We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giraffe Manor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Save Saved
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Giraffe Manor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Beautiful English Manor, we stayed in a large room with an upstair loft. The service was incredible. The food was fantastic especially the bacon wrapped figs and the beef wellington. But what makes the place are the animals, the giraffes and warthogs. The laundry service was a nice touch as was the message.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    22
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
136
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Wow. Undoubtedly the best place I have ever stayed. The staff and service are fantastic, the rooms are beautiful, the food is great, and the mansions and its surrounds are gorgeous. You really feel like a guest at a beautiful mansion with giraffes. Worth the splurge if you can afford it, and unquestionably the best part of our safari experience. Ask for Daisy's or Betty's room with balcony

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I paid US$ 1000/night to be awake all night! An intermitent noise each 30 sec from some equipment as a router did not allow us to sleep. Terrible!
Giraffes are nice... But it dis not pay off!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had seen the Giraffe Manor on the travel channel, and in Conde Nast and in Travel & Leisure -- and I even set up my entire safari experience to start with the manor because of those reviews. This was by far - the most incredible place I have ever stayed. We arrived late at night in Nairobi, tired from our 20+ hr travels to get here (from Boston). When we pulled into the driveway -- Lynn, the Momma giraffe, was in the driveway and once we got to the lodge, and grabbed dinner - there she was again, poking her head in the window, looking for handouts. It was such an amazing experience.
Our roo was directly above the breakfast room (where the giraffes poke their heads in), so we could even feed them from our balcony.
The staff were absolutely excellent! The food was incredible. As in, every single morsel was absolutely delicious. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are each unique and gorgeously furnished.

Truly - this was such a great experience and I would wish everyone could have such an amazing stay - including breakfasting with the giraffe family.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Daisy" - right above the breakfast room. Definitely recommend it. 2 queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed one night - wish it was longer.

Lived up to all expectations and breakfast was great, the giraffe really do come right up to the windows and join you for breakfast

Lovely room and food, 5 star service

Cannot wait to return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After reading all the reviews I could find about Giraffe Manor, I was expecting a lot and I was not disappointed! My suggestion would be to arrive at 11.00am when check in starts and don't make any other plans for the day! We stayed at the Manor all day and just enjoyed what it had to offer. We spent time at the Visitors Centre (which is free if you are staying at the Manor), enjoyed the delicious 3 course lunch on the terrace, relaxed in the lounge and used the free internet, watched the giraffes and warthogs outside and had a drink or two from the open bar.

We were greeted upon arrival and immediately taken to our room. We were lucky enough to be staying when there was only one other couple there and they were staying in the Karen Blixen room, which isn't even in the main Manor.

We were in Betty's room and after looking at all the other rooms in the Manor, this one is by far the best! The room is enormous and quite luxurious, with a great bathroom. It has it's own balcony and is at the front of the house where the giraffes come to be fed. We were lucky enough to have Lynn (the giraffe) come and visit us during the day to be fed at our window and then we went outside with one of the staff members where we fed her for about 1/2 hour while he took photos of us - it was amazing and exactly what you come here for.

The Manor itself is exceptional! The staff are so obliging and will do anything to assist you. I have a dietary requirement and they were more than willing to accommodate this request. The food was delicious and plentiful. We had laundry to be done and after placing it in the hamper the next we saw it was back in our room, clean and with a rose on top!

It was great to basically have the run of the Manor. We felt like we were alone, but when you wanted anything a staff member would always be there.

Unfortunately we had to leave very early in the morning for a flight, which was disappointing as we missed breakfast with the giraffes, but given our experience with Lynn the day before we were not unhappy. Try to ensure you can stay for the full time to enjoy the whole experience.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone going to Nairobi. If you love giraffes, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for Betty's room when booking - it's by far the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service in a wonderful place. Harmony with African nature and service are making this place just facinating. One of the best places I have ever visited traveling a lot. Wish to all staff and general manager all the best and good luck. Please keep this wonder. Thank you all for the great job you are doing. Thanks to all of you for sure will be back with my family and friends in nearest future! Thank you very much for everything. I will never forget my anniversary with you. Marina.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.