We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 133 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

What can I say, an amazing hotel. The rooms although slightly small are excellent. Everything is very clean and the customer service is outstanding. If you are looking for a hotel in Nairobi, chose this one as you will not go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    294
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
136
275
98
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 1 very short night at the Fairview Christmas Eve 2010. We were staying overnight on our way to Rwanda, and didn't check in until almost Midnight, and left around 8 am. Therefore I'm not sure how helpful my review may be, but had some thoughts to pass along.

Nairobi is a busy, bustling city, and while we didn't have time to venture around it all, the Fairview definitely deserves its moniker as "an oasis" in the city. The grounds are lovely, the gardens full of beautiful flowers and plants, and the they do a great job to make you think you're nowhere near the 3rd largest city in Africa.

Our check-in was quick and easy. Our room wasn't huge, but wasn't small either. The bed was hard, but I like my mattresses on the hard side. There was satellite TV available, but we didn't have much time to watch.

In the morning we took advantage of the hotel's breakfast, and that was a surprise. The buffet was very big, with tons of choices, from omelets made to order, to eggs, pancakes, waffles, meats, fruits, pastries, etc. There was also a great juice bar, and wonderful Kenyan coffee. It was a good way to start Christmas morning.

The pool area looked very welcoming, and with several restaurants at the hotel, it does seem like one could stay for a few days and not be too bored. It's the only hotel I've stayed at in Nairobi, so I can't compare it to anything else, but if I ever need a place to stay over while flying through Kenya, I think I'll stay at the Fairview again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

After 24 hours of travel I was ready to relax before beginning my safari. I was met at the airport by one of many taxi drivers that is contracted by the Fairview Hotel. His name is Jimmy Gathua and I highly recommend that you ask that he be your driver to the hotel. He is polite, friendly and acts as a tourguide as you ride through the streets of Nairobi to the Fairview.
The Fairview is in a quiet location and after staying in another hotel in the midst of Nairobi traffic I realized the taxi fare to the shopping areas is well worth the cost of peace and quiet as one recovers from jet lag.
The rooms are simple but contain all the ammenities necessary for comfort. The public areas are beautiful and serene. Their restaurants are varied and reasonably priced with good food. Their breakfast buffet is fantastic and as good as many four star hotels I have stayed in when in Spain and Portugal.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Spent 3 nights before and one night after a safari at the Fairview and found it the perfect place to relax. Ideal location within walking distance of the centre and the list of charges for hotel taxis was also useful. We took a taxi to the museum and the driver came back for us as arranged.
Breakfast was excellent with great choice on offer and we ate at the pool restaurant and found it good value. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the gardens are beautiful- it is hard to believe that you are so close to the traffic.
Our room was clean and comfortable and the free wifi was a bonus. If I am lucky enough to go back to Nairobi I will definitely stay at the Fairview- it lived up to its reputation as number 1 hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Finally...after coming from a wonderfult trip organized by polskenecotours@gmail.com we have adjusted to our cold weather and going back to work after a long vacation in Kenya we have found time to write reviews on all the hotels/ lodges we stayed in. we stayed at the Fairview hotel for two nights i.e the first and last night of our 10day trip. my wife was so pleased with the green environment that she wanted to spend another few days in the hotel, it is a quiet place to relieve the jet lag, great food and clean rooms, the staff are also very friendly. good place to start and end safari.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night as our flight back to Europe stopped over in Nairobi for 24 hours. This hotel is an oasis in Nairobi. It is in a nice setting and has a pool which is nice to relax by with an iced coffee or cocktail! The restaurant by the pool is also excellent- we had a great dinner here. The breakfast was also excellent with a huge number of options to choose from.

We thought that the service was good- although at times a little slow in the restaurant, however in general staff were professional. We received a free upgrade to a business suite which was nice. This hotel has most facilities- including a gym, free wifi and a selection of restaurants to choose from. At this price we thought it was excellent value compared to some of the other places we stayed at in the area.

If you have a short amount of time to visit Nairobi this is a great base to explore from.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

This hotel is a quiet oasis, situated pretty much in downtown Nairobi. While the room was perhaps a bit small, everything else was just great: the service, the pool area, the food/ coffee, the gym, Internet connectivity (free!) ... and all this at a very attractive price. Highly recommended! I am not surprised it is rated the no 1 hotel in Nairobi. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 133 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
7.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.