We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome break from the norm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Yorkshire
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Welcome break from the norm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I'd gladly recommend this hotel to anyone. I was in Nairobi on business for a few days and this was my first time in Africa but I immediately felt at ease in the Fairview. Situated in a quiet part of the city (there are a few) the room was extremely comfortable and had all you could need, the grounds of the hotel were lovely, staff were friendly, food was good as well.
I arrived quite late but was still able to get a good meal at 10.30.
It was a welcome change from the main chain hotels that it's all to easy to stay in nowadays. It is a family run hotel and that's the feeling you got as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    241
    63
    18
    9
See reviews for
124
245
93
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arriving at the Fairview Hotel we were assured by the level of security to enter the hotel. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. Our rooms were not allocated as booked however with minimal fuss this was fixed. Having arrived mid-evening, we were surprised that their restaurants were still serving food. Our meal, which we had at The Atrium was good and the staff friendly. The gardens in the hotel were lush and well maintained. The rooms were basic but clean. Our shower had no hot water so we took turns in using the shower in the room next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We first discovered this little gem of a 4 years ago when we need a place to stay after arriving back from the Mara. We were amazed to see such lush green gardens amidst the hustle and busy of Nairobi. It is true old world charm and the service is impeccable. This visit which is our fourth in as many years, we stayed the night before the safari as well on our return. The breakfast buffet is great, lunch at the garden side restaurant and dinner at the poolside were great.
The room are comfortable and clean. The old wing has the best room if you like the old style charm.
Security (which some may complain about) is very important in a city like Nairobi and living next to the Israeli embassy helps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful and the gardens are lovely, however with the Israeli Embassy across the road, security is a pain. We were stopped by armed guards twice and had to produce our passports. The hotel is clean and the service is good. The rooms are well kept but rather austere. the bed was comfortable and the sheets crisp. I do not recommend eating in the one of the hotel restaurants, while the food and service are really good, the cost is astronomical and there are better, cheaper eateries in Nairobi. The breakfast buffet is really good and the chef went out of his way to make me gluten-free bread - bought my soul forever. stay there again. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Fairview is a comfortable, country-like hotel just a few minutes walk from downtown Nairobi. Security is tight (an important consideration), food is adequate colonial fair, and rooms are clean and basic. We've stayed there several times and have no complaints. Not luxury, but US middle class.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

About 10 years - gardens are still beautiful, security top notch, staff, food and service brilliant.

Had one of the cheaper rooms, which was more than adequate, duvets, crisp linen, tv, lots of storage AND about 6 double sockets! My only gripe would be the lack of toiletries (liquid soap only).

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

On the one hand the photos make the hotel look very luxurious. The public rooms are tastefully decorated, however, the accommodation is very basic - bed, desk, bath and shower. Despite an effort to have a modern clean look, the feel is more akin to visiting an elderly relative who lives out in the country. One very irritating factor was the staff start cleaning and sweeping from 7am.

The food is tasty, but expect to pay hotel prices. Glass of house red is £6.20, mains are reasonable at £12, starters and deserts ~ £8.

The gym is functional but very small with limited options.

Last time I was in Nairobi I stayed at the Crown Plaza. I'll be going back there on my next visit.

A question - is this a country hotel or a business hotel? At the moment it is neither.

Room Tip: Block 5 has a lot of background noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It was a pleasure welcoming you back for your 8th visit with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback.

You will be glad to know that we have made a change to the sweeping times and we are renovating our gym in November this year.

As for your other points, you booked an economy room at $180 which we think is great value. We do have several room categories – perhaps you can consider upgrading next time?

Our food and beverage is priced competitively.

I think it is fairly clear from the 700 Fairview Hotel reviews on TripAdvisor that we have a winning combination of beautiful gardens, charming buildings, modern rooms and fabulous restaurants.

We do hope you will return for your 9th visit! We hereby offer you a free upgrade on your next visit to one of our suites so we can spoil you with luxury!

Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.