We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very close to perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Fairview Hotel offers an oasis of peace and tranquility in the middle of the city. It has truly beautiful garden and offers something of a botanical experience with nametags on most plants and trees. The rooms are perfectly clean and each of them is different in its own way with beautiful woodwork. The hotel has a good gym too and various restaurants, each with its own athmosphere. There is a newsagents which has a very good collection of books to read and most of the basic things you may need should you have forgotten anything back home The staff is kind and attentive to your needs. It is also located in a street with high security. The only drawback is that the very basic soap and shampoo provided but if you bring your own, then all the rest is just great.

Room Tip: The rooms are located in different parts of the hotel and vary in size. If you want to be quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    264
    68
    20
    9
See reviews for
131
264
97
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Classic style, with great facilities. It was a little oasis in the middle of such a busy city! The pool area is great for meetings and for some downtime and the staff are all really friendly and helpful. Facilities are excellent, with a choice of restaurants from fine dining to pizza. We enjoyed the pool cafe during the day and the restaurant in the garden restaurant at the front of the hotel was more festive in the evenings.
Our room, which was in the garden beyond the pool, was spacious and stylish. Perfect for two, it provided enough space for us to work at the desk and move around without feeling crowded.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter. Don't be intimidated by the security scan on entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here for a week on business. The room was very simple but spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. The overall atmosphere was that of an oasis in the midst of Nairobi. I was delighted to avoid the large chain hotels that give you no sense of place (they are the same the world over). The Fairview has beautiful grounds and a sense of tradition. I enjoyed starting every morning with a pot of excellent coffee and the very good breakfast buffet. In the evening I sat outside with a cold drink. These little moments make a difference, especially on a business trip with long working days. As others have noted, the Fairview is near the Israeli embassy so there is heightened security in the area but this is comforting and once you are at the Fairview itself, you will not notice the security at all. The staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful. I would definitely choose the Fairview on any return trip to Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Fairview is a grand old country home- turned hotel. Then buildings are full of history, and photographs from the 30's and 40's remind us how long she's been around. Across the road from the Israeli embassy, it's secure. Rooms are large and very comfortable. The fact that 2 of the best restaurants in Nairobi are in the hotel are a huge bonus. Beautiful gardens and quiet surroundings make for a great stay

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The wonderful thing about this hotel is the lovely grounds, pool, restaurants on site, and the friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are simple, not the real highlight of the hotel, but are very adequate and you have all the basics that you need on hand. You won't be spending much time in your room anyway, except to sleep! Because you will be sitting in the garden, enjoying a coffee and the quietness of this lovely spot in the middle of crazy Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a brief but pleasant stay at Fairview. The overall ambience is quite pleasing, the rooms are nice and service polite. Will visit again. The security at the hotel can be daunting, but it does provide a sense of comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Fairview was an excellent place to start our safari. We were there for 2 nights. We did upgrade to a 1st class suite, but were unable to have breakfast our last morning, as our transport to the airport was at 6pm. The room was well equipped and pleasant. The only real quirk was there was a soap/shampoo pump dispenser. I would have liked real soap or liquid soap, Honestly, we tried to pack light due to the fact we would have luggage limits going forward.
The main dining room was beautiful and our dinner fantastic. The hotel overall felt empty. It would be a tragedy if tourism suffers/continues to suffer at the hands of non-Kenyan terrorists. The people we met, and the guide who showed me around some of the Nairobi sights were all wonderful.

Room Tip: The first class suite was very nice. The club lounge was no real value (to us) so maybe a regular ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.