We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nestled away - yet near enough to the Madding traffic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Chennai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nestled away - yet near enough to the Madding traffic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This property is situated in a business district and is a good place to commence the Nairobi journey. Clean, compact rooms and business-like meal delivery with a nice ambience. Feels more safe than a 007 target !!

Room Tip: All rooms come with their own pluses, was told -:) Walking on the hill early morning, is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    238
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
122
242
91
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Always good to back, even if it is for one night. A great place to stay before heading out on safari.
Staff is always friendly. The grounds are beautifully maintained. The history of tis hotel is worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wittering, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in Nairobi. However this is by far the best for location, security, food and staff.

Kenya is going through a tough time at the moment and many travels are being put off due to the security. This hotel takes that worry away for you, yet still giving excellent service in wonderful grounds.

Room Tip: Room 57 is great, ground floor with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel, an oasis in a chaotic city. Economy room was of a good standard although shower was weak and needs attention. Shower gel dispenser was empty on arrival. Restaurant food is excellent. Thanks

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was my first visit to Kenya, so my partner booked us into The Fairview as a treat, to relax and unwind at the beginning of our holiday. We are not wealthy, so he booked a cheaper room - still nearly £200 per night, booked through tripadviser. Go direct to the hotel, if you must stay here, it was considerably cheaper.
Astounded, that a hotel of this quality and price did not have air conditioning as standard. A grotty fan, that was very noisy.
The room was adequate, the bathroom large, but dated, grubby.
No fridge, although they did provide a couple of bottles of water, (we had to ask for them on our arrival as they were missing). Hence, the water was warm, no way of keeping it cool.
We arrived early on first morning, direct from airport and very long flight. They were very accommodating, got our room ready as soon as possible. So we asked about having breakfast - they showed us in to breakfast room. On first appearance it looked like an amazing spread! But the cooked stuff was kept in hot containers, so eggs were like rubber and bacon sat in its own fat, getting harder and harder. Not that appetising. We were then charged £28 + for the breakfast.
Security was very good, and we were grateful for this.
The staff, were mostly friendly and helpful, however, there was one older waiter who gave the distinct impression that us asking for a lager and a vodka and orange was far too much trouble! He was always like this when we came across him in the four days we stayed.
I would have liked to have spent some time by the swimming pool - there were numerous tables and chairs positioned around the small pool, these were used by business people for lunches, sat in their suits and ties - not a very enticing place to strip off to your bikini and relax and swim - I tried it once, but felt I had to wait until they had all gone before I was comfortable having a dip.
I wouldn't rush back here for the extortionate price - niceish hotel - but needs some tlc and better management.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

It is a pity you did not book direct. Our rate is only £138 so the travel agent you used made quite a profit!

We are rolling out air-conditioning in all rooms. However, despite not offering aircon in economy double rooms (your choice of room), we believe £138 is great value. Our higher end rooms do offer air con so we will of course upgrade for free in future.

Our breakfast offering is known for its breadth and its freshness. Our eggs are cooked to order. We did offer scrambled eggs via a buffet-offering but we no longer offer this. Please note that breakfast is part of our room rate and you were charged as you arrived before check-in. Please get in touch with us directly as I would like to refund the breakfast charge.

Your point on swimming is well noted. We will think through alternatives to address this.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love this hotel and it has become our favorite place to stay. The restaurants are great with a wide selection of cuisine. The service was excellent and the gardens are quiet and beautiful. Perfect for business meetings or just quiet reflection.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool - 90 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Fairview has to be my favorite hotel in the world. I went there with my friend (only two of us) when we were both 16, and the hotel gave us extreme care. Fairview hosted an incredibly friendly, safe and relax atmosphere, resulting in a harmonious relation between guests which hitherto I have not found in any other hotel yet. Fairview is also said to have the best sushi bar in East Africa, according to TIME. It's just too difficult to write a review for a hotel I love so much so I would just stop here (damn it!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.