We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, peaceful safe surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, peaceful safe surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Hotel has always felt like a safe haven .Without exception friendly helpful staff throughout the hotel. Good food, but having been several times over the last 5 years and tried all the choices the menu could have some new additions!! Excellent swimming pool, and a good place to spend the last day. Brilliant safe knowledgeable drivers, who can take you to a variety of places far better than tour operators

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    241
    63
    18
    9
See reviews for
124
245
93
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

This hotel was the final place we stayed after a month in Kenya. It has very lovely gardens, excellent staff, comfortable rooms (to a high standard) and the food was some of the best we had in Kenya. The first room we were allocated (room 1) had an intermittent loud noise coming from the wall between the room and the bathroom. This was caused by a plumbing system they have, so avoid this room. When we asked to be moved as we had an early start and needed a good night sleep, the staff happily helped us move to another room. We had an evening meal at the hotel, but were luck to get a table, so make sure you pre book a table if you are staying and want to eat at the hotel. Breakfast was good with a buffet style but also had items cooked to order.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Thanks for your feedback and compliments.

We apologize over the intermittent noise from the air extractor in our basement kitchen. The good news is that room 1 has just been reopened after extensive renovations for the last two months and is now our newest addition to our first class room offering! The changes have also worked to muffle the noise.

Daniel
director@fairviewkenya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

This hotel was a delight to stay in.

The standard room is small and simple but has everything you could want: consistent and plentiful hot water, impenetrable screens on the windows, the fastest wifi I've seen in Africa, complimentary water, and lots of little touches.

Service was incredible- you can tell that the staff are handpicked for their pleasant nature and willingness to help. They are friendly and helpful without being obsequious.

With the selection of five different restaurants, food was varied and always high quality. The breakfast buffet had fantastic pastries. The gym facilities are new and the pool is lovely.

Downtown Nairobi is walkable from the hotel but you'd never know by the serenity of the expansive grounds. If you stay here for business, schedule an extra day just to relax.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at the Fairview Hotel on 2 separate occasions in Nov10 (before and after our safari).

Firstly the good points, we stayed in an executive room, which was large and clean. The grounds are pleasant and the safety and security is very good. We ate in the Pango Brasserie (see separate review) and this was also very good.

The main issue we had with the hotel was the service. The desk staff were surly and not as helpful as we would have expected (we stayed at 6 hotels on our trip in Kenya and Fairview was the exception). There was no concierge and the reception staff were unwilling to check the status of our safari trip or make restaurant bookings (maybe this is normal?). The pool was closed for cleaning from 2-4pm which seemed a strange time.

We also ate at the pool bar - my wife ordered a sandwich with fries, and when delivered asked whether she could have some mayonnaise. The restaurant was busy with business meetings however I think bringing it 15 mins later when we had finished eating (after a couple of reminders) is unacceptable.

Overall it almost seemed as if the hotel were so concerned with business customers they saw tourists with there backpacks as an inconvenience and based on the reviews and the expectations we had we were disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Thanks for your feedback.

The points you have raised regarding service have been noted. We should have definitely been more helpful with regard to the restaurant bookings and safari.

With regard to the pool issue: actually the pool was not closed – we were simply doing some cleaning around the pool area. We will improve this signage.

The mayonnaise issue at our pool restaurant has been addressed – in fact the waiter has since been let go.

Give us another try one day- you must have caught us on a bad day!

Thank you very much again for taking the time to give us feedback.

Daniel
director@fairviewkenya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

We went on a 16 day camping safari through Kenya and Tanzania and wanted to stay somewhere luxurious before we set off so choose the Fairview after looking on Trip Advisor and reading some other reviews. The hotel didn't disappoint at all - it is stunning and definite value for money. Nairobi is a busy city but in the Fairview grounds you feel a million miles away from it all. The grounds are lovely and very well looked after and the hotel itself is so full of character - like a colonial homestead. The room we had was huge!

There are quite a few restaurants in the hotel complex and we ate at most of them and thoroughly enjoyed each meal - there was so much to try.......we wanted to stay for longer! Our best meal was in the Pango Gourmet Restaurant though - OMG amazing food and service. I was even given a 'Lady' menu - a menu with no prices, great! The food was amazing and we went for a full 3 course with wine. It actually cost no more than a standard run of the mill meal would in the UK. I would highy recommend that restaurant.

To summarize we would highly recommend this hotel and definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Located in the centre of a chaotic city, the Fairview is truly like a colonial country homestead - all dark wood and leather and superb service. We stayed 2 nights on arrival to Nairobi and another night on way home and loved it. The gardens are lovely, the rooms nice with king sized bed, good free internet connection, and so quiet despite the location.

We ate at all of the restaurants and the service and food at them all was great and very reasonable prices, even the Pango Gourmet Restaurant, which is known as one of the best places to eat in Nairobi and which had the most delicious food and amazing service we have experienced in a long time (and this says a lot as all of the mealswe had in Kenya and Tanzania were amazing).

Our room for first 2 nights was upstairs. On way back we had a downstairs room near Garden Cafe which was a wee bit noisy though that didn't affect our sleep. One suggestion though - we had a mosquito in our room and there was no mossie net, no spray provided and also no top sheet on bed (and too hot to have duvet).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Travelled from Dubai to Nairobi on 12-11-10 and stayed overnight at Fairview en route to Masai Mara . E mail enquiries for reservation went un answered , a follow up telephone conversation too did not help,eventually got a room reserved through Nairobi based office of the lodge where we had planned to stay in Mara. On the day of check in I was informed that the family room that I had reserved almost a month in advance was still not available and was asked to check into two smaller rooms instead,however on my insistence I was given a family room few hours later.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Thank you for your feedback.

I personally checked your email to our Reservations Department dated 13th October and the email did not contain any details. However, your disappointment with our reservations department is understandable as we should have sought clarification immediately.

On the more substantive issue you raised, I went through each communication of the reservation process and I am disappointed that we were unable to honor our confirmation of a Family Room. I have therefore refunded your credit card for 20% of the room charge as we do not believe in charging full price for less than full service!

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Daniel
director@fairviewkenya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.