We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green gem in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Green gem in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Staying at Fairview you have more a feeling of being in a botanical garden than a city hotel. You will hardly find any greener hotel anywhere. The staff is serviceminded and attentive and 5 different restaurants offers a variety of menues. The rooms were clean, but rather modest. The pool was nice, but being in the middle of the Pwani Restaurant you were not necessarily tempted to be a part of the lunch menu.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a one night stay here before travelling on to the Royal Mara Safari Lodge. The hotel was immaculate with comfortable rooms, wifi, friendly staff and excellent choice of food. The grounds were exquisite and relaxing and it also is one of the safest hotels to stay in being situated opposite a government building with 24hr armed guards. Would recommend this hotel and only sorry we didn't have more time there to enjoy the excellent facilities on offer .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toputd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many other hotels in Nairobi, however, I still come back to the fairview. It is a hotel that I feel very safe in and I would recommend that you stay in the main complex rather than the newer block across the road. The service is okay and the rooms are large and well proportioned. The buffet breakfast has a lot of choice, however, I would recommend that you eat out in the evenings.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Nairobi is chaotic, crowded and can be slightly unnerving. Fairview is like an oasis in the desert. Once you pass through the 'friendly checkpoint' and into the hotel you can relax..

The rooms are clean and decent size. The staff are attentive, friendly and try to exceed your expectation at every opportunity. The food is excellent and you have plenty of choice from the different restaurants on the grounds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyNameIsThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Fairview is my preferred Hotel in Nairobi if I don't have a particular suburb I need to be close to. This time wasn't as good an experience as usual.

My room was not a particularly good one, very noisy. Above the bar, beside reception, first room down a long hall. With a single overnight stay, a 4 am rise to catch an early flight out of Nairobi, I really wanted a quiet room and didn't get one. In addiiton to the guest noise outside, there was some form of machinery (air conditioner? cool room?) that run for much of the night. So, without airconditioning in my room, i had the choice between sweltering with the windows closed, or more noisy with the windows open.

Also worth noting that apparently Fairview aren't doing airport transfers anymore for pick-up. I emailed asking for one and didn't get a response. (Which is annoying when you get to the airport and spend 15 minutes wandering around trying to check if there is somebody with your name on a sign!). Checked on their website later, to discover a note saying to use the yellow taxi people.

Will I continue to use Fairview: Yes.
Will I be more particularly in requesting my room next time: Yes.

Signed:

Grumpy and Tired.

Room Tip: This was room 28. Sorry, but I wouldn't recommend this room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fallinandfilmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here recently before flying out to the Masai Mara for a safari . The hotel was beutiful , clean , excellent choice of resteraunts serving different types of cuisine and a beautiful buffet style breakfast catering for all sorts of tastes. The rooms were comfortable with air-con and wi-fi , outside is a beutiful pool area and ornamental pool and gardens . Overall a great play to stay and one I would reccomend. Anyone concerned about current troubles in Kenya have no fear about the security of this hotel it is first class and right opposite some government buildings which has 24hr armed guards

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawesy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed here last October whilst on 4 week trip through Africa. It was only a couple of weeks after the bombing but glad Enchanting Africa chose this place as it was very safe. It is opposite the Israeli Embassy and has high security gates and also scanners so felt very safe. Food was good, rooms lovely and the building itself is fantastic. Great pool although it was a little cool at this time of year for swimming in. The grounds are gorgeous with lots of greenery and little places to get away from it all. Open fire places in the lounges make these areas warm and inviting. Our room was in the main building but away from the restaurant and pool area and was lovely and big and quite. (above the business centre) Would highly recommend this hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnmaree101157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
7.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#11 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing