We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

As they say, this is a country hotel located in Nairobi. The grounds are well kept and the rooms are very clean. There are a few styles of rooms available which are based upon price, some have very large bath tubs while others have very large showers. Unless you like using one liquid soap for everything I would definitely bring your own soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion! Internet connectivity is good however the speed isn't the best so watching videos on your computer will be frustrating as it does not have the bandwidth. This is perhaps mainly a business hotel as I have not seen any children here (possibly also due to the travel warnings to Kenya) but this site seems to be very safe as there is security on the road to the hotel and at the gate. The workout gym is a bit dated but there is enough equipment in there for your workout. There are 5 restaurants here of which I tried 3 and they were all very good. Breakfast is included but it will be the same buffet spread everyday so you'll need to mix things up if you are staying a while. They do have cook to order eggs, pancakes, and omelets so that helps. Staff is friendly and nice but if it's busy, it may take some time to get the desert menu or your bill if you're in a hurry.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    264
    66
    20
    9
See reviews for
128
262
96
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Fairview comfortably measures up to its long, well-earned reputation as a family-owned high-class establishment. Set in beautiful, luxuriant gardens, this hotel is a quiet retreat close to the city centre and many government offices.
It has most facilities of a 4-star hotel, with the excellent choice of restaurants and bars being a particular attraction. Although the rooms aren't palatial, they are quite functional, spacious and reasonably well equipped.
Being located close to the Israeli Embassy, security is especially strong - a real positive at times of any terrorist alerts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Our 15 days in Kenya involved coming and going from our base at the Fairview. This was no problem for the management here which made each short trip so much easier with regard to packing. My sister sprained her ankle on one side trip. The staff were superb with the First Aid on our return and asked after her on our return from the next side trip of 5 days. This is an oasis; a wonderfully well run place to stay. Spotlessly clean with a very good variety of eateries. The security was tops. Staff friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: We were in pairs and had excellent-sized rooms. I think they were executive twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed for the second time in Fairview, first in 2010 and after in 2014.
We confirmed that this is a friendly hotel with a good quality/ price relation. The Upper Hill location just close to the centre is quite handy, in particular in view of the terrible Nairobi traffic.
Beautiful gardens that make it a pleasant place to stay.
The rooms are functional with no extra luxury or charm, but good enough.
Nice restaurant near the pool and also a big choice in the front restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a great transit hotel for a day or so. It is located in the centre of town, the property is over a century old, with old architecture and an old world charm. Only negative point is the size of the room - I got a single room, and it is really single - with a bed, table and some storage facilities. In itself this would have been ok, but for the tariff they charge for this (almost USD 200), which I felt was poor value for money (which pulls the rating of this review down). Otherwise, the hotel is very functional (e.g. many plug points in the room and near the pool side tables), service is good, and food as well. It has a medium sized gym, and a pool as well. Overall, good for transit or one days accommodation, not for long.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, best to opt for a ground floor room, as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, South Africa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I was impressed with this hotel – from arrival to departure. We travelled during a time when Kenya was on high alert in terms of safety and possible terrorist attacks. Upon arrival, I soon realised the level of security offered at the hotel and I was comfortable and did not feel under threat at any point.
The choice of restaurants is an added bonus and the meals were value for money and tasty. The best dining experience was in the Pango Brasserie – a stay is not complete without a meal there. The staff was eager to serve and very friendly.
Great things about the hotel and room: strong water pressure; reliable and fast wi-fi,
Not so good: Skype – still waiting for a response on my Skype enquiries; limited amenities in the room; noisy corridor with the wooden floors in main building

Room Tip: If you like colonial charm, ask for room in main building If you like more modern design, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I was here for a short business trip and thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Fairview. The hotel has high security and feels very, very safe and the staff are all friendly. The grounds are super lush and the food is fantastic. I took most of my meals there and was very happy with the variety (currently pining for the fresh mango juice at breakfast and the tomatoes). It was great to sit out at one of the outdoor restaurants and listen to birds and look at the cute cats that hang out outside (one slept on my front deck area one night). The hotel feels very personal and really is "the country hotel in town." Can't wait to go back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.