We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list
Giraffe Manor
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best place ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Wow. Undoubtedly the best place I have ever stayed. The staff and service are fantastic, the rooms are beautiful, the food is great, and the mansions and its surrounds are gorgeous. You really feel like a guest at a beautiful mansion with giraffes. Worth the splurge if you can afford it, and unquestionably the best part of our safari experience. Ask for Daisy's or Betty's room with balcony

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    26
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
86
178
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I paid US$ 1000/night to be awake all night! An intermitent noise each 30 sec from some equipment as a router did not allow us to sleep. Terrible!
Giraffes are nice... But it dis not pay off!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had seen the Giraffe Manor on the travel channel, and in Conde Nast and in Travel & Leisure -- and I even set up my entire safari experience to start with the manor because of those reviews. This was by far - the most incredible place I have ever stayed. We arrived late at night in Nairobi, tired from our 20+ hr travels to get here (from Boston). When we pulled into the driveway -- Lynn, the Momma giraffe, was in the driveway and once we got to the lodge, and grabbed dinner - there she was again, poking her head in the window, looking for handouts. It was such an amazing experience.
Our roo was directly above the breakfast room (where the giraffes poke their heads in), so we could even feed them from our balcony.
The staff were absolutely excellent! The food was incredible. As in, every single morsel was absolutely delicious. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are each unique and gorgeously furnished.

Truly - this was such a great experience and I would wish everyone could have such an amazing stay - including breakfasting with the giraffe family.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Daisy" - right above the breakfast room. Definitely recommend it. 2 queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed one night - wish it was longer.

Lived up to all expectations and breakfast was great, the giraffe really do come right up to the windows and join you for breakfast

Lovely room and food, 5 star service

Cannot wait to return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After reading all the reviews I could find about Giraffe Manor, I was expecting a lot and I was not disappointed! My suggestion would be to arrive at 11.00am when check in starts and don't make any other plans for the day! We stayed at the Manor all day and just enjoyed what it had to offer. We spent time at the Visitors Centre (which is free if you are staying at the Manor), enjoyed the delicious 3 course lunch on the terrace, relaxed in the lounge and used the free internet, watched the giraffes and warthogs outside and had a drink or two from the open bar.

We were greeted upon arrival and immediately taken to our room. We were lucky enough to be staying when there was only one other couple there and they were staying in the Karen Blixen room, which isn't even in the main Manor.

We were in Betty's room and after looking at all the other rooms in the Manor, this one is by far the best! The room is enormous and quite luxurious, with a great bathroom. It has it's own balcony and is at the front of the house where the giraffes come to be fed. We were lucky enough to have Lynn (the giraffe) come and visit us during the day to be fed at our window and then we went outside with one of the staff members where we fed her for about 1/2 hour while he took photos of us - it was amazing and exactly what you come here for.

The Manor itself is exceptional! The staff are so obliging and will do anything to assist you. I have a dietary requirement and they were more than willing to accommodate this request. The food was delicious and plentiful. We had laundry to be done and after placing it in the hamper the next we saw it was back in our room, clean and with a rose on top!

It was great to basically have the run of the Manor. We felt like we were alone, but when you wanted anything a staff member would always be there.

Unfortunately we had to leave very early in the morning for a flight, which was disappointing as we missed breakfast with the giraffes, but given our experience with Lynn the day before we were not unhappy. Try to ensure you can stay for the full time to enjoy the whole experience.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone going to Nairobi. If you love giraffes, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for Betty's room when booking - it's by far the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service in a wonderful place. Harmony with African nature and service are making this place just facinating. One of the best places I have ever visited traveling a lot. Wish to all staff and general manager all the best and good luck. Please keep this wonder. Thank you all for the great job you are doing. Thanks to all of you for sure will be back with my family and friends in nearest future! Thank you very much for everything. I will never forget my anniversary with you. Marina.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you took the giraffes away from this place, you really wouldn't be left with much. The accommodation is fine, nothing wrong with it at all, but hardly noteworthy. The food is stodgy English fare that countries with a colonial background would be well served to move on from.

But it's all about the giraffes, and let's face it - that's why you're thinking of coming here. And they deliver in spades. You'll pat their noses. You'll feed them. You'll share your breakfast with them. You'll kiss them, and you'll even get tongue if you want it. It's giraffes aplenty, and you can't get that just anywhere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Giraffe Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.