We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very standard - Stay in the main building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very standard - Stay in the main building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in late July for a night before continuing on to the coast. I think the Isreali embassy is right next door so you can imagine the security in the area. The check points started down the street! I was travelling with my wife and 9 year old son and we felt welcome right from the moment we arrived.
The hotel itself has a main building with the reception on one side of a small side street and another block across the road. We had booked a first class room which was located on the other side of the street. The walk was over 5 minutes which was did cause stress even though someone helped us with our luggage. I would recommend staying in the main building where the breakfast is also served.
The breakfast had a small selection but you had the feeling you could probably get anything you wanted just by asking. As usual in Kenya, very well trained staff who are always friendly and accommodating.
It was only a night but the hotel left a good impression and I would certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, not in the block across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    264
    66
    20
    9
See reviews for
128
262
96
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Suberb service, many levels of rooms, all of them comfortable and full of thoughtful details. The public spaces invite comfort and lounging: truly a welcoming and personal hotel with beautiful gardens and as much (or as little) luxury as you require.

Room Tip: There are many options, from quaint and simple colonial to modern and luxurious. All are clean and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We spend two nights here on our first visit to East africa.Warm welcome,comfortable bed and good food...cheers to the service team. The best breakfast setup...quite a wide range to choose from..beautiful gardens and furnishment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Staying at Fairview you have more a feeling of being in a botanical garden than a city hotel. You will hardly find any greener hotel anywhere. The staff is serviceminded and attentive and 5 different restaurants offers a variety of menues. The rooms were clean, but rather modest. The pool was nice, but being in the middle of the Pwani Restaurant you were not necessarily tempted to be a part of the lunch menu.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a one night stay here before travelling on to the Royal Mara Safari Lodge. The hotel was immaculate with comfortable rooms, wifi, friendly staff and excellent choice of food. The grounds were exquisite and relaxing and it also is one of the safest hotels to stay in being situated opposite a government building with 24hr armed guards. Would recommend this hotel and only sorry we didn't have more time there to enjoy the excellent facilities on offer .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many other hotels in Nairobi, however, I still come back to the fairview. It is a hotel that I feel very safe in and I would recommend that you stay in the main complex rather than the newer block across the road. The service is okay and the rooms are large and well proportioned. The buffet breakfast has a lot of choice, however, I would recommend that you eat out in the evenings.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Nairobi is chaotic, crowded and can be slightly unnerving. Fairview is like an oasis in the desert. Once you pass through the 'friendly checkpoint' and into the hotel you can relax..

The rooms are clean and decent size. The staff are attentive, friendly and try to exceed your expectation at every opportunity. The food is excellent and you have plenty of choice from the different restaurants on the grounds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.