We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredible Oasis - The Fairview Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
“An Incredible Oasis - The Fairview Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

My colleague and I went to Nairobi for a business meeting. We could have stayed downtown in a Hilton or other large chain hotel but chose to stay at the Fairview Hotel. It was more than we expected. Incredible gardens surround the inside perimeter of the hotel and you are always met by friendly staff. Both my colleague and I found the food to be excellent, whether is was just ordering appetizers or a full couse meal. It was easy to relax in one of serveral areas, enjoy a beer or fine wine and socialize with others staying at the hotel. As a person who travels every week to some part of the world, I found the Fairview to rank at the top of hotels that I have stayed in. If you choose this hotel, you won't go wrong for cost, comfort and friendliness of staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    261
    65
    20
    9
See reviews for
128
260
95
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

An oasis in the heart of the city. The staff are friebndly an can not do enough to help you..
The rooms are spacoius and clean, we even had an iron and board in the room.
An excllent choice fo dining from grill to poolside bar, food and presentation were excellent.
We would advise to use the |Hotel Taxi service, we hired a car and the driving in Nairobi was a nightmare.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

This was an excellnet hotel to stay in. I stayed in one of the self contained apartments. I actually ate in the restaurant though. Seemed very secure, and was certainly clean and comfortable. Evening meals were excellent quality. Would happily stay here another time. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Good value for money.

Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

My first stay at Fairview. I'd stayed elsewhere on previous trips to Nairobi.
I loved everything about the hotel: the layout, the facilties, the staff, the location, the food. Despite being close to the city centre, it's very peaceful. It's a 15 minute walk to Uhuru Park and the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

The best hotel you can stay in while in Nairobi. It's absolutely great value for your money. Clean rooms, very quite, lovely gardens with big pool, friendly staff. There is nothing else you could wish or ask for. While sitting at the pool bar or in the lush gardens you'll forget your'e actually in the middle of Nairobi ! The whole atmosphere is lovely. And only a few minutes away from down town. Only hotel I know that looks better in reality than on it's website !!! I know other hotels in Nairobi and I can definitely say I won't stay anywhere else anymore!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

We just spent a relaxing and lovely seven nights at the Nairobi Fairview hotel. It was very comfortable, the staff were wonderful especially towards our lively and energetic toddler, and we all enjoyed the beautiful gardens, flowers, water feature and swimming pool. Our son kept busy every morning helping the gardners refill the numerous bird feeders. which attract a variety of colorful birds.
The hotel front desk staff helped us find drivers to take us on daily outings including a wonderful daybreak trip to the Nairobi National Park--the David Seldrick elephant orphanage, the Giraffe Sanctuary and so on.
I spent quite a while comparing notes with friends on other hotels in Nairobi and am convinced that the Fairview is a terrific "deal", as it offers a lot more than many hotels which cost $200+ a night (which are located downtown with the smog, polllution, noise and no gardens, and not terribly safe to walk the neighborhood after dark!!)
So I would heartily recommend the Fairview to anyone who is in Nairobi on business or passing thru before or after safari'ing!!
Hakuna Matata!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

I recently stayed in the fairview for one night. Very reasonably priced, clean and comfortable with very friendly and efficient staff. Lovely front garden with water features and a cafef / restaurant. Sitting here, you forget you are in a capital city.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.