We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, comfortable and friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Geneva
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Safe, comfortable and friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed twice in a week (with safari in between) and first time had a First Class room, which was just off the pool. In truth I found that room more like a motel room but with nicer bedding and towels but still was comfortable.

Second time I had a suite and that was very large and excellent- well worth it if you are able to take one - it felt very much more upscale and was large and had a much nicer bathroom.

It is a very charming hotel with good service (reception/porters/breakfast especially - bar staff a little aloof at times but perhaps they are trained to be in the background a bit and not engage with much conversation) and breakfast very nice. Apologies for this silly British comment - but they even had Marmite and HP Sauce to those who know those things. So they are really trying to cater to the tastes of international travellers (I can live without those things when travelling but no doubt some will appreciate them).

Would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Suite 391 was excellent- and super quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    253
    64
    18
    9
See reviews for
126
256
94
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Fairview Hotel is one of the nicer hotels in Nairobi. It is an old colonial building that has been in the same family for many years. The first thing you will notice is the very tight security. Even the entrance feels like an airline security check including an x-ray scanner for the bags. Once past the entance the grounds are absolutely beautiful. The reception staff are friendly & efficient.
The standard rooms are a bit 'boxy'. Try and stay on the ground floor near the entrance (rooms 1 to 3), they are a little larger. If you have longer hair, take your own shampoo. They provide a combo showergel /shampoo & the tiniest bar of English leather soap I have ever seen.
The rooms are basically in blocks & you need your key just to enter the block. The staff are super helpful & efficient.There is an amazing restaurant upstairs that has its own wine cellar downstairs. If you are not a patron of the restaurant you unfortunately cannot have a wine in the cellar. All the other restaurants on the property are also good with the one at the entrance serving really good pizza's and/or sandwiches. We had a conference there & the conference rooms were also nice with a great variety of good quality teas. Overall the Hotel is good value for money & right in town. The breakfast is your standard hotel fair, but tasty & well prepared.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Fairview hotel is in a good and safe location. The hotel has good Wifi throughout the hotel. There are good restaurants and offers an excellent fine dining experience .
The down side for me personally is that I felt the hotel is slightly tired. The rooms are in need of an upgrade although reasonably comfortable. A but of luxury needs to be added. The rooms are very bland .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We do have various room categories which you may have seen on our website (ranging from Economy, Business, First Class & Suites) and they differ on layout as well as year of remodelling. Room renovation and upgrading is a continuous process. On your next visit, please request for our newly renovated rooms. The room you stayed in will be renovated within twelve months.

Regards,

Daniel| Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I recently stayed at the Fairview Hotel for 4 nights whilst conducting business in Nairobi. The rooms were basic but very neat and clean. the linen and towels were in good condition. My room was far away from the dining hall, which can be noisy. The service received was brilliant and the meals were great. I would choose the Fiarview over any of the big hotels.

Room Tip: specifically request a room far away from the dining hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Fairview four or five times whilst on business trips to Kenya. This is by far my favourite hotel anywhere. The buildings are are not particularly beautiful, the rooms are not ostentatious and you actually get to open your own doors, unlike some 5* hotels where they even breathe for you, whether you like it or not!

But sitting in the beautiful gardens of the Fairview as day turns to night; listening to the waterfalls babbling, the frogs croaking in the ponds, the birds in the trees, and watching the lightning flickering in the sky is magical. As it cools down a thoughtful employee has anticipated this by placing a charcoal brazier next to me - Nairobi is 6000 feet above sea level and it often gets quite cool at night even though it is on the equator. All this bang in the middle of the capital city of Kenya.

I could go on; but if you appreciate highly professional, discreet but never obsequious staff who clearly enjoy their jobs and like their customers; a choice of restaurants all serving excellent and varied cuisines; a beautiful pool; lush, immaculately tended tropical vegetation; trees with their latin and local names on them; if you need a break from glitzy chain hotels and the hurly burly of the world in general, then you must stay at the Fairview in Nairobi. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the economy rooms which are in the main building - these are fine and good value. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is sure a gem in the city. It has a beautiful serene garden with lots of real fruit trees, giving it an authentic countryside feeling.
The food is really good. The hotel serves as good meeting and relaxing place.
I went for lunch with a business partner/ friend and although the food and environment was excellent, the service was too slow. It took an entire 45 minutes before I got any attention. This should definitely be looked into especially given that lunch hour is short and someone like me is looking for a quick, and exiting lunch in the best place possible.
Prices are fair and cleanliness is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms near the swimming pool. They have an excellent garden view and are really private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo,
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Although not the cheapest in Nairobi, but one of the best. Helpful and polite staff. Rooms clean. I have stayed there numerous times, and I am coming back!
For some extra luxury go for one of the spacous rooms in the "park"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.