We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise all night!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Save
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Noise all night!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I paid US$ 1000/night to be awake all night! An intermitent noise each 30 sec from some equipment as a router did not allow us to sleep. Terrible!
Giraffes are nice... But it dis not pay off!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    24
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
148
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had seen the Giraffe Manor on the travel channel, and in Conde Nast and in Travel & Leisure -- and I even set up my entire safari experience to start with the manor because of those reviews. This was by far - the most incredible place I have ever stayed. We arrived late at night in Nairobi, tired from our 20+ hr travels to get here (from Boston). When we pulled into the driveway -- Lynn, the Momma giraffe, was in the driveway and once we got to the lodge, and grabbed dinner - there she was again, poking her head in the window, looking for handouts. It was such an amazing experience.
Our roo was directly above the breakfast room (where the giraffes poke their heads in), so we could even feed them from our balcony.
The staff were absolutely excellent! The food was incredible. As in, every single morsel was absolutely delicious. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are each unique and gorgeously furnished.

Truly - this was such a great experience and I would wish everyone could have such an amazing stay - including breakfasting with the giraffe family.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Daisy" - right above the breakfast room. Definitely recommend it. 2 queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed one night - wish it was longer.

Lived up to all expectations and breakfast was great, the giraffe really do come right up to the windows and join you for breakfast

Lovely room and food, 5 star service

Cannot wait to return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After reading all the reviews I could find about Giraffe Manor, I was expecting a lot and I was not disappointed! My suggestion would be to arrive at 11.00am when check in starts and don't make any other plans for the day! We stayed at the Manor all day and just enjoyed what it had to offer. We spent time at the Visitors Centre (which is free if you are staying at the Manor), enjoyed the delicious 3 course lunch on the terrace, relaxed in the lounge and used the free internet, watched the giraffes and warthogs outside and had a drink or two from the open bar.

We were greeted upon arrival and immediately taken to our room. We were lucky enough to be staying when there was only one other couple there and they were staying in the Karen Blixen room, which isn't even in the main Manor.

We were in Betty's room and after looking at all the other rooms in the Manor, this one is by far the best! The room is enormous and quite luxurious, with a great bathroom. It has it's own balcony and is at the front of the house where the giraffes come to be fed. We were lucky enough to have Lynn (the giraffe) come and visit us during the day to be fed at our window and then we went outside with one of the staff members where we fed her for about 1/2 hour while he took photos of us - it was amazing and exactly what you come here for.

The Manor itself is exceptional! The staff are so obliging and will do anything to assist you. I have a dietary requirement and they were more than willing to accommodate this request. The food was delicious and plentiful. We had laundry to be done and after placing it in the hamper the next we saw it was back in our room, clean and with a rose on top!

It was great to basically have the run of the Manor. We felt like we were alone, but when you wanted anything a staff member would always be there.

Unfortunately we had to leave very early in the morning for a flight, which was disappointing as we missed breakfast with the giraffes, but given our experience with Lynn the day before we were not unhappy. Try to ensure you can stay for the full time to enjoy the whole experience.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone going to Nairobi. If you love giraffes, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for Betty's room when booking - it's by far the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service in a wonderful place. Harmony with African nature and service are making this place just facinating. One of the best places I have ever visited traveling a lot. Wish to all staff and general manager all the best and good luck. Please keep this wonder. Thank you all for the great job you are doing. Thanks to all of you for sure will be back with my family and friends in nearest future! Thank you very much for everything. I will never forget my anniversary with you. Marina.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you took the giraffes away from this place, you really wouldn't be left with much. The accommodation is fine, nothing wrong with it at all, but hardly noteworthy. The food is stodgy English fare that countries with a colonial background would be well served to move on from.

But it's all about the giraffes, and let's face it - that's why you're thinking of coming here. And they deliver in spades. You'll pat their noses. You'll feed them. You'll share your breakfast with them. You'll kiss them, and you'll even get tongue if you want it. It's giraffes aplenty, and you can't get that just anywhere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Top Contributor
601 reviews 601 reviews
327 hotel reviews
Reviews in 298 cities Reviews in 298 cities
925 helpful votes 925 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Shocking service with trying to book a room via Africa Point. (one of the vendors on the Giraffe Manor’s website as booking agents.) I got a very quick response to book a room but when I then asked at what time breakfast with the giraffes was and how long it would take to get from the Giraffe Manor to the airport to catch a flight, I was ignored and despite numerous e-mails never received the courtesy of a response. When you pay more than $600 a night this shouldn’t happen.

I then tried the Safari Collection whose service was excellent. It was worth persevering as the experience is not to be missed. It’s 45 minutes from the airport to the Giraffe Manor. The rate includes airport transfers plus a full day of local tours, three meals plus wines.

To get the most of your stay I advise arriving at the Giraffe Manor between 10 AM (when check-in starts) and 10:30 AM. At 10:30 AM head to the Sheldrick Orphaned Elephant Centre for the show that begins at 11:00. It lasts an hour and if you’ve been up close to elephants on safari you may be a bit disappointed because it is a bit commercial with tourists lined up to view the baby elephants being given milk the smallest ones with blankets to keep them warm. You will get some good shots but many will be with other people in them. They do a good job of explaining each elephants history and how they care for them. (If you miss the 11:00 viewing, you’ll need to pay $50 to adopt an elephant (for two people) and can visit at 4 PM to see the elephants being put to bed for the night. But you’ll then miss the action back at the Giraffe Manor—see below.)

Head back to the Giraffe Manor for a delicious lunch of organic food on the terrace—vegetarians are well catered for. Then head over to the Karen Blixen Museum and upon returning to the Giraffe Manor make your way across to the Giraffe Center. Staying at the Giraffe Center gets you free entry—though you need to tip the guide who shows you around. Skip the nature walk as it’s pretty boring. You’ll get plenty of giraffe action at the Giraffe Manor so the main interest in the center is to understand the different types of giraffe. They had told me that the giraffes usually make their way over to the manor once the center closes at 5 PM. But the day I was there they went from the manor to the center. All the other guests were out at the Sheldrick Elephant Center so between 4-5 PM I had the house to myself with giraffes poking their head in the entrance to be fed treats (pellets of minerals and grass). The caretakers take great pictures of you and will teach you how to be kissed by a wild giraffe! (Only some giraffes tolerate this.) Eddy in particular is to be commended in this regard.

Drinks are served next to a fireplace from 7 PM and dinner served at 7:45 PM in a traditional dining room. After dinner drinks or tea and coffee are served around the fireplace or outside.

The highlight of the stay is undoubtedly breakfast. It’s served from 7 AM, but be ready by 6:30 AM to ensure you get the best seats next to the window for viewing the giraffes and first dibs on photo opportunities. Don’t worry if you oversleep though as the staff will ensure everyone gets to interact with the giraffes and gets good photos. By 8:30 AM the giraffes will have wandered over to the Giraffe Center. You get another hour and a half to take in the lovely garden and serene atmosphere of this place and savour your experience.

I was upgraded from a standard room to Bette’s suite and it is worth getting that room as it is much more luxurious and boasts its own terrace from which you can feed the taller giraffes as well as an art deco bathroom and a fireplace. There is one other suite and family rooms but the other rooms are much smaller. They have WIFI but the signal was weak and kept cutting in and out. They offer spa treatments. There is also gift shop selling postcards of the manor and more high end souvenirs compared to the Giraffe Center gift shop which has more choice but sells cheaper merchandise.

Truly a magical place with exceptional staff. I plan to be back every once in a while to recharge my batteries.

Room Tip: Spring for Bette
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.