We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most quite and relaxing location in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The most quite and relaxing location in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Unfortunately i did not had the possibility to sleep here but only to spend a day and have dinner here. When you enter the hotel you can walk through to the swimming pool at the back of the hotel. Here you have a restaurant at the swimmingpool.

The staff at the restaurant is very friendly and they will serve you refreshing drinks during the day. If possible, try to get a chair at the sun terrace for some sun bathing. This is usually onluy for guests but if you ask nice maybe they help you out.

The restaurant serves good and healthy food. Nothing fancy but it tastes very good. Especially the soup. When it's getting colder ask for a bucket with cole. It will warm you up for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    507
    227
    61
    18
    9
See reviews for
116
240
90
293
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Fairview hotel before and after going on safari. The staff was very friendly, and we got a free upgrade from an economy to a business room both before and after the safari. The hotel also has it's own taxi station, which we used to visit some of the attractions in Nairobi and the restaurants that we tried were all good. The hotel had everything we needed and more, and staying there made our days in Nairobi very easy to plan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Landgrove, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Has a great old world feeling with excellent service and decor. Lots of green space around the hotel with lovely gardens. We sat by the pool for dinner and had a pot of coals to keep us warm. Across from the Israeli Embassy you feel very safe staying here. The food is very good and served with style.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

It is situated on Upper Hill and convient to business and government offices. Once you go through the gate you enter an isolated world away from the noise of the streets. Friendly and usually helpful staff. Did not get the business room requested and economy room was small but clean and adequate (not exciting) Good restaurants on premises. 10am checkout time a bit inconvenient as most international flights are late night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've visited Fairview Hotel 3 times, and there's no place I'd rather stay in Nairobi. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, and the environment instills a sense of relaxation and low-key comfort. The staff are extremely professional, friendly and capable. The common areas are very open and filled with plants. The rooms are not fancy but are very clean, comfortable and well maintained. The hotel's several restaurants/cafes serve a nice variety of great food. Although the hotel has an "historic" feel to it, modern conveniences are present and wi-fi is available free of charge in all rooms and throughout the hotel. The gym is small but very clean and well outfitted. This is a perfect spot for both business travelers and those going on saffari. I'm always sad to leave and very happy to return.

Room Tip: Each room I've stayed in has been good, but I suggest asking for a corner room to get plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st Petersburg, United States
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Fairview Hotel in the Embassy Region of Nairobi is a great paradise of greenery and gardens amidst the hustle and bustle of the city center. Security here is very strict but that makes visitors and tourists feel safe. I would hasten to suggest this is the safest hotel to stay when visiting Nairobi. The grounds are fantastic for a city location. Great restaurants are available on site so there is really no need to leave the complex for any services. The staff are helpful, polite, efficient and exceptionally well mannered. I will be returning to stay here in June 2013. When visiting Nairobi or just stopping off, this is the place to stay. Rooms are spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Have just completed a two week stay here while my husband was working. This is our first visit back after twenty years, we loved the Fairview then, and we love it even more now. There are lots of rooms, but thoughtfully positioned so there is always an intimate small hotel feeling. The staff are all utterly delightful and friendly. Breakfast buffet is a feast. Evening meals beautifully presented and delicious. Best of all for me has been the beautiful gardens so sensitively planted and luscious. In what can be a pretty hectic city this really is a little piece of heaven. The Fairview fully deserves it's excellent rating.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath - some only have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.