We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 119 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
“surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I've always liked the Fairview but now it is even better under new management. Wonderful smiles everywhere, great service, comfortable rooms. I found the security systems thorough. Especially nice are the choice of at least three restaurants on-site.

Room Tip: on the main floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    266
    68
    21
    9
See reviews for
131
264
97
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had read reviews about this hotel and knew that it was located in the heart of Kenya's Capital, we were ready from the vehicle fumes, noises and the hustle and bustle that comes with a capital city, only to be shocked to sleep like a baby enjoy great landscape, birds chirping, an amazing experience, again booked in by affable tours and safaris, I was and still am happy with there services.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Fantastic stay in this hotel, large comfortable room, very good food in all restaurants good facilities but what really makes this place outstanding is the helpful and fantastic staff who go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay and have everything you need. One of my best hotel experiences in East Africa.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We last stayed at the Fairview in February 1976 and enjoyed our stay. We looked forward to renewing our acquaintance with the Fairview and were not disappointed. We had a large, comfortable room in the main block, which has been tastefully upgraded to modern standards. The staff were extremely helpful and organised a day trip of Nairobi for us which we enjoyed immensely. The breakfast and other meals were of the best standard, but above all, the hotel has not lost its friendly, family charm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

As usual, a delight to be able to stay here in the most beautiful surroundings.
Had dinner by the poolside and on querying why they never seemed to have cauliflower, off went the waiter to see Chef and came back to confirm my veg of the day would be cauliflower - great customer service.
Hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Fairview Hotel offers an oasis of peace and tranquility in the middle of the city. It has truly beautiful garden and offers something of a botanical experience with nametags on most plants and trees. The rooms are perfectly clean and each of them is different in its own way with beautiful woodwork. The hotel has a good gym too and various restaurants, each with its own athmosphere. There is a newsagents which has a very good collection of books to read and most of the basic things you may need should you have forgotten anything back home The staff is kind and attentive to your needs. It is also located in a street with high security. The only drawback is that the very basic soap and shampoo provided but if you bring your own, then all the rest is just great.

Room Tip: The rooms are located in different parts of the hotel and vary in size. If you want to be quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Classic style, with great facilities. It was a little oasis in the middle of such a busy city! The pool area is great for meetings and for some downtime and the staff are all really friendly and helpful. Facilities are excellent, with a choice of restaurants from fine dining to pizza. We enjoyed the pool cafe during the day and the restaurant in the garden restaurant at the front of the hotel was more festive in the evenings.
Our room, which was in the garden beyond the pool, was spacious and stylish. Perfect for two, it provided enough space for us to work at the desk and move around without feeling crowded.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter. Don't be intimidated by the security scan on entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.