We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice Nairobi Stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 97 hotels in Nairobi
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice Nairobi Stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

An excellent country club style hotel, with great amenities set in beautiful grounds. We stayed in a First Class Room which was spacious and well appointed and which included wireless internet. The internet signal was variable, but was fine in the reception areas and we had access to the First Class Lounge. Breakfast was excellent and there are a number of dining options throughout the day and for dinner. Staff were friendly and helpful. We organised a car through the hotel and visited the Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Centre - we highly recommend both (we visited the Karen Blixen Museum after leaving the Elephants to allow time for the crowd to thin at the Giraffes). As mentioned by others, there is considerable security at the Hotel which we saw as a plus. The hotel is well located for both the International and Wilson airports, but beware of the traffic snarls (we purposely chose not to stay downtown).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    230
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
119
241
91
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have stayed at the Fairview for prolonged periods several times over the past few years and again this July and it is still one of my favourite hotels. The service level is excellent and the staff can't do enough for you. The rooms are maybe not a plush as some hotels but then it also a lot cheaper than other hotels I have looked and stayed at. The inclusive breakfast is very good and so is the overall dining experience.
The layout and "feel" of the hotel makes it a pleasant experience as it is not like the larger hotel chains where every hotel is the same wherever you are in the world.
Agree with previous reviewer around security procedures if you never have been to Nairobi. Don’t let this put you off the Fairview as during this trip I visited several other hotels in the centre of Nairobi all with similar security.
All in all I feel the Fairview is still the best place to stay in Nairobi........

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at the Fairview for 3 nights in July. If you're new to Nairobi you might find the security more worrying than reassuring, (partly caused by the Israeli embassy opposite). First night I was put in the 'apartments' block that is through three security gates, over a partially closed road and through dark grounds - not nice. The main hotel is a lovely building but rooms are small and no aircon. Restaurant options are great - we tried most and the formal Pango resto was excellent. Location is OK if you plan to stay in the hotel, but not good for malls or westlands; equivalent to being downtown for airports, but beware Nairobi traffic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Regarding security- the entire hotel is very well secured and lit. We have invested heavily in security and do believe very few hotels in the Country can match this. In addition, the Israeli embassy in our neighborhood has served to enhance our security and our guests appreciate that.

Kindly note that we have several categories of rooms ranging from Economy, Business, First Class & Suites to suit our guests’ needs. We also have rooms with air conditioning in the main building of the hotel. Our economy category (the category you transferred to from the new suite with air con) provides excellent value.

Regards,

Mark| Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The area where the hotel is situated is nice. They have made a small retreat in the city. However, the rooms are not nice. They are a bit outdated, and not well equipped. Moreover, the common areas and the gym seem they have not been restored in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We do have various room categories which you may have seen on our website (ranging from Economy, Business, First Class & Suites) and they differ on layout as well as year of remodelling. Room renovation and upgrading of all our amenities is a continuous process. On your next visit, please request for our newly renovated rooms.

Regards,

Mark| Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Nice hotel - stayed one night with friends.

Rush hour traffic in Nairobi is bad so allow extra time if you need to get to the airport during this time

Pros
Decent options for lunch and dinner within the hotel
Good sized rooms, clean and comfy
Nice communal areas
Lots of security

Cons

We didn't get to try the main restaurant as there was a private party
Our room wasn't ready as we arrived early and e staff didn't rush to let us know when it was ready we had to ask.
The rooms were quite a long walk from the main areas and there is 2 gates you need your room key card to get through but they only gave us one card. Annoying when you want to come and go to the room at a different time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My room category was "economy" with no aircon but moskio screens on windows. The room was relatively small, but clean and functional. Exceptional was the bathroom with a large shower area separated by a structure like a winter garden.

The appearance of the room is something between old fashioned or classic, but I liked it.

The restaurants were a highlight, very nice.

We hosted a seminar, presentation equipment worked, room was adequate.

Location is safe and nice, but transport to/from airport can be time consuming (2 hours are normal, but if you are lucky and your travel schedule by chance matches with some VIP, the road may be cleared by police and one can make the distance in less than 30 min)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is very old and does offer a rustic charm, however it's not worth the money they charge. Especially the no of security personals within the hotel make it more like a fortress rather than a hotel. May be the hotel owners are scared of notorious attacks but that made me feel scared too. Food is basic.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.