We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
calgary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice location in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice, once at the beginning and again at the end of our travels. There is a lot of security as the hotel is across the road from the Israeli Embassy. It is in a quiet part of the city and noise was not an issue. There are lovely gardens and a really nice breakfast buffet. They organize a shuttle to the airport several times each day and it was an easy drive to get back and forth to the airport.
My friend had an injury and had difficulty walking. Unfortunately the hotel has stairs and no elevators. They gave us a room on the first floor, but it was in the annex building and it was a long walk. She ordered room service for dinner. The food was cold, burnt, and parts of it were missing. When she inquired about this, the waiter said it was a long way to the kitchen and she didn't get what she ordered. This was unfortunate as the other staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    288
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
135
272
98
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Safety on a business trip is not negotiable and it started at the airport where the hotel referred me to KAA Airport Taxis. Fixed price lists irrespective of traffic volumes and a good driver. When arriving in the vicinity of the Fairview we were again stopped at a "friendly road block". Friendly it was but also very diligent. Many questions asked and it took a few minutes but I realised it is because of the Israeli Embassy situated almost next door to the hotel and I didn't mind because it was also for my personal safety. I am not a sissy but well informed businessman who travels to many countries in Africa.
The safety issue continued at the entrance to the hotel from the street. Once disembarked I had to go through a metal detector and my luggage was scanned. Booking in was quick and professional. Then the safety measures continued as one needs your magnetic cardkey to move into certain sections of the hotel and eventually into your room. The suites from small to regent are across the street from the back of the hotel but again movements are restricted by the use of the magnetic cardkey.
The rooms are good value and the offerings inside the rooms are totally in line with the relevant price categories while also not exorbitant. There are, however, many occasions where climbing stairs is necessary and people with health problems that handicap the ability to move around feely should definitely ask if a room is available at ground level. There are no elevators in any of the buildings.
Full room service, well trained and diligent staff throughout, and very good food in the variety of restaurants makes one feel very much at home and unless you have to have meetings outside the hotel, there is no reason to travel. Having had to fly to Kisumu I had to go to and from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. Otherwise the Fairview is a preferred place for business meetings for many business people and it is nice not to have to go to them but having them comer to you.
The garden and pool are even better than my own at home and a must for a lover of being outside as much as possible.
I have been staying over at the Fairview for quite a number of years and find it almost amazing the many of the staff members that I met during my first visit are still there today.
I can definitely recommend the Fairview to any businessman without any reservations.
Nico K

Room Tip: Rooms across the street are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I have stayed at the Fairview twice in the last 9 months and really like the quality of service there. They really aim to create a very pleasant experience for every type of traveler.

I've found nearly all the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. For example, once I was dissatisfied with a meal and didn't eat it. I had no intention of complaining about the meal - I simply sent it back and paid for it. However, when the chef noticed that I didn't eat it he immediately offered to prepare me something new (for free) or give me dessert (for free). It wasn't necessary but a very nice gesture.

I like the large size of the rooms and bathrooms, the functional design, and the overall quality of decorations, etc. in the rooms. The internet in the rooms and the common spaces is pretty good. Their gym is well equipped and maintained. Their lounge (with the fireplaces) are also well-kept and very cozy! The restaurants are fairly decent and I like that they revamped the menu for one of them in during the 9 months that I was away. The quality of the food is average, not exceptional, which is why I can't give 5 stars.

I also like that they have arranged taxi rates with a select group of drivers and posted it in their lobby. (The rates are a bit outdated now.) It's also a huge relief to have the Israeli Embassy next door, which heightens the level of security in the area.

At the end of a busy day, I was actually content to return to the hotel instead of dreading it. That's important since I usually spend at least a week there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in late July for a night before continuing on to the coast. I think the Isreali embassy is right next door so you can imagine the security in the area. The check points started down the street! I was travelling with my wife and 9 year old son and we felt welcome right from the moment we arrived.
The hotel itself has a main building with the reception on one side of a small side street and another block across the road. We had booked a first class room which was located on the other side of the street. The walk was over 5 minutes which was did cause stress even though someone helped us with our luggage. I would recommend staying in the main building where the breakfast is also served.
The breakfast had a small selection but you had the feeling you could probably get anything you wanted just by asking. As usual in Kenya, very well trained staff who are always friendly and accommodating.
It was only a night but the hotel left a good impression and I would certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, not in the block across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Suberb service, many levels of rooms, all of them comfortable and full of thoughtful details. The public spaces invite comfort and lounging: truly a welcoming and personal hotel with beautiful gardens and as much (or as little) luxury as you require.

Room Tip: There are many options, from quaint and simple colonial to modern and luxurious. All are clean and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We spend two nights here on our first visit to East africa.Warm welcome,comfortable bed and good food...cheers to the service team. The best breakfast setup...quite a wide range to choose from..beautiful gardens and furnishment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Staying at Fairview you have more a feeling of being in a botanical garden than a city hotel. You will hardly find any greener hotel anywhere. The staff is serviceminded and attentive and 5 different restaurants offers a variety of menues. The rooms were clean, but rather modest. The pool was nice, but being in the middle of the Pwani Restaurant you were not necessarily tempted to be a part of the lunch menu.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#11 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
7.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.