We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great garden” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel has the greatest garden where you can just walk or enjoy while dining. Our friends stayed in one of the ground floor rooms and their only regret was that they did not have the balcony, otherwise they were pleased. The room was facing the pool and it took us thirty seconds to get to our next - to - the - pool table for dinner. The hotel has a regular restaurant, a garden cafe, sushi bar and a wine cellar. We had a dinner and the prices were acceptable. The lobster soup was not really great, red snapper was excellent and cheesecake was totally disappointing - dominating cheese cream placed on a biscuit. Ambiance, cats (some friendly, some less friendly), pool, greenery raised the value of this meal, whereas food itself should have been much better,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    240
    63
    18
    9
See reviews for
123
243
93
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here on a stopover. Very secure and safe a perfect place to arrive when you are tired and it is late. Although the bars and restaurants were closed room service was friendly and quick with very friendly helpful staff. We had a garden room near the pool and felt very comfortable unwinding sat outside our room on the veranda. Good choice at breakfast constant supply of freshly cut fruit and any variation of eggs cooked to order.

Beautiful surroundings excellent customer service would highly recommend for either a stopover or longer stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Excellent service - nothing to complain about. We needed to move a room for one of our friends and it was done with no fuss, we even got a free upgrade

Nairobi is very security ficused as you would expect, this hotel directly opposite the Isral embassy benefits from the overlapping protection

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

After a great but tiring week in the back of beyond in western Kenya, it was just fantastic to land at the Fairview for an evening. What a stylish, relaxed, unstuffy but classy place - full of atmosphere, delightfully landscaped spaces, interiors and exteriors blending seemlessly, with wonderful plants, seating areas etc. We ate very well - right next to the floodlit pool - and for exceptional value given this is central Nairobi. Steaks were good, desserts nice too. For a main + dessert and a drink or two, it was under £20 a head. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spent 2 weeks in this hotel at beginning of a 3 year contract in Kenya. Serious security - you really feel safe, but the hotel is so relaxed, the rooms impeccable and the staff truly helpful.

I would choose this hotel before the more expensive options international hotels in Nairobi any day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The service at the Fairview is second to none. We had a full weeks intensive workshop. Everything was perfect, super food, flexible support, great surroundings. You really struggle to find a better venue in Nairobi

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Fairview Hotel is an oasis in the middle of a very busy city. I appreciated the security, cleanliness, and professionalism of the staff. Nairobi is pretty crazy, and I felt peaceful and safe here amid the gardens. The food and drinks were great too, the breakfast especially amazing!!! I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.