We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a brief but pleasant stay at Fairview. The overall ambience is quite pleasing, the rooms are nice and service polite. Will visit again. The security at the hotel can be daunting, but it does provide a sense of comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    230
    61
    18
    9
See reviews for
117
241
91
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Fairview was an excellent place to start our safari. We were there for 2 nights. We did upgrade to a 1st class suite, but were unable to have breakfast our last morning, as our transport to the airport was at 6pm. The room was well equipped and pleasant. The only real quirk was there was a soap/shampoo pump dispenser. I would have liked real soap or liquid soap, Honestly, we tried to pack light due to the fact we would have luggage limits going forward.
The main dining room was beautiful and our dinner fantastic. The hotel overall felt empty. It would be a tragedy if tourism suffers/continues to suffer at the hands of non-Kenyan terrorists. The people we met, and the guide who showed me around some of the Nairobi sights were all wonderful.

Room Tip: The first class suite was very nice. The club lounge was no real value (to us) so maybe a regular ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Fairview in October 2013, two weeks after the bombing of the Westgate Mall. We were at the Fairview for a couple days then continued on to safari. Although I didn't write a review at the time, given events I thought I should share our experiences. While at the Fairview, we felt and I believe we were very secure. It is across from the Israeli Embassy, which was heavily guarded. The staff was welcoming and considerate of events and the impact that might have on travelers. The restaurant meals were very good. The rooms are clean and spacious, but this is not the Four Seasons, as some may be expecting from prior reviews. For my tastes, the room was more than adequate. I would recommend the Fairview to any travelers going to Nairobi.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night before a safari trip. We were allocated Room 101 which I hoped wasn't a sinister omen. No worries - the room was very comfortable, breakfast was delicious and we wished we were staying for longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed at the Fairview for 14 days for work.
My room was fairly small, but clean. The bed was quite comfortable and the desk was nice. I had a non-a/c room, but the fan provided and the open windows were sufficient.
The staff were all really friendly and welcoming.

The Italian restaurant was authentic - amazing food, really fun chef.
The café in the front has some of the best Mexican in Nairobi. My friends who work at the UN rave about it. The chicken burrito is amazing!! Watch out after a rain though, as large moths swarm all around.

The only negative is there are no elevators, however, the staff will assist any time you have something to carry.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I've stayed at Fairview dozens of times and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Nairobi; safety, tranquillity, quality & variety of restaurants, friendly staff, it has it all. A1*. I also find that the staff are trained to be as helpful as possible

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Spent a couple of night for a meeting that was organized at the hotel. The food and service were great. It has a safari/camp feel to it. Makes you think you are not in a city. The self service gym was handy. Note you have to climb stairs to reach your room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.