We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairview hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fairview hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent hotel , good thing about fairview is what they quote is what you pay. Unlike other hotels price is given over the phone at fairview a price is given on brochure .the hotel is very fairly priced and the breakfast is excellent . The room rate is with breakfast .

There rooms are bigger in size and spacious with shower . All rooms are non smoking , they have good restaurants as well and business centre , they have a sister hotel country lodge which is on the back side of the hotel and is equally spacious . The gardens are well main tend . This hotel works very straight forward with there clients also they have a taxi stand and have there selected appointed drivers who will give you a right pricing according to the hotel tariff . A romantic place to start your safari . The rooms are with card entry and have a large working table . The bed sheets they use is from slumber land . What I can say excellent value for money and very Eco friendly and has excellent gardens ,

Room Tip: Do not take a room near the workers entry gate , as the gate is electronic and is a steel gate which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    518
    235
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
121
242
91
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed there for one night on our honeymoon before heading to Maasai Mara. The hotel is amazing, like all reviews said. Very beautiful grounds, the food is excellent, everything is really nice. However, we were disappointed there, after booking the executive suite for this night, we were asked there to take another room (one category less) because someone else wanted the suite. It was not a very big deal, the other suite was also nice, but I was shocked that I am downgraded on my honeymoon not the other way round. I mean, if the suite was not free they should not have allowed me to book it from the beginning. They did not even give any compensation or compliments to compensate for this act. So, to summarize, the hotel is great, and it really deserves all the positive reviews, but the staff should have acted a lot better with our case.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Manager at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I am disappointed that this happened; apologies. We do not believe in charging full for services not enjoyed and therefore offer to discount your room by 50%. Please get in touch with us on book@fairviewkenya.com so as to initiate the refund process.

Kind Regards,
Daniel Szlapak
Joint Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Loved the beautiful grounds and tranquil setting and a super pool great to chill out after a long haul flight. Only a 10min 300 shilling cab ride to downtown Nairobi (it was Sunday afternoon). Nice friendly and efficient service. We'll be back if in Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Most of what is said below on the positive side is accurate - with one exception, do not stay in an economy level room. They are very small and unattractive. The room we were given stood over a common restaurant and odors from the cooking permeated the room in the morning when breakfast was being served. We upgraded (and paid for) to a first class room overlooking the garden the next day and enjoyed the positive aspects of this resort stated below in other reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Lovely colonial hotel with good services for business. They have a good gym which is rare. Fast internet and the hotel has a lovely atmosphere. Very laid back and calm it definitely takes you out of the hustle and bustle of the city. Stay here if you can. FYI, rooms are clean, but as it is an old hotel some bits are a little old and tired.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been staying in the Fairview every time I come to Nairobi over the last few years and never consider going anywhere else unless it is fully booked.
I stayed with my husband in this lovely hotel again feb 2013 and we enjoyed the atmosphere, the friendliness of the staff, the food, the gardens - in short - everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The reviews calling the Fairview an "oasis" are right on - couldn't describe it any other way. Since it's located near the Israeli Embassy and governmental buildings, security is high. It was the only place that put our luggage through metal detectors. Our room was small but clean and quiet. Staff was welcoming and helpful. The surrounding gardens are beautiful and well kept. The common areas are luxurious and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was amazing. There was a huge variety of cold and hot options served in a comfortable environment. We only had a one night stay and now regret, not delaying the start of our safari for another. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.