We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Escondido, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The place to stay in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My boss said I'd love this place and he was right. Good atmosphere, relaxed, quiet, safe, good food, friendly service, comfortable. The little gym was a pleasant surprise so I could work out. I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    247
    64
    18
    9
See reviews for
125
250
93
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for the 3rd year running in between going on Safari and winding down at the end of our stay in Kenya.
This hotel has to be the best we have ever stayed in!!!
Thank you to all of the staff, who make our stay so perfect, with special thanks to Vicky, Jones, Ouma and Pauline who are all, without exception fabulous.
The hotel is privately owned and operates at a very high level. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. there are 2 pools, (the small one is our favourite)!
The restaurants are possibly the best in Africa, Victor (Adoli) is our favourite chef!!
Finally - the security - we feel so safe there, because the security is of the highest calibre!
Thanks to all the staff for another great stay in your 'Oasis of Calm'

Room Tip: All the rooms are first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had an overnight stay at the Fairview mid August prior to our safari. We had a twin room booked through Natural World Safaris and were pleasantly surprised with the large room which overlooked the lush gardens and had its own terrace. Beds extremely comfortable. Bath/shower room slightly dated.
We checked in again to the hotel and had a room for a day following our safari - had very nice lunch by the swimming pool and rested prior to our night flight back home. Good wifi Staff were extremely courteous and friendly and above all we felt very safe in this oasis in the centre of Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We travel regularly to Nairobi on business and always make a point of staying at the Fairview Hotel. With the hustle and bustle of the immediate surroundings, the Hotel and its gardens are a real oasis of calm. The rooms are clean and tidy. Food is excellent with a lovely poolside open air restaurant along with the Atrium where a fantastic buffet breakfast is served each
morning.

Staff are always helpful and security is excellent. It helps that the Israeli Embassy is directly opposite the main gate. We have entertained locally based friends here and they have always enjoyed the experience.

Value for money in my opinion is excellent and there is a real feeling of the hotel being a family owned enterprise, which is closely monitored for continuous improvement. The best hotel in East Africa for us!

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the old part of the hotel. these have more charm and a little more space in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I'd gladly recommend this hotel to anyone. I was in Nairobi on business for a few days and this was my first time in Africa but I immediately felt at ease in the Fairview. Situated in a quiet part of the city (there are a few) the room was extremely comfortable and had all you could need, the grounds of the hotel were lovely, staff were friendly, food was good as well.
I arrived quite late but was still able to get a good meal at 10.30.
It was a welcome change from the main chain hotels that it's all to easy to stay in nowadays. It is a family run hotel and that's the feeling you got as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arriving at the Fairview Hotel we were assured by the level of security to enter the hotel. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. Our rooms were not allocated as booked however with minimal fuss this was fixed. Having arrived mid-evening, we were surprised that their restaurants were still serving food. Our meal, which we had at The Atrium was good and the staff friendly. The gardens in the hotel were lush and well maintained. The rooms were basic but clean. Our shower had no hot water so we took turns in using the shower in the room next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We first discovered this little gem of a 4 years ago when we need a place to stay after arriving back from the Mara. We were amazed to see such lush green gardens amidst the hustle and busy of Nairobi. It is true old world charm and the service is impeccable. This visit which is our fourth in as many years, we stayed the night before the safari as well on our return. The breakfast buffet is great, lunch at the garden side restaurant and dinner at the poolside were great.
The room are comfortable and clean. The old wing has the best room if you like the old style charm.
Security (which some may complain about) is very important in a city like Nairobi and living next to the Israeli embassy helps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;