We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Concord, MA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything about Giraffe Manor is top-notch, which we discovered the moment we arrived: it was 10:15 at night, at the end of an 8-hour flight from London, which came after a 6-hour flight from the United States. They provided us dinner! First in importance here is feeding the giraffes their kibble from the breakfast room each morning, undoubtedly a unique experience and perfectly charming. The wonderful staff even carefully framed the pictures they took of us doing this. Our room was huge and comfortable, and the bathroom equally so. We never sat down anywhere for more than a few moments before a staff member would inquire if he or she could get something for us. Food was plentiful and delicious, and we met interesting people around the large dinner table and during drinks. And everything was covered in the initial cost of the room, including a driver to take us around. That was perhaps what we most appreciated. The only glitch was that the Internet was not working well, and even when it was fixed, it wasn't very good. That aside, I would say that this is one of the most memorable places we have ever stayed at. Anyone who is planning to be near Nairobi should consider it (it's not cheap).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    20
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
125
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It may seem expensive to stay here but it is worth every penny we have travelled widely and this is the best place I have ever stayed. The rooms, the food and of course the Giraffes which is why you want to go in the first place. Just book it but well in advance cos its very popular!! oh and not to forget the staff are wonderful Nothing is too much trouble u get soo pampered you want to move in!!

Room Tip: stayed in Lyns room and she came to the window in the morning amazing loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

When I think of Africa, I think of the movies I have seen set in days gone by. This place bridges the gap between the old and new. Small rooms with antiques and netting around the beds, but modern plumbing. Giraffes that poke their heads in to say hello at breakfast, with so ugly their cute warthogs. Communal dinners with your fellow travelers over wonderful food. You will not want the time machine to take you back to the regular business hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had wanted to stay at the Giraffe Manor for years. We arranged the beginning of our Tazanian safari around the availability at this place, and it was worth it! The experience is phenomenal in every possible way. We were greeted by a warm staff as we arrived late, exhausted and hungry. They took care of all of our belongings while they sat us down for a romantic and delicous three-course dinner. We mentioned it was our anniversary, and when we returned to our room, they had sprinkled rose petals all over and drawn a hot bubble bath. The special touches were really thoughtful.

The experience with the giraffes is almost beyond description. You wake up in an elegant British stately home, and there is a beautiful and friendly wild animal outside your window, eager to interact with you. We spent several hours feeding and petting the giraffes, and loved every minute of it.

I cannot overstate how happy we were that we stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This place is truly magical, the staff were fantastic, the quality of the food was second to none and the accommodation was superb (if your booking and I would highly recommend that you do, see if you can get a room at the front of the manor). The giraffes are what really made the stay worthwhile, the opportunity to feed them (mornings and some times in the evenings) is not to be missed and just the chance to sit and watch them roam around the grounds. Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone, can't fault it and already planning the next stay.

Room Tip: See if the rooms at the front of the manor are available....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here one night, after returning from 7 days in Masai Mara. Coming from the bush to this five star luxury was pure indulgence, and such a wonderful return to "civilization."

You are greeted with fantastic home made lemonade spritzers. We were then shown around the home (yes, this is a true manor house, not a hotel) and all the amenities were nicely explained. We were even offered a choice of rooms, as there was a suite available for a complimentary upgrade! We declined, as we still preferred the second floor view of the standard room to the much larger suite that had less of a view.

After getting settled in, we walked down to the courtyard seating area and were treated to an absolutely lovely and relaxing lunch. Very high quality food, very high quality service. Everything done the way you would expect at a 5 star. The environment in the courtyard is just super.

After lunch we walked down to the giraffe visitor center -- literally a 3 minute walk across the lawn. After learning everything we never knew about the lives of giraffes, we did some shopping at the vistor center's excellent gift shop, and came back to the Manor.

That's when we were greeted with.... home made chocolate chip cookies, straight out of the oven! Brilliant! That with a coffee and tea brought right to our room. What a nice welcome back!

That afternoon we sat outside in the back yard, playing with the manager's dog. He's a cheeky fellow and loves to fetch. It was highly entertaining, as he'd often chase the wandering warthogs while retrieving the ball. We really loved being able to play with the dog, while sitting outside in the yard and reading, reviewing our safari photos, etc. You really feel like you're staying at a private home, versus at a hotel or B&B. Around sunset, one of the giraffes made his way up to the backyard area, and we spent about an hour feeding and photographing her.

After enjoying the cocktails and hors d'oeuvre in the fireplace room, we retreated to our room, where we were served a private, four course dinner. The perfect cap to the perfect day at Giraffe Manor.

Next morning we got downstairs early, and were treated to up close and personal time with about 5 giraffes who joined for breakfast. We fed them through the windows in the breakfast room. Highly entertaining. Once again, the food was excellent. Five star food indeed.

If you're like me, you're looking at the price of this place and asking yourself, "How in the world could it be worth that much money?" After staying here, I can tell you, it's worth it. But only if you love animals and giraffes in particular. If you don't love animals, you may not find the same magic at Giraffe Manor that we, and so many others, have found during our stay. But even if you remove the giraffes from the equation, at the very least, this place is a highly enjoyable, well-run, five-star boutique B&B. Now you add in the giraffes, and it's a magical place that offers experiences like no other.

Well done Giraffe Manor! We can't wait to visit again, and have already recommended you to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were thrilled to start out our honeymoon at the Giraffee Manor. Our travel agent (EJAfrica.com) knew to book us such that we would have a full 24 hours at the manor. We started our stay with an amazing patio lunch; the food is high end and comprable to michelin star dining. We enjoyed a private visit to the Giraffe Center where we met Kelly and Ibrahim (mother and son giraffes), and went on a short hike. En route to the private visit to play with our adopted elephant at the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, we stopped at the bead center and flip flop recycling facility. I was brought to tears by the idea that you can create employment by cleaning up old flip flops from beaches and slums then transform them into cute animals and housewares and sell them! Our driver, George, kept us on time to play with the elephants and ensured that we returned in time to take photos with giraffes before dinner. We were leaving relatively early in the morning so the staff at the manor ensured we still had the proper breakfast experience and got to work early to call over the giraffes. In short, there is nothing like this experience. It's an absolute must! We had the honeymoon room (Betty's), which was amazing, but I am happy to have just been at the manor and the awesome room is just a small part of the overall package.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi
Giraffe Manor Hotel
Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giraffe Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list