We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "Place to Stay" in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Ocala, Florida
1 review
“Our "Place to Stay" in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We first stayed at Fairview in 2002 at which time we were impressed with the quiet comfortable atmosphere in the midst of the busy city of Nairobi. On each of our subsequent visits Fairview remained our destination of choice. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the restaurant choices adequate. The grounds are well maintained with an excellent pool. The staff is always there to assist. If you want a modestly priced hotel in a convenient city location this is it with charm and comfort.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms in the main building facing the rear or pool area, quieter and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    520
    239
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
123
242
91
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I really liked the feel of the Fairview. Lots of wood panelling and cool pictures of the building from decades earlier. The hotel isn't part of a big chain. It's family owned and the staff showed a high level of care and attention.

The bathrooms were spotlessly clean but could use some modernisation.

Overall, this is the hotel I'd recommend to friends visiting Nairobi.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Good points:
Wifi worked well from start with a couple of small glitches. Nice quesadillas in garden restaurant, green ambience, helpful staff

Not so good:
Excessive security - needed key to get out of apartment building; no bar for socialising (unlike most Nairobi hotels). Steak was tough. Hotel was rather too fashionable/American and less African than others I have stayed with many western clients armed with laptops.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

When you travel a lot, you start to crave a unique feel in a hotel. This has it. Arriving at night, the security was quite tight as it is across from the Israeli embassy - but it's worth any delay. It has a covered outside bar which is busy, active with a good vibe. The hotel has a sense of history and has been family owned for multiple generations. The people working there are friendly. I had dinner in the bar and a buffet breakfast which was all good. I had a basic room ( about $190/ night - the shower water pressure could be a little better). The Wifi worked well. The grounds are lush with vegetation covering the walls. Really a nice feel to the place and the service level is very high. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: The basic room has a slightly oversized single bed, not a double, so choose it carefully. I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is our third time of staying at the Fairview Hotel and we believe it to be the ideal place for our annual Nairobi visits, between each visit changes have been made that further enhance the quality/enjoyment of our stay. There is clearly a program and culture of "continuous improvement" in place, both for the facilities and the Staff. The Staff are all very friendly, capable and professional which can only result from dedicated training programs. It is interesting to note just how many of the same members of Staff have been there for each of our annual visits, this results in a personal welcome and a very relaxed place to stay. Security and safety of the guests and premises are well-established procedures, we always feel safe there.
The various on-the-premises restaurants all serve first class food, delivered with an efficient friendly service, there is something for most tastes and we know that correct food preparation and hygiene control procedures are the top priorities within the kitchens.
Without doubt we will continue to use the Fairview for all our future visits to Nairobi and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in rooms within the main building and have been very happy with them and their l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is really a hidden gem, is its among the embassy's in down town area and everything rom the history to the grounds are there for you use, relaxing tropical and most outstanding service you can imagine.
The front desk staff was helpful but somehow did not seem to think, that the customer should be priority, but must say left a piece of jewelry there and it was turned in safety and then picked up after our humanitarian trip had ended.
Really nice to sit by the large pool sipping cocktail or having a nice meal, they serve a great breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had two nights stay at Fairview, one before and one after the safari trip. I haven't been to any other hotels in Nairobi nor this area, but this hotel is definitely on par with other western hotel standards, and it make my stay really comfortable.

Upon arriving, the check in process is quite smooth, and we were guided to our room. The room of the first night is in the main building, the decor is a bit tired but very clean, and suit your needs well. On the second stay we were upgraded to a suite? in the neighboring part which you need to cross a road using your room key.

Every time you entered the hotel, you will get scanned this made us feel really safe while staying there. Especially thinking about the security control afterwards as we were leaving the hotel at the same day the terrorist attack at the shopping mall in Nairobi.

We've also sampled the restaurants in Fairview, as we were flying from Melbourne to here via Dubai, so really reluctant to go outside to find any other dinning places. Fortunately, the food served from their in hotel restaurants is pretty good, we can't even finish both our dishes, and the price maybe high on African standards but not outrageous comparing to our local dining back in Melbourne.

The best part of the hotel is the view, that you feel like you are in a garden everywhere. It's so beautiful just to stay and rest in the hotel, and the first impression definitely changed my view towards Africa.

Should I come to visit Nairobi again, there is no doubt I will stay at Fairview!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.