We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A serene oasis! Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“A serene oasis! Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

We loved our stay at the Fairview. We had a full day in Nairobi and this was an excellent place to spend some time and unwind.
The buildings on the property are beautiful and the setting is lush, serene and inviting.
We arrived very early in the morning and the wonderful staff arranged for us to check in early, but asked if we could wait an hour or so, so that they could get our room ready.

We had no problem with that, as the lobby is a beautiful place to sit and relax and the hotels offers free wi-fi, so we were able to plug in our computer and get comfortable in one of the many seating areas. They had our room ready in about 45 minutes.

The staff at the front desk is very professional, friendly and they were immensely helpful in assisting us with planning our day. They have taxi drivers on the premises and they arranged a trip to the Elephant Orphanage and the Giraffe Center with one of their drivers, Jimmy.
We were very pleased with his services as well, as he took us to a large supermarket with an ATM, then the orphanage. He waited outside while we spent the one hour you're allowed with the elephants. Then he took us to the Giraffe center and waited outside for us (we spent about 25 minutes here). Then he brought us to a pizza place so we could have lunch and again he waited for us. Then he brought us back to the hotel.
His charge for all of this was 4000 Kenyan shillings (about $55 US) plus tip.
We thought this was a great deal and were very pleased with him! (He's a wonderfully friendly man and if you need a driver, you should ask for him!)
Also, don't miss the Daphne Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage...it's a great experience!

We were also very pleased with our business class room. It had two twin beds pushed together, a desk, safe and fan. There was no air conditioning, but it was not really needed, especially with the fan. And being on the second floor, we felt comfortable having the windows open.
They did not provide bottled water, but the staff told us that the water from the tap was safe.
The beds were a bit on the firm side, but comfortable with nice blankets and pillows. There was also a pot for making hot water for instant coffee.
The bathroom was clean and large with plenty of counter space and a large shower with plenty of hot water and good water pressure.
There was free wi-fi in the rooms and the speed was pretty fast.
There was a TV with a lot of channels, many in English.

The hotel had many different restaurants to choose from. We had dinner at the restaurant by the pool. The food was very good and it was wonderful to sit outside and enjoy the surroundings. Beer was $3 and wine was around $8 or $9.
The breakfast buffet, which was included in our package, was large but we found the food to be only OK.

This hotel has many little enclaves outside for you to sit and enjoy the peace and quiet.
It is located right across the street from the Israeli Embassy. There are guards all over the place so we felt very safe.

The drive from the Nairobi airport to the hotel took us 20 minutes, however this was on a holiday, so expect more with normal traffic.
It took us 15 minutes to get to the Wilson airport with normal morning traffic.

We were so pleased with this lovely hotel! It was a great place to spend some down time in between safaris and it was nice to be able to use high speed internet anywhere on the property to catch up with some news.

We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone spending time in Nairobi!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    520
    238
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
123
242
91
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

I had stayed at the Fairview in 2005 while on a study tour with 30-hour Famine/World Vision and was very impressed. So when I decided to go back with my own group there was no other choice! We had five females in our group, myself and another adult and three teenagers. I felt totally safe and secure to allow the girls to roam free. The staff is wonderful and loved having wifi in my room. The food is outstanding and very reasonable. This place is a true treasure! Can't wait to return.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglet, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

High quality "country lodge" in the heart of the business district of Upper Hill in Nairobi (close to ministries and diplomatic missions). Excellent service, good restaurants (4) and breakfast buffet. Book well in advance as they have a high occupancy rate (around 98%), but if they are full try the sister "Country Lodge" next door (good clean service but les atmosphere).
All in all a haven of peace in busy Nairobi.

  • Liked — Calm location yet close to business centres
  • Disliked — No peanuts with the beer
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my 2 days at the Fairview. The receptionist (even though she was still a trainee) couldn't have been any more helpful. She responded efficiently (and always with a smile) to all of our requests. We felt as though all the staff had been well trained and that the hotel wasn't just relying on someone feeling in a good mood to deliver the goods.The hotel was clean and friendly and the surrounding gardens and interior were just a pleasure. We felt extremely secure and looked after. WELL DONE!

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful, lovely surroundings, comfortable
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Forget the same old, same old chains.
The Fairview's owners live on site, run just the one hotel, and set the standard for their staff to be friendly, considerate and efficient.
Dining options are as you might expect from a top hotel, except that the food is tastier - none of the blandness that is so common elsewhere.
Gym, pool and all the other facilities meet the standard you'd expect but have some individual details.
As someone who travels for work and sees many hotels, there are few that I'll go back to with as much pleasure when the chance next comes up.

  • Liked — Friendliness, also security
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

I was booked into the Fairview Hotel this month, using both general and conference facilities for the 48 hours of my stay in Kenya - and it was great.

I arrived on the early morning flight from London, and so was at the hotel before official check-in time, but staff sent me for breakfast and raced round to ensure a room was ready just half an hour later. I'd requested a no-smoking room, which was basic and comfortable. The whole hotel was absolutely spotless and the staff were delightful, helpful and friendly without being intrusive.

The food was delicious, the avocado, mango and shrimp salad at the pool restaurant was particularly noteworthy. The breakfast selection was comprehensive, cooked breakfast, fruit, cheeses, meats, juices, pastries.

The conference staff couldn't have been more helpful - the room was arranged as required and a request for an additional flip chart holder was met within minutes.

The hotel has been very carefully designed to maximise the impression of space - and architects have created some excellent secluded areas which really make you forget you're in the middle of a bustling city. If you're wondering whether to take a chance and book a Nairobi hotel that isn't part of a big chain, the Fairview is small, friendly and somewhere you feel like a person rather than a number.

  • Liked — Sense of calm
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

Hotel Fairview may be a little pricey but the service and food are great. Room service was quick and just as good quality as the retaurants.
Daily room cleaning was brilliant my clothes were even folded that I had forgot lying on the bed making it very pleasant after a hard days work to come to a nice clean room.
I love the idea of a bonus scheme for the employees I will make sure on my next visit to highlight outstanding employees.

The only problem was the Wifi even though it is good I guess I am just use to European speeds.

See you in a month Fairview

  • Liked — proffessionalism of the staff
  • Disliked — slowish internet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.