We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fairview is a gorgeous bit of property in Nairobi. The architecture is old world charm, colonial stylings but with the warmth of lush landscapes, creatively delightful garden art and a picture perfect sitting pond. The food is excellent all round, with a choice of four (or maybe five) great restaurants to feast - ranging from tasty and healthful to deliciously decadent. But the big wow factor is the quality of service at the Fairview. Be sure to ask for Tony at the poolside restaurant - he's the "ultimate service with a smile".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    289
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
135
272
98
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I am a relatively frequent traveller to Nairobi and the Fairview is my home away from home in this city. Its a beautiful oasis - lovely lush gardens and ponds to stroll through, large pool, good exercise room, fabulous breakfast, comfortable rooms with wifi and satellite TV, and many dining options on the premises. The staff are best, they have been there for years and are true professionals with kind hearts and smiles. Book early!

Room Tip: I like the rooms in the main building - upstairs from the lobby, mainly due to proximity, but all ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nestled in a park like setting that belies the proximity to surrounding high rise buildings, the Fairview Hotel offers a lush oasis with expansive lawns, soothing water features, a lovely swimming pool, and reassuringly tight security. The real attractions, however, are the elegant ambiance, reminiscent of an earlier era, and the friendly attentive staff. I found good reason to write glowing feedback to management about three staff members who provided exceptional service: the hostess in the First Class lounge, the staff of the business center, and a very attentive and professional waitress.

The buildings were immaculate, and the gardens quiet and inviting. The food was excellent, especially the breakfast buffet. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation, and will stay there again if ever I return to Nairobi.

Room Tip: A First Class room is worth the difference, and will include a great breakfast and access to the Fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here in August before and after our safari. This is an old-world style hotel that takes you back to a colonial time, yet modern and convenient. The location was great to visit friends and family close by - also close to the shopping areas, not too far from Karen, the Elephant Orpanage, Giraffe Center, Railway Museum, Nairobi National Museum and other places. The tourist office was helpful in organizing day trips. Cheaper than what our travel agent in the US was offering, but quite an expensive taxi given the local rates. Anyway we had a trusted driver, so I guess that's the price you have to pay for that.

Service was excellent and the breakfast buffet fabulous with in a very elegant setting. The outdoor Mukutan restaurant was great with Pizza, pasta and sushi and lots of options for vegetarians. btw Dining in Talisman, a restaurant in Karen was an experience to remember! Really different cuisine and tasty.

The only negative was the first set of rooms we stayed in the back enclosure in a separate building were a little dated. It had a strange configuration with a closet separating the bedroom area and a bathroom with sliding doors that didn't close properly. So if you wanted privacy, it could be a problem. The second set of rooms in the main building were much better. All rooms were spacious though with plenty of room for sitting and eating in or working on a desk.
What we appreciated most was getting a doctor on call when our son was sick. He came to the room promptly and took care of him even dispensing medication.

The security around the hotel with armed guards and the road block outside (it's opposite the Israeli embassy) was a little intimidating and now after the Mall terrorist attack, one would think twice perhaps to stay in an area popular with tourists an expatriates.

We really liked our stay and despite the turmoil in Nairobi, we hope to go back there again. We sincerely hope the situation is resolved and Nairobi becomes a peaceful place to visit. Staying at Fairview and visiting Nairobi was one of the most amazing trips we have ever had, and we have traveled all over the world.

Tip for travelers: Nairobi can be very cold, especially in August. Bring Fleecewear and Jackets, maybe even rain gear and don't plan on spending a lot of time sunning by the pool!

Room Tip: Ask for more modern rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Paid quite a lot but they put us in the back building in a not so nice room. We requested a wake-up call in order to catch another flight and they forgot and then refused to acknowledge our request the night previous, even though the reception wrote it down, and would not apologise. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Request to be in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

After visiting Uganda, my husband and I stayed here en route to our safari. This hotel was booked by our tour operator and I'm quite frankly surprised by all of the really positive reviews of the hotel.

The common areas are beautiful, with a nice courtyard and lots of lush greenery.

The rooms are pretty basic in comparison, which we don't mind; however, there were no am mentioned in our room, including soap for the sink or shower. We had to ask twice for amenities, and even then were only brought a single bar of soap.

The shampoo dispenser in the shower was empty, much to my discovery when I went to wash my hair.

We dined in the hotel restaurant and the food and service were mediocre.

Finally, the noise level is absolutely atrocious. We can hear all of noise from the kitchen and dining areas, late into the night as it is being cleared up.

I would hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We enjoyed three nights at the Fairview before embarking on a Safari of the Masai Mara. The Hotel is old, charming, clean, and well maintained. The grounds have lots of greenery and beautiful gardens. Dining is comfortable and service is excellent. Fairview has all the conveniences of modern hotels with the charm and luxury of a grand old national park lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#9 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
7.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.