We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Brisbane, Queensland
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Renovated rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having stayed here on a number of occasions, and written TripAdvisor reviews on the Fairview, there's not much more to say. It's my hotel of choice in Nairobi, though I usually only stay one night at a time, as I'm usually just passing through.
Our room this time was newly renovated and very good compared to some of the rooms I have previously stayed in at this hotel.
The breakfast was terrific - one of the best in Africa that I've had (okay, I appreciate I can't have tried everywhere on that continent, but some breakfasts are measurably better than others, and this is one of the better ones). Dinner, too, was excellent.
Since I was last here, security has increased dramatically, which slows down the entry process as all of your bags are x-rayed, but when terrorists start attacking shopping centres in the city, it's not such a bad thing!
I would return to the Fairview in Nairobi - in fact, I'm sure I will.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    237
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
121
242
91
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I always stay at the Fairview when I am in Nairobi - whether for work or pleasure. It is the perfect stay - and it gets better every time I go back. The management is constantly striving to improve the hotel and meet the highest standards. One thing to love is that the staff remains the same - that is a strong indicator that they are treated well and are appreciated not only by guests. The staff is amazing, friendly, welcoming, professional and they make a huge difference. On occasions in the past the Fairview have had no vacancies when I was travelling and I had to stay in some of the other hotels in town. After a few times I decided not to go if I could not get at room at the Fairview - and I don't. I will change plans - Fairview is what is says, home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay. We had business meetings every day, outside. The staff and service, was from a bygone era,the grounds are beautifully kept with plenty of outside areas to sit and relax.
There are two bars and restaurants outside with two restaurants inside, the food is excellent with top quality ingredients, way above normal Hotel food.
Unless you are the type of person that is impressed, with lots of marble in packed surroundings with average food. Then this Hotel is not for you, choose a chain Hotel.
However, if you value a privately run hotel with plenty of space, where your business meetings will be held, in a calm relaxed atmosphere, then this is the place to be.
I will be staying next month and will have no hesitation in bringing my wife.
Security is first rate, also having the Israeli Embassy over the road, puts you at peace of mind.

Room Tip: The business bedrooms are very good. Do try the two Italian restaurants inside. Our business guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton - Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

10 of us stayed here only for one night on our way to Maasai Mara. Food was really good, but the staff! Very friendly & welcoming. We were all so jet lagged after a long flight and so we were all awake very early and walked the beautiful gardens. Security is very tight, just to enter the hotel, all bags have to go through 'airport like' X-rays! but it's not the fault of the hotel, the Israeli embassy is close by and with all the issues this awesome country has been having lately, the staff really keep you happy and safe. Wish we did not have to leave so early but it was a long drive to Maasai Mara. recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Please don't get angry or frustrated at the staff for 'airport type'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

A charming and very well kept hotel, bit like being in an oasis in a bustling somewhat polluted city. Serious security as it's proximity to a certain embassy, but this becomes common in Nairobi. Good restaurants if you like high cuisine, personally prefer some local food from time to time, down the road, but their different restaurants are high quality. The real value of this establishment is the decor and authenticity of design and build. The staff are in general well trained and very polite. Wifi throughout

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Fantastic property, does not feel like you are amongst concrete but reception was cold. Food was great and ambience of restaurants incomparable. Location wise , a bit out of town but felt within nature's fold.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

As they say, this is a country hotel located in Nairobi. The grounds are well kept and the rooms are very clean. There are a few styles of rooms available which are based upon price, some have very large bath tubs while others have very large showers. Unless you like using one liquid soap for everything I would definitely bring your own soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion! Internet connectivity is good however the speed isn't the best so watching videos on your computer will be frustrating as it does not have the bandwidth. This is perhaps mainly a business hotel as I have not seen any children here (possibly also due to the travel warnings to Kenya) but this site seems to be very safe as there is security on the road to the hotel and at the gate. The workout gym is a bit dated but there is enough equipment in there for your workout. There are 5 restaurants here of which I tried 3 and they were all very good. Breakfast is included but it will be the same buffet spread everyday so you'll need to mix things up if you are staying a while. They do have cook to order eggs, pancakes, and omelets so that helps. Staff is friendly and nice but if it's busy, it may take some time to get the desert menu or your bill if you're in a hurry.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;