We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as comfortable as old clothes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 hotels in Nairobi
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“as comfortable as old clothes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've stayed here a few times. It is undoubtedly one of the most comfortable places I have ever stayed. The welcome is always very warm. The staff are both very attentive and discrete. They have several bars and places to eat, and cool, leafy gardens. The rooms are great. The main hotel is an old stone building that always stays cool so you don't need air conditioning. The pool is beautiful. This is a real home from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    230
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
119
241
91
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived here after flying two nights from San Francisco. The front desk was VERY efficient in checking us into a great room, which was modern, sparkling clean and quiet.

This hotel and lovely gardens are an oasis of quiet. The buildings and rooms have character, but are still modern. Hotel security was unexpectedly excellent. Felt very safe sleeping with our windows open.

Included breakfast was to die for. We had a most enjoyable dinner at their Mukutan cafe, overlooking the gardens. Food was excellent and reasonable. Plus we really enjoyed listening to Kevin Kabela, a very talented singer.

Although there are at least four or five places to eat here, you could always catch a cab or easily walk (about 10 minutes) to the CBD (Central Business District).

Staff was always excellent, polite and helpful. Even if this hotel was back in the USA, we would stay here again in a microsecond! (And we did stay here again a week later!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This wonderful hotel is a little calm oasis in the bustling city of Nairobi. I loved my stay there and would more than happily go back.

My room was small and basic but really nicely decorated with lovely features like a reclaimed wooden desk. It was secure too and had a room safe. Rooms look out on to the rest of the hotel and grounds below,which are beautiful.

Staff are exceptionally welcoming and readily meet your needs. I stupidly left my Do Not Disturb button on all day whilst out of the office and got a call in the early evening from Housekeeping checking I was ok and if I still wanted my room servicing.

I used the pool and gym both of which were pleasant and the gym well stocked with apparatus. There's also a souvenir shop selling goods at reasonable prices.

The food was very good and there are different restaurants to choose from. The only thing I would say is that I stayed there 3 days and the menus differ little from one restaurant to another and I was running out of ideas of what to eat. That's something the hotel might like to think about for longer stayers. But it's a small thing.

Oh and finally I mustn't forget the fab, free wifi. I had an excellent reception wherever I was in the hotel, probably the best I've ever had. First world hotels should take note!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and compliments.

Since your stay in June, we have introduced new menus in all our restaurants giving each one of them a distinct cuisine.

Regards,

Mark| Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My favorite hotel. I take work in Nairobi just to stay at this hotel. Excellent service, beautiful grounds, very good restaurants with good selection on the menu. Very relaxing place to stay and do some work. Very secure location. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so maybe ask for room on the ground floor if you have problem. Ask for room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona , California USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Nice location, quiet, away from the bustling crowds. Nice place as a stepping stone for a safari. Several great restaurants ,relatively inexpensive and a wonderfully courteous staff. Free hi speed wireless internet access is a great plus.
The drawbacks could be easily corrected by the management - there is no soap ( only liquid soap in a dispenser) no shampoo, no refrigerator or a mini-bar.

The room did not have air-conditioning but did not need any, the weather in Nairobi on Aug 16 was cool 70Deg F. A desk fan was provided but we did not need to use it at all.

The place is spotlessly clean , no mosquitos and hardly any house flies.

Room Tip: ask for a room across from the main hotel on the ground floor, the rooms inside the main hotel have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and compliments.

Just to clarify on soap; the one supplied in the dispenser is both hair and body shampoo. If you prefer a bar of soap, request in future and it will be provided.

A mini fridge is available in all Suites and First class rooms. In addition, all Suites have air conditioning as well as in some Business and First class rooms. During your stay, you were booked into our business category. Perhaps you may consider upgrading to one of these rooms during your next visit.

Regards,

Mark| Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a charming old world- style hotel nestled in Nairobi. Two sitting rooms with wood-burning fires were located off the lobby with comfortable leather chairs and chess table. I stayed in rooms - the smallest I used for the day was clean, basic and small (14,800 KS) and the other was a nice studio apartment style with a desk area, bedroom and bath (tub and shower). All furnishings were modern well appointed and comfortable (18,400 KS). The staff was friendly and helpful. We ate one of the restaurants and found the food excellent with a nice presentation.

Room Tip: The older main building is where I had the smaller room at the top of the lobby stairs - it was OK f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

From the beginning to end of your stay expect to be treated to high quality and friendly service. Nothing is too much effort especially with ongoing questions. I stayed when the airport caught fire and they supported with the process, including the good travel agent attached to the hotel. I think compared to some hotels it does offer value for money especially if you're on business. Business clients are well catered for. I think the food is quite expensive and a range of prices would be helpful, for example all food is around the same price. However the food is of a good quality and they take so much care and time over preparation. There are different types of rooms but the sleep experience and bed quality was excellent enabling me to have a good nights sleep and not really want to get up! You will almost definitely want to get up for breakfast with so much on offer to choose from. It is situated in a quiet location near the Israeli embassy with great security which makes you feel good and secure. I like how it is just out of the busy centre and I can't fault the location. They have a good taxi service but be warned Nairobi traffic is often shocking and it will take time to get to places. They have a well appointed swimming pool and business facilities. If you want to stay at a safe, secure, quiet hotel with good service then the fairview is for you

Room Tip: There are different types and styles of room, choose one that matches what you want and expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.