there are bad rooms. However, some of the rooms have a terrace and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in the Manor with our young adult daughters.
They got a room with a giraffe window and they loved it.
Giraffe Lyn visited there window for snacks.
But the warthogs are funny to.
The service was excelent,we needed an yellowfever vacination,a car brought us to the nearby hospital.it was arraanged in an hour.
Service and food is top,your money is well spent,make sure you come early and experience the whole package.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A once in a lifetime experience in Giraffe Manor, Nairobi, Kenya. Though this place was expensive, it was well worth the experience. The service is truly top class. Giraffes poking their heads through the window to share breakfast – PRICELESS.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a really amazing place I just loved the whole experience, from the setting the animals!!!! the friendliness of the staff and the relaxed atmosphere around the dinner tables and the fireplace. Definitely want to go back one day!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Beautiful English Manor, we stayed in a large room with an upstair loft. The service was incredible. The food was fantastic especially the bacon wrapped figs and the beef wellington. But what makes the place are the animals, the giraffes and warthogs. The laundry service was a nice touch as was the message.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Giraffe Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.