We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Munich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My room category was "economy" with no aircon but moskio screens on windows. The room was relatively small, but clean and functional. Exceptional was the bathroom with a large shower area separated by a structure like a winter garden.

The appearance of the room is something between old fashioned or classic, but I liked it.

The restaurants were a highlight, very nice.

We hosted a seminar, presentation equipment worked, room was adequate.

Location is safe and nice, but transport to/from airport can be time consuming (2 hours are normal, but if you are lucky and your travel schedule by chance matches with some VIP, the road may be cleared by police and one can make the distance in less than 30 min)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    230
    61
    18
    9
See reviews for
117
241
91
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is very old and does offer a rustic charm, however it's not worth the money they charge. Especially the no of security personals within the hotel make it more like a fortress rather than a hotel. May be the hotel owners are scared of notorious attacks but that made me feel scared too. Food is basic.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was was first time in Nairobi. I was really impressed by the service I received at the Fairview, which is still a family owned hotel. The room was spotless, comfortable and fully met my pricing expectations.

The hotel is located in a quiet and secure area of Nairobi, yet it is relatively easy to get to most places by taxi.

What really sets this hotel apart from the big chains is the passion of its staff, the quality of its five restaurants as well its sheer sense of tranquility from the big city itself.
.
I would not hesitate staying here again

Room Tip: Worth paying more for either a Business or First class room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARBONDALE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our third time at the Fairview, an 8-day stay. We love this place. The Fairview is not a posh hotel. Rooms are simple, comfortable and spotless. But it's a great value for the money. And what separates it from even the highest priced hotels (we've stayed at the Norfolk and Serena) is the service level. Friendly and attentive. In a day or two they know you and know what you like and need. They bend over backwards to accommodate any special request. Most of the staff is the same since our first stay 4 years ago. So management must treat them very well. There's a high level of security around the hotel. Some might find that a bit disturbing. We found it reassuring.

All in all, if you're looking for a friendly hotel with a homey feel, give this place a try.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a 1st class room. Garden rooms in the main building are particularly nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at the Fairview for 1 night while changing safari camps from Tanzania to Kenya. After 9 days in the bush, I was ready for more cush accommodations.

The Fairview is a beautiful property. I saw it described as an “Oasis in the middle of the city”. That was a very accurate description. The grounds are beautiful. There is an outdoor dining/bar area if you want to enjoy the outdoors. They have a beautiful inside courtyard just outside the restaurant. The lobby area was nicely done with a beautiful wood floor throughout.

The staff was extremely professional and helpful. You do not enter the hotel without going through a security checkpoint.

The room was large and comfortable. I was given access to the VIP or Premium lounge (I think that’s what they call it). They had Wi-Fi as well as a desktop computer accessible. They serve complimentary snacks, coffee or tea and they had a cash bar (I thought it was inexpensive by US prices).

The breakfast buffet the next morning looked like a cruise ship. It offered a wide selection of fresh fruits, breads, cereals, meats, eggs, and of course that good Kenyan coffee.

This is first rate hotel by any measure. My wife does not do the safari thing, but I think she would have loved this hotel. I would definitely return if I visit Nairobi again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very friendly staff, good places to eat,great security,beautiful gardens,wonderful breakfast lots to choose from. Nice pool area & well equipped gym
We have only stayed one night but will return at the end of our safari

Room Tip: Our room was number 4 It was quite & very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had enjoyed the stay at this excellent facility in the heart of the city. Excellent location. The hotel is so green like you are staying in woods. The rooms are also very well located. The food is great. I can keep on going on the pluses.

We all loved the stay and would definitely like to stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.