We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

My wife and I spent several nights at the hotel while visiting family in Kenya. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and afforded us every "western" comfort while in Kenya. The food was delicious and the grounds were beautiful. All in all, it's a wonderful stay and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    211
    57
    17
    9
See reviews for
111
233
89
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Trip details: stayed one night after 6 day safari and Mombasa beach, two adults and a child of 10 y.o.
The only hotel among the tripadvisor top ranked that could accommodate three person family in one room. It is positioned as a non-smoking hotel however a smoker can always find a room in a special smoking area at one of the restaurants.

We liked:
- Quiet atmosphere
- Clean and comfortable rooms
- Location which is rather centric

We did not like:
- Service in general which is unhurried and slow especially at the restaurant
- The mess with the hotel taxi service / drivers: we booked the transfer to the hotel from the airport together with the room reservation and the driver assured us that the day after he himself would drive us from the hotel to the airport. The following morning he never appeared. Since it was 4.30 a.m. that we had to leave the hotel it was not easy for the reception guy to organize another transport. Partially it was our mistake, we discussed it with the driver not informing the reception about the early morning transfer but I was absolutely sure that if we agreed with the hotel driver no problems would occur. The receptionist tried to contact our driver but it appeared that the driver who had brought us to the hotel from the airport the previous day (and was booked via the hotel) was not listed as an official hotel driver which seems absolutely illogical since he met us at the airport with the indication of our names on the hotel plate. Strange situation and not clear at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for your feedback.

I am very sorry to learn of your experience with our taxi service. I can assure you changes will be made to ensure this will not re-occur. We look forward to welcoming you back one day so you can see what changes have been implemented.

Regards,
Daniel
director@fairviewkenya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night to rest after 20 hrs of traveling before our safari. It is a beautiful place and has great food and great service. They have a nice little shop for African souveniers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Clean and comfortable and a reasonable place to stop for 1 night, however I am sure there are much better places in Nairobi. The food is OK, but seems to come out in stages instead of all being served at the same time. We had included breakfast in our rate and as we were departing early had asked if it would be possible to have some coffee and bread. We were told that breakfast didn’t start till 7am so we couldn’t have anything. Surely being a city centre hotel they are used to guests departing early? Not very accommodating, I will try another hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We recently stayed at the Fairview Hotel for 2 nights before heading off on safari. We booked 2 rooms to accommodate my husband and I and our 2 children. The Fairview Hotel is situated in a nice, safe area on the outskirts of the CBD. It is surrounded by beautiful gardens. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our rooms were clean and a good size. The hotel has a number of restaurants all beautifully situated in the courtyard, gardens or around the pool. In the evening a piano player entertains in the main lounge. Meals are very reasonably priced and of good quality. Some may take some time to get used to the chorus of bullfrogs outside the room at night. I would recommend the Fairview Hotel as a great place to stay for anyone visiting Nairobi for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The hotel is located just outside main city center Nairobi in an area called Upperhill. Lots of government departments and embassies are around, the area is very safe (however don´t leave at night). The hotel is owned and operated by a family and is to be considered 4/5 star. The rooms do meet international standard and lots of business travelers share with western tourists. The hotel has a very nice pool area and 4 restaurants from casual to high class. You can get economy, business, first class and suite rooms located in 5 buildings on the compound. We stayed there two nights before flying out of Nairobi. it is ideally located next to the main road to downtown and 30 min from airport. Even without navigation or local help you´ll find your way. the quality of service and food is excellent, you can easily stay there for one of two days without leaving the hotel, relax at the pool and enjoy the quiet and cosy atmosphere. There is no distinction between resident rate and tourist rate (which is to our experience unusual for kenya). Parking is available at no extra cost. When you are looking for an hidden gem within a major city this is the place to go.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

The Fairview is a beautiful unexpected hotel. It is relatively near the Nairobi city center in a quiet residential area close to a convent school. The proximity to the Israeli embassy makes for a limited traffic area, armed guards at times, and cameras on at all times is initially a bit daunting, but the Fairview is so charming behind the gates that even the obvious presence of world strife did not diminish the experience of being at the hotel.

Fairview staff were helpful in finding good rates on taxi service when I ventured out to the Karen suburb to the Kazuri bead factory and the Karen Blixen estate. The staff were overall professional, friendly, and helpful.

The breakfast--inclusive in the cost of our rooms--was sumptuous and freshly prepared--omelet bar, fresh-squeezed tropical juices, and English/European breakfast standards as well as fabulous Kenyan tea and coffee.

The gardens are the quiet stars of the Fairview. A stroll around the property reveals series of tranquil views around every corner with familiar and unusual plantings impeccabily maintained.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi
Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.