We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was the second time I visited this hotel. The staff are so friendly, the room neat, tidy & clean. All the cafes/restaurants had good food. I was traveling alone and felt safe and as though I was visiting family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    289
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
135
272
98
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

From the professional security guards at the gate, through smiling restaurant staff to a cheerful check-out.. with a nice pool and (small) gym. Great! Only not an 'excellent' review because there is little for vegetarians on the pool side restaurant menu. I stayed in one of the really posh rooms then downgraded to a less expensive one. Both really lovely.

All staff members are great. If I had to single out one, it's Susan (in Mitende) for her unfailing good humour and professionalism.

Tip: Get up half an hour early to enjoy the breakfast to the full!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed for 9 nights in September 2013, and found almost everything about the hotel to be outstanding.

My husband was in Nairobi for business, whilst I relaxed at the Hotel, in the gardens, round the pool and at the local tourist attractions.

The hotel prides itself on being a "Country Hotel in the City", and I totally agree! We received a very warm welcome on arrival after a long flight and arrival process. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, the grounds were immaculately maintained, food was exceptionally good, as was the buffet breakfast which catered for every taste. I would be surprised if a guest didn't find something to eat in the morning! Lovely touch with the fresh loose tea in a variety of flavours - I managed to try them all over the course of my stay.

Once at the hotel, with the exception of the odd car horn, or emergency siren, it really is hard to believe that you are in a major city!

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Special mentions to the entire Concierge team (including Julius and Ibrahim) who were always smiled, were happy to pass the time of day and were so helpful at all times. Rachel at Reception who dealt with a number of questions very professionally and gave me some tips on local attractions. The chefs who again were friendly, always said good morning/evening and cooked wonderful food all day, everyday! Pauline in the restaurant who was welcoming every morning. Nathan in the travel office (not part of the hotel I don't think), but gave great advice on local places to visit and organised the most wonderful safari trip to Nairobi National Park.

Thank you everyone!

My only niggle was the room we moved to after the first one was quite noisy late at night and early in the morning with banging and crashing from the restaurant. The second room was across the road in another block and was very dated and the bathroom was in a poor state of repair. I understand the hotel is going through a re-furbishment programme at the moment, so hopefully this room will get some TLC in the near future.

Luckily for us the weather was hot hot hot, so whilst hubby was at work all day, I relaxed in the sunshine, so we didn't actually need to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We arrived after dark from the airport for an overnight to get a connection the next morning. It is touted as the most safe hotel in Nairobi as it's next door to the Israeli embassy. That side of the building has dog patrls barking at night. Even with the sqeeky fan and windows closed the dogs echo barking all night. It's 40 minutes without traffic the morning rush hour with all the road work is 1.5 hr. The breakfast has lots to chose from. The gardens looked lovely, very stately older property. Lots of hot water.

Room Tip: Large rooms but everything but the bedding was more than 25 years old. Too far from the airport for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lobby is “colonial” style, dark wood and welcoming. Staff is great. Made us a FULL early buffet breakfast at 5:30 am for an early flight. Clean, attractive, quiet and comfortable rooms. Good security for newcomers to Nairobi. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was only there for a dinner meeting. I got there early and wondered around the hotel to try and find my colleague. Upon walking around you get a sense of not being in Nairobi! A really beautiful setting, well furnished, and lots of greenery! A good range of cafes/restaurants - we settled on the Mukutan Garden Cafe, which pretty good food. The pizzas looked decent, too. There was a good range of families, business folk, and couples who were staying/eating there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice hotel, we were here just overnight returning from Safari in Tanzania. Reception nice. Room size good, location horrible. Windows opened to the exhaust of the kitchen. Smell and noise was not good. We needed to have the windows open due temperature in the room. Had a good wine in the dining room, meal ok. Location seemed good, was secure. It is very close to the Israeli Embassy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#9 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
7.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.