We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green gem in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Green gem in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Staying at Fairview you have more a feeling of being in a botanical garden than a city hotel. You will hardly find any greener hotel anywhere. The staff is serviceminded and attentive and 5 different restaurants offers a variety of menues. The rooms were clean, but rather modest. The pool was nice, but being in the middle of the Pwani Restaurant you were not necessarily tempted to be a part of the lunch menu.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    283
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
133
269
98
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a one night stay here before travelling on to the Royal Mara Safari Lodge. The hotel was immaculate with comfortable rooms, wifi, friendly staff and excellent choice of food. The grounds were exquisite and relaxing and it also is one of the safest hotels to stay in being situated opposite a government building with 24hr armed guards. Would recommend this hotel and only sorry we didn't have more time there to enjoy the excellent facilities on offer .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many other hotels in Nairobi, however, I still come back to the fairview. It is a hotel that I feel very safe in and I would recommend that you stay in the main complex rather than the newer block across the road. The service is okay and the rooms are large and well proportioned. The buffet breakfast has a lot of choice, however, I would recommend that you eat out in the evenings.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Nairobi is chaotic, crowded and can be slightly unnerving. Fairview is like an oasis in the desert. Once you pass through the 'friendly checkpoint' and into the hotel you can relax..

The rooms are clean and decent size. The staff are attentive, friendly and try to exceed your expectation at every opportunity. The food is excellent and you have plenty of choice from the different restaurants on the grounds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Fairview is my preferred Hotel in Nairobi if I don't have a particular suburb I need to be close to. This time wasn't as good an experience as usual.

My room was not a particularly good one, very noisy. Above the bar, beside reception, first room down a long hall. With a single overnight stay, a 4 am rise to catch an early flight out of Nairobi, I really wanted a quiet room and didn't get one. In addiiton to the guest noise outside, there was some form of machinery (air conditioner? cool room?) that run for much of the night. So, without airconditioning in my room, i had the choice between sweltering with the windows closed, or more noisy with the windows open.

Also worth noting that apparently Fairview aren't doing airport transfers anymore for pick-up. I emailed asking for one and didn't get a response. (Which is annoying when you get to the airport and spend 15 minutes wandering around trying to check if there is somebody with your name on a sign!). Checked on their website later, to discover a note saying to use the yellow taxi people.

Will I continue to use Fairview: Yes.
Will I be more particularly in requesting my room next time: Yes.

Signed:

Grumpy and Tired.

Room Tip: This was room 28. Sorry, but I wouldn't recommend this room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here recently before flying out to the Masai Mara for a safari . The hotel was beutiful , clean , excellent choice of resteraunts serving different types of cuisine and a beautiful buffet style breakfast catering for all sorts of tastes. The rooms were comfortable with air-con and wi-fi , outside is a beutiful pool area and ornamental pool and gardens . Overall a great play to stay and one I would reccomend. Anyone concerned about current troubles in Kenya have no fear about the security of this hotel it is first class and right opposite some government buildings which has 24hr armed guards

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed here last October whilst on 4 week trip through Africa. It was only a couple of weeks after the bombing but glad Enchanting Africa chose this place as it was very safe. It is opposite the Israeli Embassy and has high security gates and also scanners so felt very safe. Food was good, rooms lovely and the building itself is fantastic. Great pool although it was a little cool at this time of year for swimming in. The grounds are gorgeous with lots of greenery and little places to get away from it all. Open fire places in the lounges make these areas warm and inviting. Our room was in the main building but away from the restaurant and pool area and was lovely and big and quite. (above the business centre) Would highly recommend this hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.