We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Colonial Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMOMA.com Hotelsclick.com
and 1 more site!
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
NJ
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“The best of Colonial Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at. I'm a travel agent and traveled the world.
It's an oasis in a crowded dirty city. The gardens are wonderful and the main building has a homely feel. Comfortable upgraded linens, beautiful spa bathroom with 2 sinks, bidet, fancy shower head, jaccuzzi bathtub.
Since its opposite the Isreal Embassy, security is extremley tight. It's SAFE!
Cars are checked for bombs, luggage is x-rayed, you are x-rayed. flat screen TV's with CNN. Wonderful spiral staircases with great gardens-looks a little like New Orelans. Even the garden rooms have additional security gates and you need cards to enter. We booked an economy room and got upgraded to an excecutive garden suite with 2 bathrooms and a conference room down the hall.
Birds wake you up in the morning singing.There's homemade birdhouses all around the gardens. Hotel has planted herbs in the gardens and use them in cooking. The chef took me on a tour of the gardens.
It's Colonial Africa decor with all the modern gadgets. Free Wifi-SUPER FAST!
lots of electrical outlets & tons of lights in the room.. Peaceful , calming and secure! Breakfast Buffet was the BEST. Eggs Florentine and the most interesting blends of exotic loose tea. I was in heaven! Piano music filters thur the public rooms where you can sit and relax with English newspapers while the fireplace is blazing.
We had a midnight flight to Brussels and then on to NY. We were welcomed to stay and enjoy the Fairview. They checked our bags in storage and encouraged us to use the pool. Pool rest rooms have showers. Very accomodating. We ordered drinks and dinner at the pool. We charged up our electronic equipment at pool, where they had lots of electrical outlets. Lots of restaurants to choose from.
This is the best most accomodating hotel I've ever stayed at. Such friendly staff!
I could live here.

Room Tip: Room #7 executive garden room - This is a great hotel for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    211
    57
    17
    9
See reviews for
110
233
89
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a superb hotel. It really has country charm in the middle of the city. Room was excellent, the gardens are superb for relaxing in, the staff are friendly and helpful. But the food was a let down. It wasn't bad but it didn't match the splendour of the rest of the hotel. Fish at the pool bar was pretty tasteless, the Italian was ok but nothing special. A shame because pretty much everything else is excellent. Wifi was a bit intermittent.I'd definitely stay again but glad I now know other options for eating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a beautiful oasis in the heart of Nairobi. Very reminiscent of the old colonial days modernized. Great outdoor eating and terrific inside dining room. Lovely pool as well. The food was great and the staff very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere was very inviting and cozy, with fires in the lobby fireplaces. Very good security which gave us peace of mind as we were there during the shopping center hostage situation. Would stay there again in a minute!

Room Tip: No air conditioning but we really didn't need.it! Some rooms already have it and I heard that mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fairview is a gorgeous bit of property in Nairobi. The architecture is old world charm, colonial stylings but with the warmth of lush landscapes, creatively delightful garden art and a picture perfect sitting pond. The food is excellent all round, with a choice of four (or maybe five) great restaurants to feast - ranging from tasty and healthful to deliciously decadent. But the big wow factor is the quality of service at the Fairview. Be sure to ask for Tony at the poolside restaurant - he's the "ultimate service with a smile".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I am a relatively frequent traveller to Nairobi and the Fairview is my home away from home in this city. Its a beautiful oasis - lovely lush gardens and ponds to stroll through, large pool, good exercise room, fabulous breakfast, comfortable rooms with wifi and satellite TV, and many dining options on the premises. The staff are best, they have been there for years and are true professionals with kind hearts and smiles. Book early!

Room Tip: I like the rooms in the main building - upstairs from the lobby, mainly due to proximity, but all ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nestled in a park like setting that belies the proximity to surrounding high rise buildings, the Fairview Hotel offers a lush oasis with expansive lawns, soothing water features, a lovely swimming pool, and reassuringly tight security. The real attractions, however, are the elegant ambiance, reminiscent of an earlier era, and the friendly attentive staff. I found good reason to write glowing feedback to management about three staff members who provided exceptional service: the hostess in the First Class lounge, the staff of the business center, and a very attentive and professional waitress.

The buildings were immaculate, and the gardens quiet and inviting. The food was excellent, especially the breakfast buffet. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation, and will stay there again if ever I return to Nairobi.

Room Tip: A First Class room is worth the difference, and will include a great breakfast and access to the Fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here in August before and after our safari. This is an old-world style hotel that takes you back to a colonial time, yet modern and convenient. The location was great to visit friends and family close by - also close to the shopping areas, not too far from Karen, the Elephant Orpanage, Giraffe Center, Railway Museum, Nairobi National Museum and other places. The tourist office was helpful in organizing day trips. Cheaper than what our travel agent in the US was offering, but quite an expensive taxi given the local rates. Anyway we had a trusted driver, so I guess that's the price you have to pay for that.

Service was excellent and the breakfast buffet fabulous with in a very elegant setting. The outdoor Mukutan restaurant was great with Pizza, pasta and sushi and lots of options for vegetarians. btw Dining in Talisman, a restaurant in Karen was an experience to remember! Really different cuisine and tasty.

The only negative was the first set of rooms we stayed in the back enclosure in a separate building were a little dated. It had a strange configuration with a closet separating the bedroom area and a bathroom with sliding doors that didn't close properly. So if you wanted privacy, it could be a problem. The second set of rooms in the main building were much better. All rooms were spacious though with plenty of room for sitting and eating in or working on a desk.
What we appreciated most was getting a doctor on call when our son was sick. He came to the room promptly and took care of him even dispensing medication.

The security around the hotel with armed guards and the road block outside (it's opposite the Israeli embassy) was a little intimidating and now after the Mall terrorist attack, one would think twice perhaps to stay in an area popular with tourists an expatriates.

We really liked our stay and despite the turmoil in Nairobi, we hope to go back there again. We sincerely hope the situation is resolved and Nairobi becomes a peaceful place to visit. Staying at Fairview and visiting Nairobi was one of the most amazing trips we have ever had, and we have traveled all over the world.

Tip for travelers: Nairobi can be very cold, especially in August. Bring Fleecewear and Jackets, maybe even rain gear and don't plan on spending a lot of time sunning by the pool!

Room Tip: Ask for more modern rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi
Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list