We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, high end place to stay in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great, high end place to stay in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, great service. Food was good but menu was a bit limited despite having several restaurants.
I was here for a business meeting and the conference facilities were great - we were in the executive boardroom. Lots of nice loose leaf teas to choose from.

Lovely place to stay but my only other comment would be that you do feel very isolated from the real world.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    230
    61
    18
    9
See reviews for
117
241
91
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The best. I have been coming here for very many years and it only gets better. Very comfortable room, excellent food, beautiful surroundings. I am usually quite critical, but here I keep looking for something to criticize, but I can't find anything. Also, the area is very safe, unlike much of Nairobi.
I thoroughly recommend the Fairview. The only problem could be that it gets very booked up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I really enjoyed my staying at the Fairview: fantastic hotel!

I am also very happy with all the staff that I found very welcoming and always ready to help.

Nice location, nice food, perfect place to work and relax.

Would definitely advise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a hotel within the city that feels like a country lodge. Homely and quiet. The lawns are neat and picturisque. My wife and I stayed here for one night in the first class room, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice with a lot of variety. The lounges were relaxing. The interior gives one a sense of the Victorian era. The room we stayed in has modern interior decor, with comfort that accompanies it. Only downside was some basics were missing like a shower cap and bar soap, which after asking for were given but told had been intentionally excluded... i speculate for cost cutting. I think for the amount of money for the room, this should not be the case.

Room Tip: first class rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Unfortunately i did not had the possibility to sleep here but only to spend a day and have dinner here. When you enter the hotel you can walk through to the swimming pool at the back of the hotel. Here you have a restaurant at the swimmingpool.

The staff at the restaurant is very friendly and they will serve you refreshing drinks during the day. If possible, try to get a chair at the sun terrace for some sun bathing. This is usually onluy for guests but if you ask nice maybe they help you out.

The restaurant serves good and healthy food. Nothing fancy but it tastes very good. Especially the soup. When it's getting colder ask for a bucket with cole. It will warm you up for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Fairview hotel before and after going on safari. The staff was very friendly, and we got a free upgrade from an economy to a business room both before and after the safari. The hotel also has it's own taxi station, which we used to visit some of the attractions in Nairobi and the restaurants that we tried were all good. The hotel had everything we needed and more, and staying there made our days in Nairobi very easy to plan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Landgrove, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Has a great old world feeling with excellent service and decor. Lots of green space around the hotel with lovely gardens. We sat by the pool for dinner and had a pot of coals to keep us warm. Across from the Israeli Embassy you feel very safe staying here. The food is very good and served with style.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
City Center, Po...
Show More
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#9 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Charming, City...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 96 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.