We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed here three different times over three weeks in late Sept., early Oct. This is an excellent place to stay. We had business class rooms each time at a cost of about US$180 I think. My wife had a work assignment in Nairobi and her contacts recommended the Fairview. Later in the trip, before and after safari, we had no desire to stay any place else. An interesting point, the rooms are not air conditioned because it is not needed.

Our rooms were large and comfortable. All beds were firm and comfortable, not hard. The hotel is beautiful. A large old hotel that is completely modern. Grounds like beautiful gardens, beautiful pool area. There are 5 restaurants. We used 3 of them repeatedly, all of the food ranged between very good to excellent. The breakfast buffet was huge and excellent.

We loved the location, very quiet and peaceful. Repeated airport pickups arranged by the hotel were reasonably priced and flawless.

Despite all of the superlatives above, the absolute best thing about this hotel for us was the people. Every waiter, every bellhop, every reception person was excellent. They remembered us each time we returned and warmly welcomed us.

We think this is an absolutely grand place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    243
    64
    18
    9
See reviews for
124
248
93
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

The Fairview Hotel is like a little oasis in Nairobi - lovely gardens and pool that take you away from the traffic and chaos of the city. Having seen the other city hotels, I was so grateful that I chose this one! The rooms themselves aren't very exciting and the beds were the hardest I've ever slept on, but the whole experience is very restful in a city that isn't.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We have stayed at the Fairview many times over the past two years. We have lived in Western Kenya on and off and whenever we are in Nairobi we can't wait to stay here! The staff make the experience wonderful, the ground and pool are well maintained and the food is DELICIOUS! Oh yeah and the rooms are amazing for the value. You would be silly to pay double or triple anywhere else. We have stayed at some of the other "high-end" hotels in Nairobi, and non of them compare! Also the sushi is incredible, we have been to the fish markets in Tokyo Japan, and the fairviews sushi is equally as good. Thanks and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

we have just had our second stay at the Fairview and given some negative commenst by others feel compelled to write a second review. We found the hotel excellent - rooms are not of your american chain standard but are very comfortable and clean and the whole place has a great colonnial atmosphere. There is free wi-fi in the rooms and a good choice on the TV.

We found breakfast to be excellent with a huge choice and high quality. We had dinner at the Panga restaurant - which was expensive by African rates but the food was truely superb. We have experienced the odd issue at reception where they try and charge you for costs already covered by the travle agent but these were quickly dealt with. The grounds are lovely and peaceful and the transfer time from the airport fine given Nairobi traffic.

If you want a slick american style hotel don't stay here - if you want colonnial country lodge style in the middle of a ciy with beautiful grounds then Fairrview fits the bill.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

My daughter was somewhat apprehensive of Africa and Nairobi in particular. Making the Fairview anyone’s introduction to Nairobi is a sure way to set aside these types of apprehensions. From the minute you pull into the parking lot, you know you are in a very safe environment. We stayed the night before and night after safari. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the poolside menu was extensive for a pool menu. Every hotel personnel we encountered was exceptionally pleasant and helpful. We left the majority of our luggage after our second night as we were going to experience Giraffe Manor for the night. After leaving Giraffe Manor we returned to Fairview and “hung out” poolside for the afternoon, enjoying the food, ambiance, service, etc. until our evening flight. I would not give a second thought to staying any other place than the Fairview.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

I have been lucky enough to stay is some of the best hotels in the World and this hotel is definitely unusual for a city hotel.

Lovely peaceful grounds, several restaurants, Pago's was excellent if quiet. Very secure. Nice change from a chain hotel.

Only negative comments would be that breakfast is a little over priced for Nairobi and especially when they want to charge you for a water, this is the first time in any hotel I have stayed in that has a buffet breakfast, very odd and quite annoying.

Other more minor point is that the business class rooms need renovation as they are vastly different to the similar prices first class rooms which seems unfair.

Would I stay there again, definitly but maybe skip breakfast and hope they have renovated the business rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2009
Our breakfast charge is very competitive in comparison to other Nairobi hotels and the buffet breakfast is not unusual in Nairobi.

Our room upgrading is a continuous process and the majority of our rooms including business class rooms are newly renovated. You must have stayed in one of the few business class rooms that are slated for renovations this coming November. On your next visit, please ask for our newly renovated rooms.

First class room rates and business class room rates are not similar which is the same case with the amenities provided in the two room categories.

Thank you for your feedback and compliments.

Daniel
director@fairviewkenya.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

I stayed here for just a night during a layover in Nairobi before heading north to Lewa Wildlife Conservancy for work. Compared to other places I've stayed in Nairobi, the Fairview is an oasis in an urban center that can be loud, crowded and intimidating. The grounds are lovely and the rooms spacious and comfortable. The freelance driver they tapped to pick us up at the airport did try to shake us down, claiming that since there were two of us, we should pay him double the fare--but the hotel staff quickly settled that scam for us after we got to the hotel. When I can stay in Nairobi longer for holiday, this is the hotel I will choose.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.