We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A country hotel in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A country hotel in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed for 9 nights in September 2013, and found almost everything about the hotel to be outstanding.

My husband was in Nairobi for business, whilst I relaxed at the Hotel, in the gardens, round the pool and at the local tourist attractions.

The hotel prides itself on being a "Country Hotel in the City", and I totally agree! We received a very warm welcome on arrival after a long flight and arrival process. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, the grounds were immaculately maintained, food was exceptionally good, as was the buffet breakfast which catered for every taste. I would be surprised if a guest didn't find something to eat in the morning! Lovely touch with the fresh loose tea in a variety of flavours - I managed to try them all over the course of my stay.

Once at the hotel, with the exception of the odd car horn, or emergency siren, it really is hard to believe that you are in a major city!

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Special mentions to the entire Concierge team (including Julius and Ibrahim) who were always smiled, were happy to pass the time of day and were so helpful at all times. Rachel at Reception who dealt with a number of questions very professionally and gave me some tips on local attractions. The chefs who again were friendly, always said good morning/evening and cooked wonderful food all day, everyday! Pauline in the restaurant who was welcoming every morning. Nathan in the travel office (not part of the hotel I don't think), but gave great advice on local places to visit and organised the most wonderful safari trip to Nairobi National Park.

Thank you everyone!

My only niggle was the room we moved to after the first one was quite noisy late at night and early in the morning with banging and crashing from the restaurant. The second room was across the road in another block and was very dated and the bathroom was in a poor state of repair. I understand the hotel is going through a re-furbishment programme at the moment, so hopefully this room will get some TLC in the near future.

Luckily for us the weather was hot hot hot, so whilst hubby was at work all day, I relaxed in the sunshine, so we didn't actually need to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    272
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
133
266
98
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We arrived after dark from the airport for an overnight to get a connection the next morning. It is touted as the most safe hotel in Nairobi as it's next door to the Israeli embassy. That side of the building has dog patrls barking at night. Even with the sqeeky fan and windows closed the dogs echo barking all night. It's 40 minutes without traffic the morning rush hour with all the road work is 1.5 hr. The breakfast has lots to chose from. The gardens looked lovely, very stately older property. Lots of hot water.

Room Tip: Large rooms but everything but the bedding was more than 25 years old. Too far from the airport for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lobby is “colonial” style, dark wood and welcoming. Staff is great. Made us a FULL early buffet breakfast at 5:30 am for an early flight. Clean, attractive, quiet and comfortable rooms. Good security for newcomers to Nairobi. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was only there for a dinner meeting. I got there early and wondered around the hotel to try and find my colleague. Upon walking around you get a sense of not being in Nairobi! A really beautiful setting, well furnished, and lots of greenery! A good range of cafes/restaurants - we settled on the Mukutan Garden Cafe, which pretty good food. The pizzas looked decent, too. There was a good range of families, business folk, and couples who were staying/eating there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice hotel, we were here just overnight returning from Safari in Tanzania. Reception nice. Room size good, location horrible. Windows opened to the exhaust of the kitchen. Smell and noise was not good. We needed to have the windows open due temperature in the room. Had a good wine in the dining room, meal ok. Location seemed good, was secure. It is very close to the Israeli Embassy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hocking Hills
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My family I stayed here for 2 nights prior to our tour in Kenya last September We found the hotel to be quite secure and an exceptional place to relax in a countryside setting within the city.

The rooms were quite spacious, staff very friendly helpful, great meals and felt very comfortable within the hotel grounds.

We enjoyed drinks at the poolside restaurant. Food at the hotel was good and fresh stuff especially breakfast.

The hotel is located in a quiet outskirts of the city near the Israel Embassy. I recommend this hotel to those making night stops in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Found first class rooms to be nice and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel has the greatest garden where you can just walk or enjoy while dining. Our friends stayed in one of the ground floor rooms and their only regret was that they did not have the balcony, otherwise they were pleased. The room was facing the pool and it took us thirty seconds to get to our next - to - the - pool table for dinner. The hotel has a regular restaurant, a garden cafe, sushi bar and a wine cellar. We had a dinner and the prices were acceptable. The lobster soup was not really great, red snapper was excellent and cheesecake was totally disappointing - dominating cheese cream placed on a biscuit. Ambiance, cats (some friendly, some less friendly), pool, greenery raised the value of this meal, whereas food itself should have been much better,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.