We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique....a high level of service...and African” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unique....a high level of service...and African”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

When you travel a lot, you start to crave a unique feel in a hotel. This has it. Arriving at night, the security was quite tight as it is across from the Israeli embassy - but it's worth any delay. It has a covered outside bar which is busy, active with a good vibe. The hotel has a sense of history and has been family owned for multiple generations. The people working there are friendly. I had dinner in the bar and a buffet breakfast which was all good. I had a basic room ( about $190/ night - the shower water pressure could be a little better). The Wifi worked well. The grounds are lush with vegetation covering the walls. Really a nice feel to the place and the service level is very high. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: The basic room has a slightly oversized single bed, not a double, so choose it carefully. I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    211
    57
    17
    9
See reviews for
111
233
89
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is our third time of staying at the Fairview Hotel and we believe it to be the ideal place for our annual Nairobi visits, between each visit changes have been made that further enhance the quality/enjoyment of our stay. There is clearly a program and culture of "continuous improvement" in place, both for the facilities and the Staff. The Staff are all very friendly, capable and professional which can only result from dedicated training programs. It is interesting to note just how many of the same members of Staff have been there for each of our annual visits, this results in a personal welcome and a very relaxed place to stay. Security and safety of the guests and premises are well-established procedures, we always feel safe there.
The various on-the-premises restaurants all serve first class food, delivered with an efficient friendly service, there is something for most tastes and we know that correct food preparation and hygiene control procedures are the top priorities within the kitchens.
Without doubt we will continue to use the Fairview for all our future visits to Nairobi and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in rooms within the main building and have been very happy with them and their l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is really a hidden gem, is its among the embassy's in down town area and everything rom the history to the grounds are there for you use, relaxing tropical and most outstanding service you can imagine.
The front desk staff was helpful but somehow did not seem to think, that the customer should be priority, but must say left a piece of jewelry there and it was turned in safety and then picked up after our humanitarian trip had ended.
Really nice to sit by the large pool sipping cocktail or having a nice meal, they serve a great breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had two nights stay at Fairview, one before and one after the safari trip. I haven't been to any other hotels in Nairobi nor this area, but this hotel is definitely on par with other western hotel standards, and it make my stay really comfortable.

Upon arriving, the check in process is quite smooth, and we were guided to our room. The room of the first night is in the main building, the decor is a bit tired but very clean, and suit your needs well. On the second stay we were upgraded to a suite? in the neighboring part which you need to cross a road using your room key.

Every time you entered the hotel, you will get scanned this made us feel really safe while staying there. Especially thinking about the security control afterwards as we were leaving the hotel at the same day the terrorist attack at the shopping mall in Nairobi.

We've also sampled the restaurants in Fairview, as we were flying from Melbourne to here via Dubai, so really reluctant to go outside to find any other dinning places. Fortunately, the food served from their in hotel restaurants is pretty good, we can't even finish both our dishes, and the price maybe high on African standards but not outrageous comparing to our local dining back in Melbourne.

The best part of the hotel is the view, that you feel like you are in a garden everywhere. It's so beautiful just to stay and rest in the hotel, and the first impression definitely changed my view towards Africa.

Should I come to visit Nairobi again, there is no doubt I will stay at Fairview!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was the second time I visited this hotel. The staff are so friendly, the room neat, tidy & clean. All the cafes/restaurants had good food. I was traveling alone and felt safe and as though I was visiting family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

From the professional security guards at the gate, through smiling restaurant staff to a cheerful check-out.. with a nice pool and (small) gym. Great! Only not an 'excellent' review because there is little for vegetarians on the pool side restaurant menu. I stayed in one of the really posh rooms then downgraded to a less expensive one. Both really lovely.

All staff members are great. If I had to single out one, it's Susan (in Mitende) for her unfailing good humour and professionalism.

Tip: Get up half an hour early to enjoy the breakfast to the full!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed for 9 nights in September 2013, and found almost everything about the hotel to be outstanding.

My husband was in Nairobi for business, whilst I relaxed at the Hotel, in the gardens, round the pool and at the local tourist attractions.

The hotel prides itself on being a "Country Hotel in the City", and I totally agree! We received a very warm welcome on arrival after a long flight and arrival process. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, the grounds were immaculately maintained, food was exceptionally good, as was the buffet breakfast which catered for every taste. I would be surprised if a guest didn't find something to eat in the morning! Lovely touch with the fresh loose tea in a variety of flavours - I managed to try them all over the course of my stay.

Once at the hotel, with the exception of the odd car horn, or emergency siren, it really is hard to believe that you are in a major city!

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Special mentions to the entire Concierge team (including Julius and Ibrahim) who were always smiled, were happy to pass the time of day and were so helpful at all times. Rachel at Reception who dealt with a number of questions very professionally and gave me some tips on local attractions. The chefs who again were friendly, always said good morning/evening and cooked wonderful food all day, everyday! Pauline in the restaurant who was welcoming every morning. Nathan in the travel office (not part of the hotel I don't think), but gave great advice on local places to visit and organised the most wonderful safari trip to Nairobi National Park.

Thank you everyone!

My only niggle was the room we moved to after the first one was quite noisy late at night and early in the morning with banging and crashing from the restaurant. The second room was across the road in another block and was very dated and the bathroom was in a poor state of repair. I understand the hotel is going through a re-furbishment programme at the moment, so hopefully this room will get some TLC in the near future.

Luckily for us the weather was hot hot hot, so whilst hubby was at work all day, I relaxed in the sunshine, so we didn't actually need to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi
Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.