We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Danie007
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It is now the third time I have stayed at the Fairview Hotel. Each time I have come away with no complaint. I normally stay in the First Class rooms and find them very comfortable, clean and spacious. The gardens are just exquisite. You don't feel like you are in a city at all. The restaurants are lovely and the food is excellent. The staff is friendly and efficient. The security is exceptional.

I have stayed in a couple of "great name" hotels in Nairobi but I can honestly say that Fairview is by far the best value for money.

Room Tip: The First Class rooms furtherest away from reception are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    264
    67
    20
    9
See reviews for
129
262
96
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel really brings to Karibu to Kenya-- just an absolute retreat from the city, and for a 2-week stay, they went out of their way to accomodate our group's needs. Wi-fi was sometimes spotty, and the food got pretty tired after a while, but there are other hotels nearby to eat if you're more long term. My only wish is that the standard rooms were larger-- I stayed one night at the Country Lodge next door, which was about 2,000 Sh cheaper and the rooms were twice as large!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Before entering the hotel you go through a security check and your bags get scanned, at this point you can definetely be sure that you have arrived at one of the safest places in Nairobi and you become curious what might expect you behind the check.
-> A incredible oasis in "the middle of Nairobi" is waiting for you. The garden is beautifully arranged, the food (no matter if breakfast or dinner) is grrreat and the rooms are nice and clean. We had booked a room in the lowest category (in the main building) which was totally fine for a I think more or less business hotel (comfortable bed, bathroom with warm water, throughout clean, safe, table, TV, free Wi-Fi and a water kettle with complimentary tea and coffee). When staying in the hotel I recommend exploring the compound and having dinner at the pool side. Don't have too much for dinner as the breakfast buffet offers a wide range of everything. The only pitty in those 2 days was that my husband, who needs a strong coffee in the morning was not able to get one. I can definetely recommend the Fairview Hotel in Nairobi!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela Bela, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Lovely grounds, garden and public areas. Good choice of restaurants and friendly service. Rooms are fairly rustic, but have everything you really need. Free internet is a good bonus, with data charges being so expensive in Kenya.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on business recently. I enjoyed my stay, the gardens are lovely with lots of nooks and crannies to explore. The public areas are very pleasant. Restaurants were good, and the one upstairs was exceptional. Good selection at breakfast. The room was small but adequate for business purposes, with a good sized desk and free wifi. The bathroom felt a bit old fashioned and could do with a facelift. Overall it was really nice to stay somewhere that didnt have that sterile business hotel feel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, MA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at the Fairview for a week and experienced three rooms because of some in-country travel. Each room was very comfortable with a very nice bathroom. The grounds of the hotel as so peaceful and lush and a wonderful break from Nairobi traffic. The most impressive thing at the Fairview is the exceptional staff. Every single person with whom I interacted on my stay was so kind and helpful and went out of their way to make my stay a special one. I highly recommend the Fairview to anyone traveling to Nairobi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a marvelous time we had. Our room was fresh, clean and very well appointed. The bed was magnificent. Lots of space a/c was optional the overhead fan was perfect for this time if year. The bathroom was to die for, sunken tub, rain shower plus regular shower.

The food was excellent especially the variety at breakfast. The pool restaurant was very good, nice selection of wine.

We will most definitely be back, and stay longer next time 2 nights was not enough. The only negative part was having to leave.

Room Tip: The first class room and bathroom is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.